B&G Foods Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 90 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sanitation
Prodution Worker (Former Employee) –  Hurlock, MD27 June 2019
Sanitation was fun but if u missed a day because u were sick u got written up but it's ok for the supervisor to miss as many days even Durning a audit the lead had to do it all... It's hard work during green season coughing and choking because of hot peppers but hours are definitely there during green season
Pros
Snack machines
Cons
Managers are out sick it's ok but if u miss or are out sick u get written up or fired
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment and fast paced
Quality Control Technician (Current Employee) –  Ankeny, IA25 June 2019
It's a good place to work if you are looking for something to improve your resume or if you're looking to climb the corporate ladder. The Quality Control management are friendly and understanding. Would recommend to a friend
Pros
Choose your hours, Overtime if you want it, have your own desk
Cons
Unpaid lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly environment
Regional Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Parsippany, NJ1 June 2019
Too much drama within the organization, too many cliques and if you don’t belong to them, you’ll never move up the ladder. Many employees that work in the office are like zombies not very helpful in your job. Too much daily confusion and too much daily stresses about making the numbers with their declining sales and horrible brands nobody wants. Competition is killing them
Pros
Hours are flexible
Cons
No back up from your managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente de trabajo
servicios generales (Former Employee) –  Irapuato, Gto.21 May 2019
Tiene buen sueldo,el personal de recursos humanos muy buenas gentes y los supervisores por igual le dan la oportunidad de crecer.
Pros
S
Cons
Que hay muy poco trabajo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Issues & Alcohol Abuse were my ISSUES. B&G ok
Food Technologist /SQF Specialist (Former Employee) –  Hurlock, MD19 May 2019
My personal issues interfered with My focus job performance. I needed counseling and took it. My schedule would not allow me time to attend and perform my job correctly. If I could do over again.
Pros
Pay, Culture, location, Facility Manager.
Cons
Employee counseling resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look harder for something else-- zero stars
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IA22 April 2019
During the time I worked there two memorable incidents took place, the first was that a coworker (someone that I considered to be a friend) was fired by a former HR manager because he had run out of FMLA hours caring for his wife, he had become ill himself and was unable to come to work, he was fired and died the next day. The second memorable incident was the day a bomb threat was called in to the facility, none of the employees were either informed about it or evacuated, the packaging lines never stopped running. These incidents were typical of the company culture, how 'the help' were thought of and treated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but falls short, at least in the yadkinville area
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Yadkinville, NC24 March 2019
I truly believe this is a great place to work but falls short, the reason I say that is the temporary employees if it were up to me I would get rid of the temporary and just hire full time temporary employees hold this place back and b&g relies way too much on them they never stay. But as far as my job went I loved it I worked as a sanitation crew member.. my days were pretty much the same worked only on weekends but if you get hired to do sanitation expect to work hard don’t go in there expecting it to be easy and slack off you’ll be sorely disappointed the sanitation manager doesn’t tolerate it. If you get on full time you get good pay and good benefits but that’s if you get full time which is never a guarantee.
Pros
4 breaks in a day, nice people to work with, appreciates your hard work
Cons
12 hour days, hard work, have to start out temporary and never a guarantee that you get full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people who share their knowledge
Manager Research and Development (Former Employee) –  Yadkinville, NC7 March 2019
B&G foods is a great company with family friendly values. Company focus is buying older brands ans re-establishing in the market place. Really enjoyed my time with there.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
none to speak of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fast pased
PARTS ROOM ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Hurlock, MD25 February 2019
Lack of communication with management and team work, made the job stressful. Work load was enormous as well as stressful at times. Maintenance and production employees were extremely helpful and pleasant
Pros
Day went by quickly
Cons
Timed breaks were hard to take.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Hurlock, MD14 February 2019
Also company to work for if it's cold outside it's freezing inside if it's hot outside it's sweltering on the inside very old building lots of breakdowns the bosses show favoritism and I'm pretty sure most of them are prejudiced..Stressful place to work and no respect from higher ups...Worst place ive ever worked
Pros
Paid weekly
Cons
No heat or a.C no respect no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is not bad if I would have had transportation to and from work I would have stayed
The Resorce (Former Employee) –  Yadkinville, NC29 January 2019
Even though I was there through a temporary agency I enjoyed my workplace the employees and my supervisor was very nice and considerate to me and if I had the transportation to get back and forth to work I would still be there
Pros
It was a good and safe place to work
Cons
I have none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never would have left if I didn’t move out of state
Formula Analyst (Former Employee) –  Roseland, NJ25 November 2018
I loved working for this company. I had the best bosses, friends and experiences working here as a matter of fact I met and married my husband while working here
I have made lifelong friends and family
Pros
The whole job was great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night shift does not work well with my family life.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IA16 November 2018
Was a good company just could not maintain the hours. I did enjoy the job but the atmosphere was very stale. I would recommend this job for someone who doesn't have young children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great with flaws
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Yadkinville, NC13 November 2018
Some of the people are ok but alot of lying back stabbing. but third shift supervisor is the best a great person to work for she's all about the employees. But alot of the management are not their and doesn't know how to deal with the third shift employees. They seem to only worry about first and second.
Pros
Some of the people and two supervisors
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of strategy and focus
Marketing (Current Employee) –  Parsippany, NJ27 October 2018
Generally great people to work with and some good brands but the SLT team does not have a clear vision for the company. This has resulted in constant rework from employees and nothing really gets done because the SLT is constantly changing their minds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Haiti
Assembly Line Worker (Current Employee) –  huluck MD8 October 2018
I like to work with people when I was in my job back to Haiti, Everyone like to work with me too because we were enjoyed to work to each other my opinion work as a team that is awesome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse
Forklift Driver/Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Yadkinville, NC24 September 2018
Good Place to work. Good benefits. Met a lot of people that i am still in contact with. There was no hard part to my job. Managment was easy to talk to and was there if I needed them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at B&G Foods
Packer (Former Employee) –  Yadkinville, NC17 September 2018
Working at B&G foods was a very clean concerned environment with a very common sense task that included you not to do much but follow the directions that was given . Relaxed place of work and easy to get along staff and employees
Pros
Easy pace
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Larose, LA28 August 2018
It was an overall good experience working at b and g foods, the management just had a habit of getting too personal. But I did like the hours I was given.
Pros
Half price discounts, fair break time.
Cons
Speed and accuracy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this company or at least location
Worker 1 (Former Employee) –  Hurlock, MD27 August 2018
I worked there for about 6 months and I never, never found anybody that enjoyed their job or the atmosphere. Horrible corporate trainer for maintenance and the maint. managers do not last more than 1.5 years. It is a very broken down place that runs at about 40-60 percent efficiency. Very old machinery and so, so hot in warmer weather. Upper management just wants you to do your job and that is all. Don't complain or you will be replaced.
Pros
none
Cons
too many too mention.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at B&G Foods Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 90 reviews
523
426
321
28
112

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture