American Eagle Outfitters Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees well treated
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON9 May 2018
Employees typically treated well. Corporate runs frequent employee contests to help motivate the staff. Well built HR system for dealing in internal issues and employee concerns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and informal workplace.
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB9 May 2018
American Eagle was my first retail job, and it introduced me to delegation of tasks, though it was much like a high school clique. The delegation of tasks was more like a list of chores, rather than a list of tasks to complete in a work place.
Pros
Fun setting
Cons
No learning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic workplace
Stockroom Organizer (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB4 May 2018
Constantly changing staff of 60+ people
Unclear communication between coworkers and lead members
Workload didn't match hours given, too many employees for the amount of work needed to be done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my personal experience was bad
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2018
They hire a bunch of people for a week, pick their favorites, then fire everyone else. There isn't good comradery. The managers were very serious all the time and they want you to push sales really hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast pace environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC18 April 2018
American eagle is the first job I ever had. It’s a very different and enjoyable environemt although we work at an extremely fast pace. Great experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've had
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB16 April 2018
-Manager doesnt care about the staff
-Gives minimum amount of hours to a large staff to cut down on breaks
-Proper training has not been given to the staff
-Expected to be pushy to customers on uncomfortable level
-Told me i could have full time in interview but said only managers can be full time after hire
Pros
80% discount on certain items and can wear leggings or sweat pants
Cons
3 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sales Lead (Current Employee) –  Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON16 April 2018
Love working for this company, great work environment and people to work with also love what this company stands for, always being trained to improve your work skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Eagle outfitter
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS27 March 2018
From this opportunity I learned a great deal about customer service and retail experience. The other staff were typically kind with the exception of some managers who were less than constructive.
Pros
great discount
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic work culture and flexible hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 March 2018
American Eagle Outfitters is a fantastic retail experience for anybody who is considering applying. The actual work itself is rewarding enough and you will make great connections with other employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical but nice retail establishment to work in.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 March 2018
American Eagle is a very eager and consistent place to work. There is usually the same amount of people in the store every day I had worked. Giving my personal opinion to customers was easy to help them find what they are looking for. And cash is always easy.
Pros
Location
Cons
short shifts (3 hours)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
JEAN EXPERT (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS21 March 2018
typical work day is okay. slow seasons make for long shifts. i learner to better interact with people. management could be better but over all not bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 March 2018
Working here was great, however hours start to get cut off after the holidays do to lack of shoppers, so don't expect to get a great amount of hours in January. Hardest part of the job would probably be dealing with customers and providing them with them with the best possible service, but as you go on you begin to get your accustomed. Overall great experience, you learn so much about customer service through this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
STOCK ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
Typical day at work was dealing with customers concerns and questions, selling to customers using American eagle standards and to keep clothing neatly folded and tidy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Associate Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 March 2018
At American Eagle Outfitter, the management team have a strong camaraderie. We help one another for making the store to its standard. Guiding and teaching the sales associate work in a less stress and fun environment.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 March 2018
Was only hired to stock a new location and help set up the store. One week into it's opening me and roughly 50 other employees were immediately laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst part time jobs
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON14 March 2018
I have never seen such a horrific situation as in the store I am at in Sudbury. It’s falling apart- figuratively and literally. Time for a new store to take over.
Pros
The doors open.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier and Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 March 2018
Management is very immature in my opinion, but great employees. Typical day is cleaning, folding clothes, helping customers, styling customers, helping with stock, ect.
Pros
Good discount on clothes, met a lot of nice people
Cons
Short shifts, not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned about fashion
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 March 2018
I started working at AE as a seasonal employee because they needed help for the Christmas season. They hired about 20 new employees and said that they were only going to keep three at the end of the season. I was one of the three.

It was a fairly easy job, I mostly talked to customers about their clothing decisions and directed them to the best choice. I helped with the set up of the displays and folded a lot of clothes. Sometimes we stayed overnight to clean and set up the store for the next day, which was fun because everyone was super friendly.

The environment was great, the staff was friendly and customers were easy to deal with.

There was really no hard part to the job.
Pros
Discount was great and staff was super friendly
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 March 2018
Everyone there is super nice and all the managers are easy going and super fun. Really big on customer service, so you must go out of your way for them most of the time. The employee discount is also really good.
Pros
great discount
Cons
a lot of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON26 February 2018
loved the people and managers. hard but fun work associated with customers. great company to work for and great culture within the company it self. great overall
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Eagle Outfitters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,286 reviews
51.4K
41.4K
31K
2294
1173

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture