Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Volunteer Ambulance Ride Along (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 February 2018
It was fun for the most part, everyone got along really well and there was a sense of great teamwork being displayed by all participating individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive management in operations and maintenance
Instrument technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 January 2018
Prepare to get unfairly treated and bullied or harassed by management. Management in engineering and maintenance has no formal management training as they are promoted trades people. They demand respect through singling out and threats. When the economy is not doing well they regularly have staff beat downs and comment on how Anyone could be easily replaced, unfortunately you are just a number with AHS, another poorly run government entity.
Pros
Learning how to survive in a poor moral environment
Cons
Already stated
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average employment opportunity, no room for growth or training.
Regional Support Technologist, Diagnostic Imaging (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB29 January 2018
I do administrative support,maintenance, technical support for AHS.

The job pay's well. However, there is no opportunity for growth or advancement.

Hardest part of the job is working in a solo environment while micro managing dozens of tasks that require daily upkeep.

Most enjoyable part of the job is the freedom of independence.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am learning so much about myself thorugh this experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 January 2018
I am currently a volunteer at AHS and I love every minute of it. I get to interact with patients and staff. Everyone I met at AHS-PLC so far have been really kind, warm and helpful. This would definitely be a great institution to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as long as you like the city you're based in
Regional Dietitian (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB25 January 2018
Challenging but fulfilling work. Lots of support from management and co-workers when needed. Fun work culture. GREAT PAY, benefits, vacation. Only down side was the only place I was accepted was a small remote town, not ideal for a young single person. Make sure the location is livable for you.
Pros
Supportive team, Great Pay
Cons
Some remote locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unable to comment
Client Services (Former Employee) –  Alberta22 January 2018
Typical day at work - busy and demanding
What I learned - to be resilient and resourceful
Management - several upper management changes in 4 years on my team.
Workplace culture - busy and demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Career
Service Worker I (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 January 2018
Great place to work, make new acquaintances and learn new skills. The job is fast passed, a great attention to detail and good communication skills in order to succeed this team environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hrbp
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB19 January 2018
Great place to work, they value their employees, offer unbelievable benefits and work life balance. competitive environment difficult to advance without many years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Managment and Staff
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 January 2018
Great place to work! Very appreciative of the supportive environment and learning experiences. Amazing staff and management team who support new learners but also provide challenges to more experienced nurses who wish to continue to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and fun!
HEALTH SERVICE WORKER (Current Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB16 January 2018
I love working for alberta health services! Very easy training, great benefits and an awesome atmosphere! Hopefully more jobs come up in the next couple years!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Alberta11 January 2018
The workplace culture is great. I have worked with AHS for many years and have enjoyed my time with staff and patients. I have learned so much from AHS that will hold so much value in my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB11 January 2018
Great place to work and learn. Fabulous staff. Plenty of opportunites. Diverse work environment which makes going to work fun. Reasonable salary and hours provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work with lots of interaction with people
Worker (Former Employee) –  Bow Island, AB11 January 2018
Working at Alberta Health Services was, from my 3-year experience, highly enjoyable. The job involved a lot of interaction with patients and their relatives, and my shifts were very time-sensitive; you have to be at certain places by the minute. The hardest part of the job was staying on schedule, but eventually you find a rythym and the job becomes significantly easier. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with others, as well as the ease at which you can complete tasks once you're used to them.
Pros
The fast pace of the work keeps away boredom
Cons
Physically demanding work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will be reviewed later
Informatics Consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 January 2018
The review will be added at a later date when the information has been gone through thru. At that time all required fields will be completed as requested
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Switchboard Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 January 2018
Good salary and benefits. Great one on one training provided.
Part time employees have the ability to pick up many addtional shifts.
Great shift differential incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job has been rewarding and challenging
NUTRITIONAL MANAGER ASSISTANT/COOK 1 (Current Employee) –  Mannville, AB9 January 2018
This position that I have held for 18 plus years has been rewarding and challenging. However, I feel it is time for a change and for that reason I have furthered my education in Office Administration.
I am now seeking another rewarding and challenging position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enjoyable
Secretary 1 (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 January 2018
I was hired as a temp. Every 6 months, they kept renewing my contract (as the person I was taking over was on sick leave). After the 3rd turn around, I realized I wasn't going to be a full time, and I need the job security.
Pros
Learnt alot after graduating College
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 January 2018
I didnt work much with AHS i just worked with a small group of doctors and nurses, they were always willing to provide necessary information, and they were always willing to teach.
Pros
own hours
Cons
slow computer systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at
Clinical associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 January 2018
As a clinical assistant on a supervised Practice Register in Medical and Radiation Oncology department in TBCC/ FMC. I was able to assess patient including admitting patients from ER or clinic, order and interpret investigations, perform procedures, formulate a management plan, manage and discharge patients under supervision.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hard working and rewarding career
Health Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Westlock, AB1 January 2018
As a health care aide working for Alberta Health Services it is a fast paced career with many rewards. I enjoy helping individuals and ensuring they receive the best care possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alberta Health Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 518 reviews
5204
4170
3103
228
113

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture