autoTRADER.ca Employee Reviews

Found 70 reviews matching the search See all 139 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealer Service Representative "Automotive Photographer"
Dealer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 May 2019
This position requires you to drive to different dealerships, which can be in multiple cities/towns. You are compensated with an annual allowance but if your car breaks down then you will not be helped. You will be expected to get a rental and show up to work the next day!

I learned that the management likes to pick favourites and promise a lot of things that will never happen. You can see that they have been always getting changes in management based on other reviews. There is high turnover in this position and for good reason. The pay is small for the amount of work you're expected to do, which includes an expectation of responding to emails after hours.

I would not recommend this position to someone looking for full time work. However this position may work for you if you want part-time hours working no more than 20 hours a week. But beware you will be expected to take on a lot of work when you start. Training will be done by people who most likely just got hired a few weeks before you.
Pros
None that I can think of
Cons
Expected to work around the clock, you are expected to respond to emails after hours, your day can consist of starting at 9 and finish around 11 pm if you have to edit photos.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great But Outdated
INSIDE SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 March 2019
Great starter position. Poor location. Outdated work environment. Not the best pay and a very competitive space with Kijiji and other emerging marketing solutions. Good outside pay .. terrible inside pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will you drink the kool aid?
Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2019
you can bet that almost EVERY 5 star reviews are from top management and human resources in order to boost the overall rating to the point of multiple accounts. The reviews that have NO CONS?? If you buy into that than perhaps you would be an ideal employee.

MOST sales jobs even for top performers are just dead
Pros
Training is really excellent
Cons
Dead end job unless you stick around for 15+ years
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Halloween and work events are fun
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 February 2019
Great team sprit during sales kick offs and holiday events at a variety of locations across North America. Great reward trips around the world for the sales teams.
Pros
Team building events
Cons
Lack of work life balance in some deparments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capturing imagination
Capture Rep/Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 February 2019
AutoTrader combines the unique skill set of effective daily planning and being out on the road. You're always around car guys from all different manufacturing brands and that's what broadens your overall knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High performance expected
Marketing Professional (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 December 2018
Good work life balance. Lots of social activities and chances to build as a team. Flexible work hours and some working remotely.

Opportunity to learn from industry leaders.
Pros
Flex hours
Cons
Limited opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sr. Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 December 2018
Great company to work for. Collaborative environment. Lots of perks including free snacks and coffee. Free parking. Approachable management. Great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eating lunch with the team
Finacial Analyst and Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto20 November 2018
When our department received the financial data , our team was preparing reports for our directors. I have the role to import into the database that I created into MS Access, the data that I received from IT department and then to run the reports that we should send to directors in an Excel spreadsheet with graph and other information regarding the last week sales from all the regions and provinces of Canada.
Pros
Free luch sometimes on Friday
Cons
Stay late sometimes for adhoc reporting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with Foosball and Ping-Pong tables
Enterprise Cloud Architect (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC7 November 2018
Trader is a decent place to work as it has lots of its perks. It is pretty stable company, that has 25 years of the history. There are people that are with the company for more than 20 years. People could be open and ready to help.
Pros
Stable
Cons
Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company!
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 October 2018
The company offers a great work life balance. It is amazing how much they do for employees.

I am very happy with my team and manager. I learn constantly from them.
Pros
Summer hours, tuition reimbursement
Cons
Nothing I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is 5 years behind
Jr Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 September 2018
Casual work environment, management is decent. Pretty saturated sales space, most customers look at autoTRADER with a sense of distrust and dissatisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call centre environment
Classified Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON20 September 2018
I did not get the opprtunity to grow within Auto trader because that was a call centre environment and I was not given an opprtunity to work on a different campaign. But the work environment was excellent If I had any questions or concerns my Manager assisted me and guided me to resolve the clients needs over the phone. I had sales quota every month which I was expected to meet on a monthly basis.
Pros
Excellent Work Environment
Cons
Had no opprtunity to grow worked always held a same positon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good experience
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2018
Health benefits
Employee events - on and off site
Summer hours
Pool Table / video games
Great people to work with
Very friendly
Career planning
Awesome office
Pros
Employees event
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!!
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC11 September 2018
Biggest advantage of working at Trader is- its senior leadership team is amazing! All of them are quite approachable and understanding.

Other colleagues are pretty nice and polite too:)

The company promotes/hosts fun and exciting events and responds positively on all feedback they receive.
Pros
Indoor Games Lounge, Free Beer Fridays, Fun events, Summer hours with flexi timings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AutoTrader is a great place to work
BI Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 July 2018
AutoTrader is a great place to work, the agile management is very efficient and give autonomy to everyone. Management always trying to innovate. Fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 June 2018
AutoTrader is great place to work.
Super Fun Environment.
Summer Work Hours.
Friendly Managers.
Highly motivated environment.
No dress code.
Flexible work hours.
Work From Home option.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Sales Job
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON25 May 2018
My experience here has been nothing short of amazing. My manager is supportive and is always challenging me. I am making great money and see tons of room for advancement. The culture is also fantastic and they are constantly making sure work is both fun and rewarding for every department.

Our sales goes are realistic and well thought out, and compared to other sales jobs I have had, I actually feel secure and know I will be able to hit my targets.
Pros
Career advancement, free food, great benefits
Cons
None that I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall very nice work place!
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto11 May 2018
Lots of new things to learn about. Team very resourceful. General work atmosphere is very nice.
Challenging, sometimes stressful but positive stress!
Everyone seem to be open to help. Chances to advance: direct manager will actually encourage to do so!
Lots of fun things: pong table, pool, fusball, video games!
Free snacks...
Nice in/out events and thirsty Thursdays once per month!
After hour soccer and bootcamp
Free Gym too!
Pros
listed in comments
Cons
long travel time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tons of perks
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON23 April 2018
Health benefits
Employee events - on and off site
Summer hours
Pool Table / video games
Great people to work with
Very friendly
Career planning
Awesome office
Pros
very worker focused
Cons
work/life balance - high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company on a growth path
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON28 March 2018
Support PV and NPV departments

NPV department on high growth path with good vision of future.

Targets + goals are attainable (not easy!) and culture supports working together to achieve them.

New Sales leadership providing a lot of coaching and support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at autoTRADER.ca. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 139 reviews
549
452
322
28
18

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture