Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Employee Reviews

Found 124 reviews matching the search See all 125 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and yet challenging environment to work
AAFC was an excellent employer, I would highly recommend them as an Employer. Management are supportive and training opportunities are readily available to further your knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No more possibilities for advancement
Research Technician (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB4 December 2019
Mediocre pay, good pension, limited advancement opportunities. There are a lot of politics, but I guess that is to be expected when you work for a federal government department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Summer Laboratory Intern (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB17 October 2019
Spent 2 summers working as a coop student. The work culture is very cooperative, even between different labs. The staff regularly organized volleyball and soccer games during lunch breaks. Amazing experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Lab Technologist
M. Sc. Student Research Project (Former Employee) –  Vineland Station, ON7 October 2019
Loved working for Ag-Canada. Benefits were great, salary was fair (even as a student) and management was understanding. N discrimination or biases based on appearance or background; extremely great workplace. (Just a lot of drama between some of the office staff but that was mostly their personal problems).
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tres bon environnement de travail. Des collegues fantastiques
TECHNICIEN Informatique (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC25 September 2019
Tres bon environnement de travail. Des collegues fantastiques.
People are very friendly , not too much stress. You get your own parking space for every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
FIELD ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Nova Scotia21 September 2019
Working for the federal government has been a great experience that I expect will help grow my career. I would consider working for them again in the future, once I have completed my studies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Sweet deal
Groundskeeper (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 September 2019
Everyone is friendly and the work is safe and fun. You never have to do anything you don't feel uncomfortable with. If you are willing to learn there are those who are willing to teach.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Environment
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 August 2019
I was only there a short time and the people were easy to work with and totally engaged.
Unfortunately, I was influenced by a third party that clouded my judgment
Pros
Work remotely
Cons
No parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of support with peers
Information/Programs Officer (PM-01) (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 May 2019
Just started short of a month. I love the people I work with. Very encouraging to new employees. I was very nervous about starting at a call centre but everyone put me at ease on the first day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Interesting, and meaningful
Market Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 May 2019
During my time with Agriculture Canada i had a great time. The days consisted of constant work and persistent effort. I learned how to compose trade reports, and create quick trade fact sheets. The management was superb, reliable, and fair. The workplace culture was office culture, respectable, productive, and calm.
The hardest part of the job was eating for lunch and then having a hunger hangover afterwards, I've overcome this. My most enjoyable part of the job was when i created a Strength, Weakness, Opportunity and Threat report, because I had to create it in such a way that displayed the most important parts of the topic.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Office beauracracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Life Work Balance
Manager (Current Employee) –  Canada5 April 2019
Good place to work if you enjoy science/business interface. Work in the administration and middle management involve challenging duties and an opportunity to make an impact on Canada.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 March 2019
As a casual employee, I have been met with helpful people passionate about their work. The department is in flux, and future prospects seem unclear, but I would recommend this department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonomie de travail agréable
Inspecteur Classificateur des bestiaux (Former Employee) –  Saint-Hyacinthe, Ste-Perpétue23 February 2019
Lourdeur administrative, changement continuel de la gestion et supervision.
Pros
Avantages sociaux
Cons
Lourdeur administrative
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to the Federal Government: Stay Away
Program Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 February 2019
Working for AAFC was something I did appreciate while still being in school as it gave me the opportunity to sit at a desk and work on school work. There were often days were you will not be given any work and will be discouraged from being proactive and working on improvements as little can be done to improve how AAFC operates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agriculture
Agriculture worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2019
I need job in Canada to work strong fo company and to give much perspective for company and to win more experience in Canada in any city I need work in canada
Pros
Agriculture
Cons
Median hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work and learn
Administration clerk (Current Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE15 December 2018
A typical day at work would involve logistically working with different people setting up repairs and transportation for people at work.
Workplace culture is pretty diverse and you can meet a lot of different people.
Hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult people who are stuck on their ways. Not giving the bottom people a voice or opinion on how they think things should work. Ideas come from every level and should be heard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to do a Co-op
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Agassiz, BC19 November 2018
-Learn lots of new laboratory skills
-Able to get feedback from supervisors
-Good working environment
-Mon-Fri hours
-Feel like your research has a purpose
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fleet management & Warehouse Inventory
Fleet Administrator & Warehouse Inventory (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON16 November 2018
took care of over 200 government vehicle maintenance schedule
took care of a small Warehouse for Inspectors & Veterinarian supplies
Organize & monitor a program for data entry of all the above
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Project Support Agent (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 October 2018
typical day at work: FSEWP program, some student task
learned: how to apply Gouv policies and assessment program aplications
management: good relationship
workplace: good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for an Agency
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  1341 Baseline Road, Ottawa, Ontario4 October 2018
Work as a Administrative Assistance. Distributed mail and arranged meetings for the Director. Took in calls and sent them to the right department. Would help the Director with her chores
Pros
Pleasant work place
Cons
Working with Agency, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 125 reviews
568
434
319
23
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture