ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compagnie excellente
3rd Engineer (Former Employee) –  Canada14 February 2018
Excellente compagnie, ambiance de travail agreable, sprit d'equipe tres bon, poste de travail ou emploi superrrrr.....
Pros
Tout es positif
Cons
0 Points negatif
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able seaman
Able Seaman (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON11 November 2016
I drive the boat confidently fro 8 hours a day shift with my experience for 17 years. I could work under pressure and multi tasking team player. The most hardest part is passing in narrow canals here in Great Lakes.The most enjoyable part is to apply my skills to drive the boat with ease and away from danger. The captain could render a less supervision on me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong management, company is growing internationally.
Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 September 2016
Pleasant work environment, opportunity for advancement but no flex hours. It is a very demanding 24 hrs business, staff are well compensated for their efforts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work on the self-unloader ships.
Second engineer on ship. (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON9 May 2016
I worked in company Algoma like releve 2/e long time,i never had problem with job and relationship with people.Right now bisness slow in company why i wonna find job for part time,after i will see.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch keeping
4/ Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON25 April 2016
I worked at this company for 7 years.
i gained more experience during that time .
the hardest part was me far away my family.
Pros
good food
Cons
8 hurs a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
OILER (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON11 May 2015
My time with algoma has been very positive and educational. Everyone I worked with was very helpful and friendly. The hardest part of the job was being away from home for months at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and involving workplace
Marine Engineering Cadet (Former Employee) –  St Catharines, ON25 June 2014
Under the guidance of the engineer on watch, I got to build my skills in mechanics, and welding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Second Mate/Third Mate (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON4 May 2014
On any given day @ sea I'm required to multitask, it could be loading in port, chairing safety meetings, inspection of lifeboats, training new employees , you are constantly learning , whether it be navigating, investigating occurences onboard, learning new software.My co-workers are very important on this job, I want to make sure they know as much about their duties and responsibilities as I do.Being away from my family is probably the hardest part of this job. The most enjoyable is being rewarded for doing a good job.
Pros
Being able to work with very professional people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent overall employer.
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 January 2014
Having many years of experience working for this company, I was given the opportunity to learn and grow as a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work at
Financial Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 August 2013
Very busy environment and excellent work conditions. Team work is very easy at Algoma its an incredible company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Wheelsman (Current Employee) –  Various ships on the Great Lakes9 November 2012
Normal shifts are 4 hours on and 8 hours off with overtime 2 hours before or after shift.
Contracts range from 2 weeks to 3 months aboard ship.
Management varies from ship to ship and it is obvious which Officers have control and which ones struggle to maintain order.
Co-workers change often as I change ships and also on board as vacations and leave mean new relief crew.
The hardest part of the job is being away from home.
The best part of the job is the ever changing surroundings. While in transit, every day is a new view. In port, interacting with personnel from across Canada and taking part in the loading and discharging of vast amonts of cargo is incredible.
Pros
hourly wages and benefits; meals and housing provided
Cons
absent from home for long periods
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report

See more ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 14 reviews
57
44
32
21
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.0Culture

ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION Reviews by Location