Ardene Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you have any self respect.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NS5 January 2018
Worked at the New Minas location for a little over a year. Management did nothing but complain about their subordinates, and the workers were petty. One girl ADMITTED TO trying to get one of the girls fired. She was rewarded for her petty behaviour with a management position. The atmosphere was catty. Several people were intentionally shut out of all conversations on the floor (including instructions for our tasks) and were then chastised for "Not acting like part of the team". Those people who wound up being iced out were made to do the worst tasks and deal with the vast majority of the customers. They also had the most to do with the least amount of time.
Upper management was completely useless. If two people complained the person of higher standing was automatically believed. They would make up witnesses and corner employees to sign write ups for things they've never done. To my knowledge this has happened to at least three people.

Unless you are immediately liked by management your life there will be bsd. Atmosphere is catty and toxic, management is useless and the hours are nothing. If you specify you want a day off you will get it, but a vast majority of your hours will disappear with them to punish you for having the audacity to ask for one consistent day off a week. You will never receive a penny above minimum wage unless you are promoted. You won't be promoted unless you're liked. This job will not pay your bills and the discount isn't worth it either as their products are overpriced scraps that won't last six months.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Toxic atmosphere, no mobility, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first retail job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 January 2018
Lots of time spent on your feet working with the customers. Customers come first (the way it should be) but I would not want to work here longer than just as a first retail job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal retail Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 January 2018
Hard work, normal retail job. No benefits

150 minimum to review is too much. The company doesn't necessarily go above and beyond for employees.

Likes to over hire and then cut hours drastically.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun loving
Permanent Sales Associate (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 January 2018
Fun loving environment, Team Spirit, good management and workplace. High morales and hard working team.
Supportive and co-operative seniors & co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON29 December 2017
Didn't enjoy time here due to management and employees. No benefits and salary sucks. No one here cares about you and the head office is very hard to communicate with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 December 2017
a typical day at work would be helping customers and folding clothes

i learned that retail is a good experience to have

workplace culture was multi cultural
Pros
free lunchs
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK28 December 2017
great to meet new people it offered growth and was a wonderful place to work. i met good people there and the bosses were understanding. it did not work with my schedule at school though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 December 2017
That’s staff was all amazing and the management knowledge provided was very good, I’ve learnt so much from the company and would be a very good learning experience working there!
Pros
Knowledge provided
Cons
Broken rules
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON18 December 2017
Employees treated poorly, no skills learned at this job, all level of team members including store management are glorified stock clerks and cashiers. No sales abilities required, no thinking required. This job will not prepare you for a sales position or retail management position at any other company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Staff, Bad Managment, Overall easy lightweight job
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 December 2017
Really easy job, easy tasks, fun environment, nice staff.
Only problem was the manager... Would complain and gossip about staff to other staff,very unprofessional. Would also keep store open extra late just to make a few more sales.
Pros
Nice staff, easy work
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly boring, and quite stressful
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 December 2017
Management was not very good. I worked part-time but was getting 4-5 shifts a week so balancing school and my social life was close to impossible and caused me a lot of stress
Pros
Good people
Cons
too many shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude management and employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK14 December 2017
Working at the centre mall Ardene was not a good work environment at all. The employees gossiped a lot about other employees and some of the keyholders would even join in.The manager was really rude and strict and unforgiving for even small mistakes. The store tasks were always unclear and disorganized. If you were new the managers would be nice at first but then it was clear they did not care about the employees. The work was hard but manageable but the employees and managers made it a really anxious place to work at and everyone that worked there were some of the most judgemental, rude people i've met
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Management and employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 December 2017
lots of fun! I really enjoyed working here and would recommend that anyway wondering if they should apply should definitely give it a shot! You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good and learning experience
Order Processor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 December 2017
it was very nice to work with lot of experienced people in Ardene. i learned to mange the heavy work day, finding solutions to problems, developing critical thinking, working in team and so on. the workplace was good and cooperative, as i am very adaptive person in any kind of environment, so i did not face much problem. i was able to turn the hardest part of my job to the most enjoyable part with dedication and sincerity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good environment to work in.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON7 December 2017
It was exhausting not because of the work load but, because of the employee's there. Some were just not nice. They were rude and I was trying to be positive the entire time but, it was hard to work in that kind of environment, knowing people didn't really like you. Even the manager is rude. I understand that when you have a job not everyone is going to be nice but, the manager was terrible. She literally doesn't care if you are sick or if you have a family emergency she expects you to come to work anyway. There was one employee who had just come out of the hospital THAT DAY and the manager still made her come to work. The manager would make such a big deal if you stayed home for ANY reason at all. The manager would literally say "if you can walk then you can come to work."
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Other task assigned by Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 December 2017
a very fun and nice environment to work, nice management team, easy, could be very busy, returing mahendise to their spot was quite hard. telling people about great deals was the best part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.its ok
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON4 December 2017
It's ok, They have a bit of everything. I like the people I work with and I like merchandising. The management team are great to work with and are very acomadating.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  White Oaks and Square One28 November 2017
the people there are nice, learned a lot from the job. Enjoyed working there with the staff and the system there is pretty good compared to stores selling similar merchandise.
Pros
Hours, people
Cons
can be overwhelming during busy times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and lovable family
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 November 2017
I was my dad assistant during the summer of 2016-2017 which was a great way to build my excel knowledge. Hardest part of job was having to make sure you got everything calculated correctly or else the shippings would be wrong and you would have to restart which would take hours.
Pros
Free clothing
Cons
Working only in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS22 November 2017
Don't work here.
Lots of hard work and no respect for doing it.
No respect from the managers.
Terrible management.
Lots of gossip.
Too much stock.
Company doesn't trust employees.
Pros
Good employee discount, thats about it.
Cons
Terrible management and no respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ardene. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 553 reviews
5123
4159
3148
256
167

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture