Aviva Employee Reviews

Found 77 reviews matching the search See all 924 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moderate
Assistant Manager- Aviva UK Finance Operations (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 October 2018
Improve business partner and client satisfaction to achieve mature and sustainable operating model.
Perform Administration activities of the subordinates of the team.
Maintain highest quality and cover the Service Level Agreements within the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jr. Underwriter - equipment breakdown
Jr U/W - equipmemt breakdown (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 October 2018
Unfair treatment
Zero management
Workload is too much or too little
No job security
management plays favorites
No corporate culture
Use fear as a management style
Do NOT care about employees
Managers never in the office
Pros
Working remotely
Cons
Corporate culture - zero
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Centre
Inside Service Advisor/ Fast Track Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON5 September 2018
Its essentially all customer service, you need quite a bit of patience, need to have thick skin and be able to manage yourself and workload as you need to be quite independent. Support is available but you need to be able to think outside the box
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need improve on managment
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 August 2018
too far of working location.

new opportunity of building new application with latest technology.

team management is new and young, it can be improved overtime.

dislike the culture due to too many TCS/TATA contractor.

daily commute is hard.

exciting to build new application, and was able to contribute a lot with my technology skill
Pros
CEO is pushing digital technology
Cons
working culture can be improved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political Hornet's Nest
anonymous (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 July 2018
Incredibly siloed, and everyone looking out for them selves. No collaboration, no prioritization, no planning, no vision. Certainly no communication to staff about what is going on, what the problems are, or how we can maybe help? Nope, not interested in what the little people think. Only leader I've had that did this was tossed soon after an old school "boss" took over.
Pros
subsidized lunch and shuttle bus (only head office)
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management
Conversion Analyst and Junior Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON16 July 2018
very good place to work and learn
good benefits plan
good opportunity to grow
good leadership
give freedom to workers and allow them to share their knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
Sr. Commercial Automobile Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 June 2018
All levels of management were bullys. Sweat shop conditions. Most enjoyable part of working there was dealing with brokers and the regular staff were a great bunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end job
Engineering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2018
Loss control is merely a phrase to them. And they provide no health and safety training. Management is insensitive and vindictive. And watch your back around the underwriters
Pros
company car
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment
Team Advisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS4 May 2018
I worked with Aviva for 42 years and have worked with many incredible people. I was very dedicated to my work and always give it 110%. We were a team.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work
QA lead (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 March 2018
Productive workplace. Strong understanding of Agile practices.
Guidewire software is used to support Policy Admin (Policy Center), Billing and Claims.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and flexible workplace
Underwriting Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 March 2018
Mostly I am busy throughout the day, always assisting others with their workload in order to make it easier for them to go out and get new business. I learned how to underwrite, multi task, improve my organizational skills, time management and pass a few underwrtiing courses during my five years.
The workplace culture, is fast pace, busy, but at the same time flexible and fun. Lots of activites with employees
The hardest part of the job is trying to manage all the tasks so that you do not fall behind
The most enjoyable part is getting together on occassion with my coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance and great people to work with
Senior Commercial Lines Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS8 February 2018
Great people to work with. Good work life balance and job security. Aviva supports the community and is environmentally conscious. A good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company to work for
MANAGER OF ASSESSMENT SERVICES (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2018
I enjoyed the people at this company.
Office culture has improved since moving to new offices.
Cafeteria was great.
That is all i have to say.
there is no more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UK company
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 January 2018
fast pace company with Aviva Canada,
fast grow in both technology and business.

Business project moving fast,
always on top of the latest technology,

however, need more QA control on certain projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unmanageable workload, minimal support and assistance from management
Healthcare Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  Mississauga20 January 2018
The transition from RBC to Aviva has been a difficult one. Many staff have left the company and new hires come in with little to no experience , so no relief for the rest of the department that has had to pick up the slack. There are a lot of great people that work for this company, unfortunately for Aviva, they will likely all leave under these extreme conditions, if they haven't already.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still learning
Senior Personal Lines Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS16 January 2018
They said, "put the customer first", however when call volumes would get high, instead of helping the customers it felt like we where pushing calls through.
This is a call centre environment that is learning the ropes.
Changes to rules regularly, which would be fine but alot of the changes don't make sense, it felt like change for the sake of change.
Management would ask you tothink outside the box, it's not black and white, but management would be black and white.
If you are good at doing exactly as you are told, without question or doubt, this is the job for you!
Pros
Benefits are immediate and great
Cons
Shifts and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Payroll Manager (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON30 December 2017
Great company to work for. Work place culture is very good. People are pleasent. Working for Aviva is enjoyable.
Great environent, enjoy the open concept and the flexibility to work from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON26 October 2017
It is good company to work.
I joined Aviva in July 2015 and have been working from last 2 years. It was a great experience. I learned lot of new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture can be better
Oracle Finance Techno-Functional Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto6 September 2017
I learnt a lot while working in Aviva Canada.People are very hard working. Toronto is an amazing place to work. Not sure if I would like to return, there was considerable internal politics in the IT team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic transformation for existing employees
QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON22 August 2017
as a female in IT we are underappreciated and abused, our manager with a bad haircut is constantly condescending and threatening us. this is two thousand and seventeen, sadly our people function supports this attitude and senior managers behavior as they all take orders from the transformation VP. this is not north korea. new IT management replaced our staff with a vendor partner that pays their employees a higher salary than aviva staff. cio has taken ownership of the majority of the critical functions causing chaos and complexity
Pros
complimentary shuttle bus service
Cons
CIO running the organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aviva. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 924 reviews
5316
4331
3205
244
128

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture