Astral Media Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bien en général
Afficheur Publicitaire (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 March 2018
bon avantage et salaire adéquat pour le type de travail .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Fun, Creative, Adventure
MORNING SHOW HOST/ ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  Summerland, BC3 October 2017
Working for Astral I hosted a morning show in the Okanagan. Working with the community to keep locals informed about events, culture, music. Bring my personality to an area that meant something to me because my family had been part of it for so many years.
Pros
Creative, Fun, Amazing people
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful workplace with amazing people
On-Air Host-Virgin Radio (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 May 2017
A wonderful place to work with management that respected their talent. Committed to growth and community outreach. All 3 stations worked together like family and that really shone through on the air.
Pros
Amazing Hoiday Parties
Cons
Old building
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and unique work culture
Programming Manager, Children's Networks (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 May 2016
A grass roots company, very face paced and at the leading edge of rolling out new channels and lines of business was brilliant. The work was very hands on and and very much a collaborative process. It was not a corporate environment, whereby you felt your participation was direct. I learned a lot of skills providing services to our audience; to be more effective and responsive and innovative to changes in the market; to become more effective, as support and manage projects; to develop effective relationships with third party suppliers and providers, and maintain the quality and innovative products for a very insatiable market, as children's programming can be. Working in Programming was the starting point of our process and working with a team to reach the final goals was critical, and very engaging. It was an excellent company to work for and a shame the unique work culture they fostered has been sold, and died out to an impersonal corporate one.
Pros
Hands on, execellent work culture, creative, excellent learning opportunties, face paced, leading edge approach by the company
Cons
the sale of the company and the loss of unique work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employeur humaniste et généreux
Responsable, droits de diffusion à payer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 March 2016
Ma journée typique de travail consistait à rassembler les données pertinentes à l'accomplissement des exigences du poste soit le paiement des droits de diffusion aux différents producteurs d'émission ou de films. J'ai dû, dès mon arrivée, faire face à une formation des plus expéditives, l'employée affectée à celle-ci quittait l'emploi pour une retraite bien méritée.

Mes supérieurs furent très réceptifs à mes idées, me laissant prendre ma place dans l'évolution rapide de l'entreprise. Je me suis vite rendu compte que je devais me débrouiller seul. L'expansion de la Compagnie allait bon train, celle-ci acquérant de nouvelles chaînes de télévision payante, chaînes qui existaient ailleurs mais que nous devions intégrer à nos politiques et procédures.

Le stress subi provenait en grandes partie des échéances à rencontrer au niveau des paiements des droits de diffusion, ceux-ci étant régis par contrats. D'astronomiques sommes d'argent étaient impliquées. Suivait la rédaction de rapports financiers et les mises à jour des fichiers s'y affairant.

Le côté imprévisible de la tâche m'a beaucoup motivé. C'est ce que j'aimais le plus de mon travail. Je ne suis pas friand du travail routinier. J'étais en contrôle de la situation.
Pros
Atmosphère agréable de travail avec mes collègues
Cons
Espace de travail quelque peu bruyant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail familiale avec rendement des employés exceptionnel
DIRECTEUR MAINTENANCE, INGÉNIERIE ET INSTALLATION (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 December 2015
AstralMédia était une entreprise qui avait des rendement exceptionnel et cela était grâce aux traitements qu'elle donnait à ses employés. Car en retour, les employés donnaient leur 110%.
Pros
Bonification généreuse selon la performance
Cons
Rien à mentionné
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mise à la retraite prématurée
Responsable, droits de diffusion à payer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 May 2014
J'aurais pu continuer à travailler encore quelques années mais Astral a été vendue à Bell Média et j'ai été, avec 40 autres personnes, remercié. Dommage, car je suis en pleine forme et capable encore de relever des défis.
Pros
J'ai plus de temps pour moi.
Cons
Après 2 mois, ça commence à être long sans emploi.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers and loyal clients
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB30 March 2014
I had 50 loyal active clients that ordered monthly and some weekly. I educated my clients on the benefits of using radio as an advertising medium. I learned how to cold call and how to find backdoor ways of listing clients. For example, i used job listing sites to scout out which new businesses were coming to Brandon and landed one of the largest radio accounts accross Canada. I had a great co-worker who trained me which was especially helpful for cold calling. In addition with his 25 plus years with the company he taught me how to ask for the business at the end of every call. I went on calls with management quarterly and we reflected on what i did well and ways to improve. THe hardest part of the job was finding new clients that had the money to spend $36 on one radio ad. To acquire some of the smaller strip mall businesses i had to become creative so i would split a sixty second ad into four fifteen second spots. THis brought down the cost per business significantly. WIth our excellent creative team we could deliver a catchy message which in turn drove business to the location. The most enjoyable part of the job was landing new accounts as well as the free concert tickets and backstage passes.
Pros
Concert tickets
Cons
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part of spp
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  montreal30 March 2014
good job
friendly co-workers
friendly manager
lenient schedule
new people - clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovation, Passion, Integrity
Vice President, Media Creativity (Former Employee) –  Toronto25 March 2014
Astral Media was one of Canada's premier media firms operating in TV, Radio, Out of Home and Digital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Street Team (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta13 November 2013
Fine work for part time, not overly exciting but good people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great experience
Social media director/Announcer (Former Employee) –  Montreal3 November 2013
I was there during a time of a lot of employee turnover. Not a meritocracy.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious very corporate workplace
Corporate Accounting Technician (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 July 2013
In that job i had the chance to do a full accounting cycle. I was the only person responsible for doing the accounting for the "Harold Greenberg Fund" it was very interesting and allowed me to increased my accounting knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun promo opportunties
Marketing Promotions Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 June 2012
- helped with promos; contest for concerts or prizes
- recording commercials for the company
- friendly employees
Pros
perks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Astral Media reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Astral Media. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 16 reviews
57
46
31
21
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.1Culture