Amec Foster Wheeler Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Assistant Inspector (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 March 2018
All I have to say is I had a great time working here. The company made me feel welcomed and part of the family right away. Would recommend anyone to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with
Sr. Instrumentation & Control Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 March 2018
EPC needs to plan their projects
Work is very challenging & also requires creativity, innovative.
Job with EPC is not for long term.
They hire & fire Engineers
Pros
every 2 weeks long weekend
Cons
not much vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional company with good work culture and market exposure and projects
Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON23 February 2018
The company has capacity for big projects and hence could provide good work experience and exposure to varied projects. Good team building work culture and relaxed atmosphere. The company has good training programs and safety culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional engineering firm, with some corporate red tape
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 February 2018
Work environment was very clean and professional. Was the best company I've ever worked at or for. Top management became an issue after numerous corporate sales and changing of those in charge. A lot of red tape occurred, and advancement stagnated.
I worked with a lot of excellent people and accomplished a lot in my career in a short period of time.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Lack of room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Senior Electrical Specialist, Canada (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON31 October 2017
It is a good company, they have good management, there were very good opportunity in the company, they have large projects. People like to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work Culture
Intermediate I&C System Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 October 2017
The company was good but the pay was not excellent. But still working Environment and management was excellent. Colleague are cooperative and management arranged lots of Lunch and Learn.
Pros
Lunch and Learn
Cons
Salary not Good
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my day
MECHANICAL COMPLETIONS CO-ORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 October 2017
· Create format for System Walkdown binders.
· Populate related Documents for each system Walkdown binder.
· Organize System pre-walk information.
· Prepare and review turnover requirements.
· Organize system pre-walk schedule and distribution.
· Interface with Contractors, Engineering, QAQC, CSU, Document Control and Client to completion.

· Create and distribute Deficiency lists related to each System walk down.

· Prepare “Completion” Binders for turnover to Client.

· Attend Construction and Completions System walk downs.
· Record Deficiencies on System Walkdowns.
· Attend Punchlist review and System progress meetings.
Pros
good rotation / good rate / great co-workers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity
Office Attendant/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 September 2017
Always something to do. Helping others that need help. Making sure everything is ready for staff coming in. Going on tours of the site. versatile staff. Meeting new staff.
Pros
Bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Project Estimator & Cost Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 September 2017
Senior management is experienced and knowledgeable.
Allows growth and flexibility in your career.
Interesting and challenging projects with lots of learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working enviorment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 September 2017
Great coworkers and nice environment. I would definitely suggest candidate to work here. Well organized working process and you do get lots of vacation in this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Electrical Designer (Current Employee) –  Tucker, GA20 September 2017
One of the best consulting firm in the Atlanta region of the USA where you get the opportunity to grow and show your potential. Good benefits package, good training provision.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Suburb location, traffic area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good PMC Environment with some systems in place
Project Manager (PMC) (Current Employee) –  Kuwait17 September 2017
Work environment is multicultural, open and supportive. Needs improvement in opportunities to develop long term career goals and path to look forward.
Pros
Salary structure is better than other ME countries
Cons
No measures for continuous improvement or performance measurement etc..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and fun working environment.
Environmental Specialist (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK30 August 2017
AMEC FW provides a great work to life balance with a fun working environment. The management team are great mentors with their employees as their priority. Some jobs are better than others, however overall the quality of work at AMEC FW is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 August 2017
I worked as an electrical engineer under different teams with great engineers. Our main client was BC Hydro. So I had the chance to get familiar with BC Hydro standards, process and guidelines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy and challenging work everyday
Document Controller (Current Employee) –  Kuwait13 August 2017
Busy but challenging work everyday. I have learned to manage my time properly and prioritize tasks to be done. The management is good with all the managers being supportive to growth of each and every employee. Hardest part of the job is I have to adjust to middle east culture and deal with co-workers who came from different parts of the globe. The most enjoyable part is was able to learn more new experience and skills everyday.
Pros
Free Medical Benefits
Cons
Strict Rules in Kuwait
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, too much management
Electrical Engineer (EIT) and Project Lead (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 August 2017
All around good company to work for, projects are interesting. Advancement is good, but bottlenecked by large quantity of management. Only real issue with them is that there's too much management who try and micromanage everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good experience to work in Potash Mining Project in Saskatoon.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 July 2017
My new job in Amec Foster Wheeler Saskatoon is entirely different from my previous job in the Middle East and in the Philippines. This is my first time to work in mining company and the system is a litle bit different from my previous experience especially on the design of Electrical Modular Substation wherein my previous experience are mostly on stick built Electrical Substation. The new technology for the Design of Modular Electrical Room including the Heat Tracing system is an added knowledge to me.
Pros
Learn new technology and sometimes free lunch during lunch & learn session.
Cons
Most of the time attending meetings both in design & project execution.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn and grow
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON24 July 2017
I have had nothing but an excellent experience working for Amec Foster Wheeler.
Lots of opportunities to learn both professionally and personally.
Flexible with work and family responsibilities.
Pros
flexibility, large mentoring program
Cons
consulting in general is demanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work.
GIS Specialist on EIAs (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 July 2017
Great opportunity and flexibility to work in different roles across the country with a wide variety of customers in the E & I industry. Opportunities to get site/hands on experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Systematic Work nature, good team with complete workability
Document Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Shuaiba, Kuwait7 July 2017
A global company to work with. Systematic Work nature, good team with complete workability. All nationality persons in the both management and execution teams. Major Clients in Kuwait are KOC & KNPC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Amec Foster Wheeler. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 723 reviews
5260
4264
3139
231
129

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture