ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION Employee Reviews in St. Catharines, ON

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place work
Master (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON20 July 2019
Great environment, great staff and great wages.great incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for those who intend to remain single and make money.
Deckhand (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON15 July 2019
Fellow employees with 20 plus years of service and no full-time position.
Challenging to plan for your family and home life.
You need to be willing to accept work and be away for months on end with very short notice.
Pros
Away from home with room and board provided.
Cons
No consistency of hours or work schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company
Deckhand (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON3 July 2019
Not a great company ..they treat u like a number have no sympathy for there employees who spend months away from there family's.. u only get benefits while on ship ...and believe it or not they have literally run out of food for the crew .wow!!
Pros
Good crews
Cons
Poorly managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like working on ships.
Deckhand (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 January 2019
My normal day was one of carrying out my regular duties, plus any other duties that were assigned to me. Loved the feeling of working outdoors and been able to discuss the days events with the other crew members. The hardest part of my job was been away from home for months at a time. Some of the most enjoyable part of my job was working with other crew members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy learning lots about the Great Lake shipping trade go for it
Second Mate (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON16 September 2018
Great pay with lots of time off. Lots of work for anyone wanting to get into the marine trade. Long hours sometimes.
But also lots of long breaks. You will learn a lot about the shipping industry.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Stuck on ship
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crews are miserable
Engineering Cadet (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON19 May 2017
Rotations are long, crews are miserable. Management is good but rotations are too long. 3 months on 1 month off. Good luck having a family with that kind of schedule.
Pros
Good management, travel
Cons
Long rotations
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able seaman
Able Seaman (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON11 November 2016
I drive the boat confidently fro 8 hours a day shift with my experience for 17 years. I could work under pressure and multi tasking team player. The most hardest part is passing in narrow canals here in Great Lakes.The most enjoyable part is to apply my skills to drive the boat with ease and away from danger. The captain could render a less supervision on me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong management, company is growing internationally.
Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 September 2016
Pleasant work environment, opportunity for advancement but no flex hours. It is a very demanding 24 hrs business, staff are well compensated for their efforts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work on the self-unloader ships.
Second engineer on ship. (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON9 May 2016
I worked in company Algoma like releve 2/e long time,i never had problem with job and relationship with people.Right now bisness slow in company why i wonna find job for part time,after i will see.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch keeping
4/ Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON25 April 2016
I worked at this company for 7 years.
i gained more experience during that time .
the hardest part was me far away my family.
Pros
good food
Cons
8 hurs a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
OILER (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON11 May 2015
My time with algoma has been very positive and educational. Everyone I worked with was very helpful and friendly. The hardest part of the job was being away from home for months at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and involving workplace
Marine Engineering Cadet (Former Employee) –  St Catharines, ON25 June 2014
Under the guidance of the engineer on watch, I got to build my skills in mechanics, and welding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Second Mate/Third Mate (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON4 May 2014
On any given day @ sea I'm required to multitask, it could be loading in port, chairing safety meetings, inspection of lifeboats, training new employees , you are constantly learning , whether it be navigating, investigating occurences onboard, learning new software.My co-workers are very important on this job, I want to make sure they know as much about their duties and responsibilities as I do.Being away from my family is probably the hardest part of this job. The most enjoyable is being rewarded for doing a good job.
Pros
Being able to work with very professional people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent overall employer.
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 January 2014
Having many years of experience working for this company, I was given the opportunity to learn and grow as a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work at
Financial Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 August 2013
Very busy environment and excellent work conditions. Team work is very easy at Algoma its an incredible company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report

See more ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 23 reviews
59
46
35
22
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION Reviews by Location