Athabasca Oil Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Change
Employee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 December 2018
Company was great to work for 4 years ago. Many changes, along with culture and management.
Continual compensation changes, less and less.

Not a good place to work for moral.

Have no real HR department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Rework and Allocations Consultant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 November 2018
A bit understaffed. Very cost conscious. Like most small producers they are under pressure due to high ratio of heavy oil and steep price discounts for heavy crude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company in Early Stages.
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary17 August 2018
-More work, less people
- Company lost several good employees due to re-org
- Management is the problem preventing this company from becoming successful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Athabasca is company with strong leadership and competitant people.
HSE Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary25 May 2018
I have no issue working in Asabasca Oil. Both management and working process is competent and organized. People works hard to achieve goals. it is a very nice experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Company Environment
Mechanical Lead (Former Employee) –  Conklin, AB5 July 2017
Operated efficiently in tough economic times
Maintained camp and site through the transition of the company assets to Athabasca from Statoil
Management took time to come to site after the deal was complete
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a number
Employee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2017
It was great place to work in the beginning, I learned a lot and felt that I was mistreated in the end, I was doing more than what I was hired for and that didn't seem to be enough
Pros
great salary and benefits
Cons
poor job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work for
Sr. Petrophysicist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 December 2015
I perform petrophysical evaluations for Unconventional Reservoirs both heavy oil SAGD and Shale Gas by integrating core data and wireline logs. I have learned a lot in these almost 3 years working here.

Management is good I have the privilege to work with a very experienced management team that takes care of people. The atmosphere is great. There is a lot of interaction among fellow co-workers.

The hardest part of the job is this uncertainty in the oil business everybody is going through, but this is not only us.

I enjoy very much what I do. I am a good self-learner and there is something new to learn everyday. That makes me feel very excited with enough energy to solve any technical issue.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Mineral Land Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 November 2015
Benefits are amazing. Parking was available to each employee. Monday to Friday 8 hour days. Excellent benefits and the culture was very good.
Pros
Exception health care plan
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncertain objective of the company
Senior Drilling Engineer (Former Employee) –  calgary22 July 2015
Team was good but getting worse and worse with continuous restructure. Management kept on changing the business objectives. No clear directions on how to develop the company assets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with 4 other Cost Controllers and we worked awesome together
Junior Cost Controls/Auditor - (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 September 2014
I enjoyed working for AOC, but like all projects they eventually come to a completion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for career growth & advancement
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 August 2013
Offer competitive salaries, bonuses & advancement for many departments. Also have many great company events throughout the year. They are rapidly growing & hiring for different departments.
Pros
Caterings, Company events, bonuses & excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Salary, and thats about it.
Office (Former Employee) –  Calgary7 March 2013
As I said above this company has great compensation, however they are lacking in areas of management, and employee privacy. Office politics is VERY evident and there is no job security. Athabasca Oil has the potential to be a very good company but they are constantly micromanaging and are not paying attention to who they are hiring.
Cons
poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Athabasca Oil Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 13 reviews
52
45
34
22
10

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

Athabasca Oil Corporation Reviews by Location