Algonquin College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Placement
CYC Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON14 November 2017
I did a placement in an elementary school as part of my program at Algonquin College and it was probably the most rewarding thing I could have gotten out of the schooling experience in my few years at the Gonq.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and happy place to work.
Peer Tutor - Accounting (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 October 2017
I learn how to be a smart leader. The working environment is amazing. The diversity and inclusiveness of the community is impressive. The management is great. The supervisors are amazingly friendly.
Pros
Fun place to work.
Cons
Hard to get program related job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best college
Co-op Computer Programmer Student (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 October 2017
I studied Computer Programmer Program at Algonquin College. I mail tool we have is our advanced laptop. Courses is devided into two parts, theory, and labs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pretty dependable source of hours for a contractor.
ESL Teacher (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 October 2017
In spite of the old, stodgy architecture, and in spite of the heavy workload, I'm grateful for the steady work teaching ESL at Algonquin. My fellow teachers are wonderful, supportive people, and I know I make a difference to them too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support from faculity
College Instructor (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON11 October 2017
The school really cared about their students and the quality of their education. Managment was super supportive about changing up curriculum to the benefit of the students.
Pros
Room for advancment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project at school
Energy Audit Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 October 2017
project at school was good exposure to criteria you learn in school. It was fun doing a school project that allowed us to relate to what we learned in class.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
passionate to help a learner
Part-time Professor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON28 September 2017
The organization culture is excellent, and the class environment has some challenges and super fun environment.
I am passionate to help students learn a new topic, that will help them shape their career and success in their future endeavour.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenge with equality between full time and part time
Prior Learning and Assessment Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 September 2017
All departments work differently to each other.
Some are inclusive and progressive, while others fall behind policy, or old boys club thinking.
Unfortunately this never seems to be addressed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment with a tremendous staff
Part-time Professor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 September 2017
- It is clear that all staff/ faculty are working toward a common goal;
- Management worked to improve my teaching skills from the moment I was hired;
- Courses are set up in a way that allows teaching to be integrative and very ejoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice environment
Part-Time Professor & Course Developer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 September 2017
• Easy to access
+ Friendly working atmosphere
+ Challenged by keep update on technology and software applications.
+ Bidirectional approach to learn
+ Flexible working hours load
Pros
Access to learning material
Cons
Students aptitude to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Support
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 September 2017
Fixing deffective Computers and installing new hardware (such as CD Roms & Floppy Disks)
Assist Teachers in the Laboratory
Reporting to my manager all work duties and accomploisments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn a lot positive and negative
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 August 2017
it is a good place to work if they are hiring you as a full time job, because of the benefits that you are getting.

but once you are a part time it's no good at all, because aside from working from a less than 25 hrs a week, when you are new there some people are nice to you teach you the right way, others that are there for such a long time, those are the one that get you into trouble.

the management needs to fix some of the issues specially for the seniors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Algonquin
Dental Hygiene Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 July 2017
As a dental hygiene student, it was not a paid position. We dealt with clients as we would on a day to day basis. The teachers and clinicians were very good and helpful and we kept our clients happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Secured workplace
Clinical Experience (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 July 2017
- The clinical experience during the course taught me much about how to adapt the theory to practical tasks. The professors are very nice and patience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa muito competente e agradável de trabalhar
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, Ontario, Canadá7 July 2017
College na cidade de Ottawa, no Canadá, conhecida pela sua preocupação com o bem estar da população.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supportive environment to work
Aboriginal Events Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2017
I have only the best things to say about working for Algonquin College. Supportive team and management, everyone is really working towards student success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Team member (Front end and backend Developer) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 May 2017
Haven't worked much. But professors and student services are great help. One of the most reputed colleges in Canada. I highly recommend this college to anyone.
Pros
Helpfull
Cons
Programs offered does not last for long
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work and improve on your skills
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 May 2017
A wonderful experience that was. Gave me a taste of what life in a workplace is like. I even learn ASP.Net MVC while working there which took some getting used to since I used to develop using ASP.Net Web Forms. But I powered throw the hardship and now I am ready to use what I have learned as a stepping stone to further my career.
Pros
Fun and enjoyable environment to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Class final project
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 April 2017
work with others, plan how to get the project done with plans and sketches, assign work between team mates, figure out what language to use, come together in the end
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Welding Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 April 2017
Working at Algonquin was a great experience. I am thankful to have had the opportunity to work in the college and with the students. It gave me even more time working with students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Algonquin College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 98 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Algonquin College Reviews by Location