Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Stores Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 February 2018
Once you get in full time you have a great wage and great benefits. Takes a little bit of time to get there but its worth the wait (you have to be casual for a while before getting full time)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff to work with
Health Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB17 February 2018
Good place to work, Home care with a variety of client needs. Wonderful people to work with. The job was cancelled when alberta health care got out of home care business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent work enviorment.
Health Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Westlock, AB17 February 2018
I enjoy my work and clients. The best part of my job is caring for the seniors. It's all about quality of care. I have learned to put myself in my clients shoes and be able to relate to how they feel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not many shifts to be handed out due to overemployment
Stores I (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 February 2018
the newest manager went and cut all the casuals hours and hired a bunch of new casuals consistently since he started without willing fulltime positions needing to be filled
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment.
PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 February 2018
The work at AHS is fulfilling and rewarding. The culture is diverse as it is a very large organization but it still maintains human values such as respect and work-life balance.

Overall, I would recommend working at AHS, it is a very good culture and environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Administrative Support V (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB8 February 2018
Alberta health services is a great place to work, staff are excellent. There is opportunity to move up within your field if you choose. They have a great benefits package.
Pros
Benefits, pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Found it to be a good place to work
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 February 2018
Easy to move from one unit to another so as to gain good nursing experience. I worked with good team members there and I was able to gain lots of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Volunteer Ambulance Ride Along (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 February 2018
It was fun for the most part, everyone got along really well and there was a sense of great teamwork being displayed by all participating individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive management in operations and maintenance
Instrument technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 January 2018
Prepare to get unfairly treated and bullied or harassed by management. Management in engineering and maintenance has no formal management training as they are promoted trades people. They demand respect through singling out and threats. When the economy is not doing well they regularly have staff beat downs and comment on how Anyone could be easily replaced, unfortunately you are just a number with AHS, another poorly run government entity.
Pros
Learning how to survive in a poor moral environment
Cons
Already stated
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average employment opportunity, no room for growth or training.
Regional Support Technologist, Diagnostic Imaging (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB29 January 2018
I do administrative support,maintenance, technical support for AHS.

The job pay's well. However, there is no opportunity for growth or advancement.

Hardest part of the job is working in a solo environment while micro managing dozens of tasks that require daily upkeep.

Most enjoyable part of the job is the freedom of independence.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am learning so much about myself thorugh this experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 January 2018
I am currently a volunteer at AHS and I love every minute of it. I get to interact with patients and staff. Everyone I met at AHS-PLC so far have been really kind, warm and helpful. This would definitely be a great institution to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as long as you like the city you're based in
Regional Dietitian (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB25 January 2018
Challenging but fulfilling work. Lots of support from management and co-workers when needed. Fun work culture. GREAT PAY, benefits, vacation. Only down side was the only place I was accepted was a small remote town, not ideal for a young single person. Make sure the location is livable for you.
Pros
Supportive team, Great Pay
Cons
Some remote locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unable to comment
Client Services (Former Employee) –  Alberta22 January 2018
Typical day at work - busy and demanding
What I learned - to be resilient and resourceful
Management - several upper management changes in 4 years on my team.
Workplace culture - busy and demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Career
Service Worker I (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 January 2018
Great place to work, make new acquaintances and learn new skills. The job is fast passed, a great attention to detail and good communication skills in order to succeed this team environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hrbp
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB19 January 2018
Great place to work, they value their employees, offer unbelievable benefits and work life balance. competitive environment difficult to advance without many years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Managment and Staff
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 January 2018
Great place to work! Very appreciative of the supportive environment and learning experiences. Amazing staff and management team who support new learners but also provide challenges to more experienced nurses who wish to continue to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and fun!
HEALTH SERVICE WORKER (Current Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB16 January 2018
I love working for alberta health services! Very easy training, great benefits and an awesome atmosphere! Hopefully more jobs come up in the next couple years!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Alberta11 January 2018
The workplace culture is great. I have worked with AHS for many years and have enjoyed my time with staff and patients. I have learned so much from AHS that will hold so much value in my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB11 January 2018
Great place to work and learn. Fabulous staff. Plenty of opportunites. Diverse work environment which makes going to work fun. Reasonable salary and hours provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work with lots of interaction with people
Worker (Former Employee) –  Bow Island, AB11 January 2018
Working at Alberta Health Services was, from my 3-year experience, highly enjoyable. The job involved a lot of interaction with patients and their relatives, and my shifts were very time-sensitive; you have to be at certain places by the minute. The hardest part of the job was staying on schedule, but eventually you find a rythym and the job becomes significantly easier. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with others, as well as the ease at which you can complete tasks once you're used to them.
Pros
The fast pace of the work keeps away boredom
Cons
Physically demanding work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alberta Health Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 483 reviews
5192
4156
3100
224
111

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture