Aviva Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment
Team Advisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS4 May 2018
I worked with Aviva for 42 years and have worked with many incredible people. I was very dedicated to my work and always give it 110%. We were a team.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and flexible workplace
Underwriting Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 March 2018
Mostly I am busy throughout the day, always assisting others with their workload in order to make it easier for them to go out and get new business. I learned how to underwrite, multi task, improve my organizational skills, time management and pass a few underwrtiing courses during my five years.
The workplace culture, is fast pace, busy, but at the same time flexible and fun. Lots of activites with employees
The hardest part of the job is trying to manage all the tasks so that you do not fall behind
The most enjoyable part is getting together on occassion with my coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance and great people to work with
Senior Commercial Lines Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS8 February 2018
Great people to work with. Good work life balance and job security. Aviva supports the community and is environmentally conscious. A good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company to work for
MANAGER OF ASSESSMENT SERVICES (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2018
I enjoyed the people at this company.
Office culture has improved since moving to new offices.
Cafeteria was great.
That is all i have to say.
there is no more.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UK company
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 January 2018
fast pace company with Aviva Canada,
fast grow in both technology and business.

Business project moving fast,
always on top of the latest technology,

however, need more QA control on certain projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unmanageable workload, minimal support and assistance from management
Healthcare Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  Mississauga20 January 2018
The transition from RBC to Aviva has been a difficult one. Many staff have left the company and new hires come in with little to no experience , so no relief for the rest of the department that has had to pick up the slack. There are a lot of great people that work for this company, unfortunately for Aviva, they will likely all leave under these extreme conditions, if they haven't already.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still learning
Senior Personal Lines Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS16 January 2018
They said, "put the customer first", however when call volumes would get high, instead of helping the customers it felt like we where pushing calls through.
This is a call centre environment that is learning the ropes.
Changes to rules regularly, which would be fine but alot of the changes don't make sense, it felt like change for the sake of change.
Management would ask you tothink outside the box, it's not black and white, but management would be black and white.
If you are good at doing exactly as you are told, without question or doubt, this is the job for you!
Pros
Benefits are immediate and great
Cons
Shifts and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Payroll Manager (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON30 December 2017
Great company to work for. Work place culture is very good. People are pleasent. Working for Aviva is enjoyable.
Great environent, enjoy the open concept and the flexibility to work from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON26 October 2017
It is good company to work.
I joined Aviva in July 2015 and have been working from last 2 years. It was a great experience. I learned lot of new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture can be better
Oracle Finance Techno-Functional Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto6 September 2017
I learnt a lot while working in Aviva Canada.People are very hard working. Toronto is an amazing place to work. Not sure if I would like to return, there was considerable internal politics in the IT team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic transformation for existing employees
QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON22 August 2017
as a female in IT we are underappreciated and abused, our manager with a bad haircut is constantly condescending and threatening us. this is two thousand and seventeen, sadly our people function supports this attitude and senior managers behavior as they all take orders from the transformation VP. this is not north korea. new IT management replaced our staff with a vendor partner that pays their employees a higher salary than aviva staff. cio has taken ownership of the majority of the critical functions causing chaos and complexity
Pros
complimentary shuttle bus service
Cons
CIO running the organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment.
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 August 2017
Interpret and confirm insurance coverage using background knowledge of relevant case law combined with a thorough understanding of policy wordings.Investigate, evaluate and settle BI Casualty claims with claimants or their representatives
Develop appropriate strategy to direct handle files to conclusion and/or instruct IA's as needed. Ensure file reserves are set on a timely and accurate basis, in line with company protocols
Maintain control over expenses through pro-active handling techniques. On litigated files, work in partnership with defense counsel to develop and implement strategies for bringing files to a timely and cost effective resolution. Provide excellent customer and stakeholder communication on claim matters. Clearly document and summarize file activity. Understand and adhere to Aviva’s claim procedures and guidelines. Provide superior customer service to our clients and stakeholders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Senior Claims Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2017
workplace is fair and management is ok. lots of departments for career growth. The culture align with the work and life balance and the overall salary and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hostile job environment in Aviva QA
Director - QA (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2017
Very hostile job environment in Aviva QA. Too much of nepotism and good people are always side cornered. Apart from a good salary, work environment in QA is too bad to think rationally
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working here was fun
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 July 2017
team here in the company is talented and hardworking
people here have a yoga day on friday for stress relief
i learned to work in a team and how to be a effective team member
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the job, not happy with the people
Senior Personal Lines Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS28 June 2017
Trying to be great but making so many changes that it's stressing the employees and so they are becoming cut throat.
Favoritism is obvious. Call centre environment in denial.
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Improvement
Junior Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON16 June 2017
The people are what make it best to work for this company. Aviva needs to focus on better management of internal policies and strengthen their career development for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mangement
uCMDB Administrator (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON20 April 2017
Management has no idea what they are doing. They talk about work life balance, but only managers are allowed to do that, it all talk never any action.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2017
Amazing place to work. The Management is helpful, worked with a team had an amazing and helpful team. Attended requirement review meeting with Business Analyst, QA Lead.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Data entry clerk/assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB28 March 2017
Great experiencing working here. Welcoming staff, very helpful and accommodating. Management was wonderful and easy to reach if needed. Highly recommend working here if the opportunity arises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aviva. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 815 reviews
5273
4295
3186
237
124

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture