American Red Cross Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced challenging environment
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 April 2018
Working here built discipline into my work habits. Work was fast paced and required constant attention. Over all learned very valuable things here. Proud to have worked there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work
Lifeguarding and Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC21 March 2018
I was a lifeguard and swim instructor for the City of Surrey. I received my training from Red Cross and also implemented the water safety and swim program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and demanding
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON18 March 2018
I love doing PSW work and helping seniors, I was working with a private client at the same time I was working for Red Cross. I had told them from the beginning how many hours I could devote to Red Cross. Each week I was given more and more until I reached a point that I had to quit because I was not willing to compromise my private client.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work plaec
Volunteer activities and community (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 March 2018
working with the red cross was one of the best that every happen to me. having the feeling that you are help someone somewhere in this world as the thing i get up in the morning for. i was also happy going to work because all the people i was working is very awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disaster relief volunteer Canadian Red Cross
emergency volunteer (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON10 March 2018
I was included in a database. I have done some administrative work for them. I have my bronze cross in swimming and current first aid through PSW Personal Support Worker Training at Oxford College.
Pros
friendly people
Cons
new staff "make strange" with old volunteers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and motivated
Recruteur of donations (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 December 2017
I learnt how to accept rejection and continue trying.
People would ignore me, esquive me, yell at me but I had to control my anger and continue doing it for the cause.
Pros
Good salary, nice concept.
Cons
Long hours. Working in public places.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job
Babysitting (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON20 November 2017
I would love to be able to help out and be apart of this toy sale because I looking for something good to do and help out with the community and come together. I’m a very mature 14 year old who will help out with everything and support people!! I would do my job and help out everyone then when my job is done I come home and relax and get ready for the next day.
Pros
Attention to detail
Cons
Professional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours in the community
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON17 November 2017
Was the Canadian Red Cross not American. Big difference. Gave me the opportunity to learn different skills to apply to different clients. Pay was low with long days or split shifts.
Pros
overtime available
Cons
Long hours with low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always helping people in need.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Ilfov10 November 2017
Being a volunteer for almost 10 years gave me the opportunity to interview people to understand the nature of their problems and decipher psychological, mental and physical requirements.
Doing casework daily and assessing people's files in order for them to receive help from the organizations. Was a lot of field work and seeing so many people with problems it was not always easy to grasp. The best part of the job was that you know you can provide help and you will find a way to make this happen.
The workplace was mainly in Romania.
Pros
Helping people in need. Being proactive. Building relations.
Cons
Pro bono so no salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy study
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Taiwan24 October 2017
Learn swimming skills in the pool
Freestyle, upscale, frog, butterfly
Life saving method
Know a lot of friends
It is dangerous to know the river side of the sea
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A energetic experience
Disaster Management Responder (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON20 October 2017
Whall my time at the red Cross was short it was a blast being a pdat or Personal disaster management responder had me feeling like what I did matters, seeing the look in someone's eyes when they see that you CAN help them and there not alone makes your heart jump with joy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
schedules
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 October 2017
not enough hours given to employers and travelling all day was not worth it.i love working with clients but management dont do enough to help Personal support workers
Pros
go to the community
Cons
travel long hours not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
babysitting and petsitting
Babysitting/Petsitting (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 September 2017
mainly babysitting children under the age of 10. A lot of responsibility for watching more than one child at a time. Changing diapers and making meals/snacks and watching pets. Main petsitting job was for a family with two large dogs with a lot of energy. They were a big responsibility but easy to handle when I understood how to handle them.
Pros
Lunch provided
Cons
parents may be late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging
TEMPORARY PLACEMENT POSITIONS (Former Employee) –  High River, AB31 August 2017
I used discretion in reading cases with people losing their valuables and often more in the floods. I was responsible for the filing and noting all monies paid to fund relief.
Pros
Providing compassion
Cons
very heartbreaking what people went through.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can save life all the time
First Aid Assistant (Former Employee) –  PH28 August 2017
i got my red cross license in the philippines and im very happy to get it so i can save many lives especially in emergency situation so i can perform first aid and cpr for emergency and call paramedic in time to time,
Pros
can perform cpr and first aid in emergency time
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community outreach
General Volunteer (Former Employee) –  青岛市7 August 2017
The local Red Cross club at my high school worked to gain donations in order to give to those in need around the world. We mainly sold items at school functions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i volunteered over a summer
I volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC8 July 2017
I volunteered for one summer as part of a school work experience program. I worked one day a week for 4 hours with three other volunteers at the same time, everyone way friendly and i enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture, fulfilling work
Program Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2017
The IFRC does great humanitarian work. The culture is one of cooperation and fosters learning and engagement. A typical day at work is spent working liaising with other Red Cross societies and working on various projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gain experience in renovating new houses
Demolition Labourer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC4 June 2017
had a lots of experience in demolition remove strucko
main duties are break drywalls doors windows kitchen cabinets
remove copper hardwood from floor cleanup vermico from cellars
work safety required all the time facemask steel toes and
danger tape across the area we cover for work
inspection of asbestos etcetra....
Pros
free lunch 3 times a day
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fine place to work
CPR/First Aid/AED Instructor (Former Employee) –  Florida3 June 2017
Management and staff are helpful and willing to make sure you are prepared to teach your classes. Teaching the same thing over and over can get pretty boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Red Cross. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 5,439 reviews
52.4K
41.4K
31K
2353
1324

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture