ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 22 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place work
Master (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON20 July 2019
Great environment, great staff and great wages.great incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company
Deckhand (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON3 July 2019
Not a great company ..they treat u like a number have no sympathy for there employees who spend months away from there family's.. u only get benefits while on ship ...and believe it or not they have literally run out of food for the crew .wow!!
Pros
Good crews
Cons
Poorly managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable temporary job
Maintenance / Security (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 June 2019
Emergency fill in as a shipkeeper for a bulk freighter in winter layup, early 2016. Good working relationship with immediate supervisor and manager the level above.
Pros
Required only a daily tour of boat to check equipment, ballast tank readings. Ship’s layup location aided in keeping unauthorized people away.
Cons
Required a 24/7 assignment, some brief time away was possible with notification to management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like working on ships.
Deckhand (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 January 2019
My normal day was one of carrying out my regular duties, plus any other duties that were assigned to me. Loved the feeling of working outdoors and been able to discuss the days events with the other crew members. The hardest part of my job was been away from home for months at a time. Some of the most enjoyable part of my job was working with other crew members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy learning lots about the Great Lake shipping trade go for it
Second Mate (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON16 September 2018
Great pay with lots of time off. Lots of work for anyone wanting to get into the marine trade. Long hours sometimes.
But also lots of long breaks. You will learn a lot about the shipping industry.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Stuck on ship
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compagnie excellente
3rd Engineer (Former Employee) –  Canada14 February 2018
Excellente compagnie, ambiance de travail agreable, sprit d'equipe tres bon, poste de travail ou emploi superrrrr.....
Pros
Tout es positif
Cons
0 Points negatif
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crews are miserable
Engineering Cadet (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON19 May 2017
Rotations are long, crews are miserable. Management is good but rotations are too long. 3 months on 1 month off. Good luck having a family with that kind of schedule.
Pros
Good management, travel
Cons
Long rotations
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able seaman
Able Seaman (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON11 November 2016
I drive the boat confidently fro 8 hours a day shift with my experience for 17 years. I could work under pressure and multi tasking team player. The most hardest part is passing in narrow canals here in Great Lakes.The most enjoyable part is to apply my skills to drive the boat with ease and away from danger. The captain could render a less supervision on me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong management, company is growing internationally.
Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 September 2016
Pleasant work environment, opportunity for advancement but no flex hours. It is a very demanding 24 hrs business, staff are well compensated for their efforts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work on the self-unloader ships.
Second engineer on ship. (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON9 May 2016
I worked in company Algoma like releve 2/e long time,i never had problem with job and relationship with people.Right now bisness slow in company why i wonna find job for part time,after i will see.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch keeping
4/ Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON25 April 2016
I worked at this company for 7 years.
i gained more experience during that time .
the hardest part was me far away my family.
Pros
good food
Cons
8 hurs a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
OILER (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON11 May 2015
My time with algoma has been very positive and educational. Everyone I worked with was very helpful and friendly. The hardest part of the job was being away from home for months at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and involving workplace
Marine Engineering Cadet (Former Employee) –  St Catharines, ON25 June 2014
Under the guidance of the engineer on watch, I got to build my skills in mechanics, and welding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Second Mate/Third Mate (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON4 May 2014
On any given day @ sea I'm required to multitask, it could be loading in port, chairing safety meetings, inspection of lifeboats, training new employees , you are constantly learning , whether it be navigating, investigating occurences onboard, learning new software.My co-workers are very important on this job, I want to make sure they know as much about their duties and responsibilities as I do.Being away from my family is probably the hardest part of this job. The most enjoyable is being rewarded for doing a good job.
Pros
Being able to work with very professional people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent overall employer.
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 January 2014
Having many years of experience working for this company, I was given the opportunity to learn and grow as a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work at
Financial Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 August 2013
Very busy environment and excellent work conditions. Team work is very easy at Algoma its an incredible company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Wheelsman (Current Employee) –  Various ships on the Great Lakes9 November 2012
Normal shifts are 4 hours on and 8 hours off with overtime 2 hours before or after shift.
Contracts range from 2 weeks to 3 months aboard ship.
Management varies from ship to ship and it is obvious which Officers have control and which ones struggle to maintain order.
Co-workers change often as I change ships and also on board as vacations and leave mean new relief crew.
The hardest part of the job is being away from home.
The best part of the job is the ever changing surroundings. While in transit, every day is a new view. In port, interacting with personnel from across Canada and taking part in the loading and discharging of vast amonts of cargo is incredible.
Pros
hourly wages and benefits; meals and housing provided
Cons
absent from home for long periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report

See more ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 22 reviews
59
46
34
22
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

ALGOMA CENTRAL CORPORATION Reviews by Location