Bank of Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable place to have a career
Senior Economist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 June 2018
Very good colleagues and a staff that is focused on the mission of a central bank. Typical office environment. Can take a while to advance if you are not a policy focused person - very limited space for senior researchers and low turnover.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but hard to get permanent or long-term positions
I.T. Systems Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 March 2018
Great place to work, but hard to get permanent or long-term positions. Good when it comes to everything else, except it is competitive when it comes to finding long-term positions or permanent positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build a career
IM Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 March 2018
The Bank is one of the best employers I have worked for. The physical environment is first class, there are many opportunities for learning, and my colleagues are the best in their fields.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrible
Operations Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 September 2017
Terrible Management cant suggest any ideas they get shot down in a heartbeat. It would seem like these people managing the bank aren't even qualified to be in these positions.
Pros
table tennis
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data entry
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON25 April 2017
I'm working international company TIENS and we take 200$ every month i have 3 year experience in Data entry operator and I'm 12 hours work daily and this job is very easy and interesting this company is situated in our city
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A strong and collaborative management team leveraging the best of enabling technology to deliver services
Senior Business Architect (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 April 2017
The Bank of Canada is a critical component of Canada's economy and as such must be at the forefront of banking technology to ensure Canada's competitiveness on the monetary stage.

The work culture at the bank is one that inspires creativity, collaboration and cooperation between multiple divisions that must work together. Due to the critical role in Canada's economy, playing a role at the bank can be challenging as it is vastly important to ensure that critical systems are secured and withstand cyber security threats, which the bank and its team do exceptionally well.
Pros
well designed workspaces, ergonomic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business professional
Monetary Anaylisis (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 February 2017
Very professional atmosphere. Great job security. Training and education always available. Great location for transporting by bus in the centre of the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large corporation
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 February 2017
My time there was enjoyable with hard and challenging work
I left to have babies
Sadly technology has changed a lot of what I did
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Analyst Roles (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 November 2016
Loved it there. People are great and the work environment is quite good, as well. When the Bank goes back to Wellington St. it will be even better as the facility has been completely updated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement très positif et être très présent psychologiquement
Agent de sécurité suppléant (Current Employee) –  Montréal11 June 2016
Contexte de travail, très amical et convivial. Le tout se confond à un travail très particulier, nous sommes traité avec beaucoup de respect envers notre gestionnaire.
Pros
Endroit très privilégié
Cons
Aucun
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Building Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 December 2015
Provides good work environment with happy atmosphere. Can occasionally not be as productive/efficient as one might hope but overall great work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
agent aux opérations
Agent aux opérations (Former Employee) –  Ile des Soeurs6 August 2015
Lors de mes journées je faisais de la réception, expédition ainsi que du traitement de billets à l'aide d'une machine bps. J'avais de très bonnes relations avec mes collègues. J 'adorais le service à la clientèle avec les transporteurs. J' avais d'excellentes relations avec eux.
Pros
système de reconnaissance
Cons
répétition
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and opportunities to work anywhere
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 July 2015
It was a very relaxed atmsophere to work for, allot of opportunities for advancements, everyone was wonderful to work for, time constrants was done in a timely fashon, free lunches, and activites.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 March 2015
Great work environment, great management team, very interesting position and got to hear about all the cool things they were planning with our currency
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst work environmeny for support staff.
service dedk analyst (Former Employee) –  ottaws5 March 2015
Restructure of IT department caused a ripple effect with staff. People thrown under the bus always. The pay was OK, but the work environment was cut throat with little chance of advancement.

Work as a consultant and save yourself a lot of grief.
Pros
Pay
Cons
hostile and unfrienfly work envirinment
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail
Adjointe Administrative Exécutive (Former Employee) –  Ottawa10 February 2015
Mon travail était de travailler en collaboration avec mon gestionnaire et mon directeur. Mes opportunités de développement était refusés. Le roulement des gestionnaires était trop fréquent. L'aspect le plus difficile de mon poste était le manque de formation et d'information. Le plus agréable était l'équipe et l'initiative que je pouvais prendre tout dépendamment des tâches.
Pros
Une augmentation salarial importante
Cons
L'incertitude dans l'équipe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work colleagues
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 January 2015
Great work environment. Excellent work conditions, state of the art technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place with nice people
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 January 2015
I learned lots of financial dealing with the clients. All my co workers were very supportive through out the process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Employment Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 September 2014
Get into office, work on current project on computer, go to lunch, work on project on computer, maybe attend a meeting, head home. I learned a lot about the area of research I was engaged in. The management is nice and considerate. The co-workers are friendly and talkative. The hardest part was learning how to do things mostly on my own. The best part was being able to use what I learned and provide useful feedback.
Pros
Work Environmen
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail agreable
Preposee aux billets (Former Employee) –  montreal20 August 2014
beaucoup de fierte,
travail polyvalent,
travail tres physique,
connaissance de la contre facon
Pros
bonne condition de travail
Cons
mauvaise situation avant centre ville maintenant ile des soeurs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bank of Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 38 reviews
517
412
34
24
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture