Atira Women's Resource Society Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great motto but terrible management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC18 March 2019
The company has a great motto in addressing women who are vulnerable and being the best decision makers in their own lives; however, the management within the company is corrupt. When issues are brought up that have created a hostile and stressful environment from multiple people, they just sweep everything under the rug and don't address any problems. Did not feel supported by management when working here but the staff within the houses are great.
Pros
Vulnerable women have a place to stay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a employer here
cleaner / maintenance worker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 November 2018
Atira is a housing society in the downtown east side .A variety of different situations and experiences were involved in the everyday work related schedule. I was a painter for the SRO's [single room occupencies ] Which house a number of mentally challenged and low income people. A large variety of people with substance abuse issues & hard to house individuals. This was an experience like no other and challenged my strength in humanity,but i felt I grew as a person and it humbled me greatly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building Services Worker
Building Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 August 2018
I am employed on a relief basis for Atira. I am looking for more employment in the same field. I sweep and mop hallways and common areas. I also clean washrooms.
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my actual job
Support Worker-Transition House (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 May 2018
A typical day involved activities from paperwork , general socialization , and fulfilling any of the clients needs

The management of the company is lacking in caring about their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great traning days for employees
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 April 2018
I've learned so much about working with the public and also working with the vulnerable sector. Atira is a place of growth and opportunity. I love that they practice feminism where women support women- that's when great things happen!
Cons
burnout
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be faced paced work environment with lots going on
Womens Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC22 January 2018
everyday is a new day going in with a fresh start and being open to anything that can go on. being supportive to coworkers and working as a team is very important. Being able to communicate and work with outside organization to educate and advocate so needs can be met.
Pros
being supportive to women and their needs
Cons
working outside my communtiy
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible experience of supporting others.
Housing Outreach Worker / Woman's Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 July 2017
As most support worker jobs, there are many contrasting days. If you enjoy the dynamic of handling what ever comes your way and supporting others to problem solve, this is a fantastic position for you. The culture with Atira is feminist, inclusive and anti-oppressive which is a challenge to find.
Pros
Excellent training, collaborative and dynamic environment.
Cons
Can be high stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent coworkers; terrible management
Development Communications and Fundraising (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 April 2017
The work that Atira does in the DTES and the Lower Mainland is incredible. The low-barrier approach and the fact that they house some of the hardest to house women in the Lower Mainland is amazing. The fact that they took over buildings that had some of the most violent things ongoing in there and transformed them to house women who experienced or are experiencing violence, making them a home, is awesome.
However, there's some management rhetoric and ongoings that I don't believe center the women at the work being done. I think that Atira is a terrible employer in terms of supporting the growth and well-being of its employees, and management is awful at taking feedback given by its employees that speak up to some of the unfair and unjust practices. I think that management operates in a gaslighty and fear mongering way towards its employees while touring feminist and anti-oppressive values.
In short, love the work that Atira does in the community, but would never encourage anyone to work there.
Pros
Excellent coworkers, super supportive
Cons
Terrible management, no boundaries, no managerial skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feministic, harm-reduction, anti-oppressive place of work
Women's Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 April 2017
Front line support, providing emotional and physical support to women who have been affected by abuse and trauma. Some duties include; crisis intervention, conflict resolution, safety planning, advocacy, and referrals. This includes working in a harm reduction building and therefor knowledge of the realities of the Downtown Eastside is a must. Understanding the multiple barriers women face in the community and in our society as a whole is also essential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 20Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Womens Support Worker
Womens Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Vanouver10 April 2017
If you are a person of integrity empathy teamwork and believe in building on an individuals strengths ;do not work at Atiras newest shelter.
There is a sad working environment there fueled by lack of management strong cliques bulling and full force gossiping.The manager does not care nor listens to the workers.Things are contradicted all the time and policies only adhered to if it suits management.Expect to do hard labor like moving furniture up and down staircases.
The hourly wage is less than competing agencies.If you work part time expect to be attending meetings regularly on other weekdays so don't try to have another part time job next to that as these meetings are mandatory.
The meetings will have to be attended even if you work overnights who needs sleep eh!? Oh and a lot of the time you get notice maybe max a week in advanced..The workers do not receive any positive feedback at all its all negative.Shaming a worker in front of everyone else is sadly acceptable here.
Pros
the women that live there 3 people working there trying to be the change.
Cons
No teamwork manangement dont care mandatory meetings so you cant keep another job on the side
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environment, hands on, and constant movement.
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 March 2017
Being supportive to approximately 18 residence, and 12 Mentors in the Container units.

* offering life skills; cooking, laundry, cleaning etc
* being supportive when it comes to health and wellness
* having good communication with staff, networking communities, such as fraser health, and other sister buildings in the surrounding area.
* able to work under pressure when dealing with multiple tasks
* working with no judgement
* making appropriate calls to assist with housing, shelter, clinic's, or the hospital.
Working with Atira you have to be strong minded, act accordingly, and I have to say I definitely enjoy working with a well rounded team.
Pros
Wonderful team work
Cons
the distance of a commute, from Surrey to Vancouver
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work at
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC12 August 2015
A typical day at work included supporting moms, and babies with daily routines, such as, doctor's appointments, one-one counselling, advocating, empowering women to be resourceful with community resources, attending probation appointments, setting up goals, assisting with communal housing, assisting mom's with babies, daily hygiene, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with females in SROs
Relief Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 February 2015
social support for marginalized women dealing with the negative social issues in the down town east side. You cook meals once a week, but basically assist the women to make healthy choices in their lives and direct them to resources if needed.
Cons
on call shifts only
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Atira Women's Resource Society. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 14 reviews
51
46
34
22
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.1Culture

Atira Women's Resource Society Reviews by Location