Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization to work for
Manager, Finance Policy (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta16 October 2018
I had a great few years working at AHS. Management has been very supportive of my career development, offered great work life balance and opportunity to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secured Job, Good Benefits
Laundry Worker II (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB10 October 2018
Good workplace, safety of the employee is one of the priority' Every week we have safety meeting to refresh all the employee how to work safe and not to get injured.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team Lead - Staffing Services (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 October 2018
good benefits/pay
long hours
Alberta weather
friendly staff
team work
fast paced
flexible and challenging at the same time
hiring process was quick and easy
Pros
good benefits/pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Porter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 October 2018
Good Co workers
Units cooperate
Keeps you active for a job
Hard working people
Caring Staff
Food could be upgraded for the patients though
Would work here for a long time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
AVIRT Nurse (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 October 2018
Excellent place to work in community. Very supportive management at each health center . Staffing was sufficient and team work was encouraged. Orientation and on going teaching was excellent
Pros
great on going teaching
Cons
not enough support from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity
Administration Assistant (Current Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB5 October 2018
Working for Alberta Health Services has provided me with a great career and opportunity for advancement in the health care field as well as they provide great benefits/wages.
Pros
Good work hours and wages
Cons
need for more in-house management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working at the Tofield Hospital. I especially love the residents and patients.
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Tofield, AB3 October 2018
I have worked at the hospital for 10years.I really enjoy my job.I like the physical parts of the job. I enjoy preparing food( desserts and salads ).I love the chance to work with the residents and patients.I really enjoy the people I work with . I like working in the Hospital environment.
Pros
Seeing a residant or patient enjoy what I have served them.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Food service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 October 2018
good fun productive to work and as team work good pay good management near to my house and everything is ok their people are good and helpful the end
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding role in being able to help those in need with ensuring their buildings are upgraded
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  central Alberta2 October 2018
AHS is a challenging place to work because it is a gov't role where the transparency requirement gets in the way of progress and common sense. The role consists of managing stakeholders, consultants and vendors to get projects done. The most enjoyable part of the job is going to site and seeing the progress of projects and feeling good about the contribution being made to the betterment of the end-users.
Pros
working to help those in need, good vacation plan, pension
Cons
government red tape, clique & kingdom entrenched management structure, nepotism, old boys club..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working enviorment
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 September 2018
safe workplace, work life balance is good. Virtual work environment which makes it tough to be in front of a computer screen all day. It would be a lot better if there was more room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 September 2018
Supportive managers, good work life balance, easy to get help when you need, lots of opportunity to learn and advance if you want to. Great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dysfunctional and depressing environment
Environmental Services II (Former Employee) –  Alberta14 September 2018
Dictatorship management, more work than people/time, abundance of clip-board supervisors, very low morale,high expectations , poor communication
Unfulfilling, task -oriented, ridiculous paperwork
Pros
Wage & benefits
Cons
Work felt like punishment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, Busy Work Environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 September 2018
Focused on positive health outcomes, a very challenging, busy work environment. Significant political interference from GOA, change saturation, strong leadership.
Pros
Benefits Plan
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Health Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Rimbey, AB11 September 2018
daily care of elders , cleaning duties and daily charting duties.
deal with vistiors and family, assist in entertainment and activies for clients..
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly place and the staff are welcoming
Casual Unit Clerk Secretary (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB8 September 2018
it is a great place to work. The management is very professional and helpful.
It's very enjoyable place to work. You get to meet all sorts of different people though in tough times but you get to make friends and learn from them as well.
Pros
meeting new people on daily basis
Cons
shift work ;crazy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not what you know is who you know
Community Peace Officer Level II (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 September 2018
Most of the management have favorites and cater to them. It can be a tough environment to work in and difficult to plan when you never know when you are working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling position
UNIT CLERK (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 September 2018
Alberta Health Services is a great employer. They strive to make the workday both enjoyable and challenging for each employee. I have great job satisfaction and cannot imagine a career not in healthcare. I love helping others and am glad that I chose this as my main career.
Pros
assisting patients get through difficult times
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Appeals Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 September 2018
Loved working here, the people were great and the culture worked well with my personality. It was a great learning experience and stepping stone for my carear.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Community Mental Health Outreach Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 September 2018
Remote location with northern living allowance pay a high demanding work place with clients in need and constantly at risk.
Rewarding work with inexperienced management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary and benefits.
Client Care Assistant/Addiction Counselor III (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 September 2018
I have worked here for a long time (7 years) and throughout they have been supportive and caring. The salary is great and the benefits even better. I would recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alberta Health Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 593 reviews
5231
4196
3111
238
117

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture