Active Green + Ross Employee Reviews

Found 60 reviews matching the search See all 62 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treats employees poorly
Apprentice Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 February 2019
Wouldn't advise working here, zero opportunity to advance poor leadership and no job security. Likely if you're an apprentice there'll be zero time to do any real work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Mechanical assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 December 2018
Nice place to work at and building up experience for car repairs.i found the team is pleasant to work with and they have excellent equipment.working there was hub and I wanted to move up to build more experience with public service.
Pros
Leaning from different expert in the field of mechanics
Cons
Not enough hours to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON22 December 2018
I learnt alot at Active Green and Ross. formed me into the mechanic i am today. my day would start off positive and my day would end positively. 4 years being there really was a eye opener
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
management was hard to talk to
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't stay longer.
Automotive Service Technician Licensed (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON30 November 2018
Franchise Stores ONLY!
Pros:
•Free lunch
•Good team work as tech only.
•Only good doing apprenticeship.
•Good work environment

Cons:
•Under appreciated.
•Work hard payless.
•Under pressure.
•Leave when you get your tech licence
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, Helpful Co-Workers
Co-op placement (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON29 November 2018
At my placement, all of the technicians were extremely helpful, and very friendly. They helped me to feel comfortable during my time there, and taught me some interesting things about the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprentice mechanic
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON20 November 2018
Good place to work with the ability to learn new and build on previous skill sets in order to advance in the field of work in the automotive repair field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving Door
Apprentice Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON20 September 2018
Worked for two locations, as an apprentice. Doing bigger things now. kennedy road brampton, and Concord. Stay away.. Work/Life balance sucks, Concord location has a mechanic that likes to yell more then he teaches.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Hostile
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2018
Good place for beginners who are trying to get into the automotive service technician trade. Wide variety of cars come and go, the place can be busy at times, but dead after everyone got the winter tires changed off until winter season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanic
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 July 2018
great team to work with depending what shop you are working in.
requires you to work weekends.
free lunch if budget is hit.
willing to train you and invest in you
Pros
great people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Senior Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON25 June 2018
I have been employed with Active Green & ross for more than 7 years. I started as an apprentice and I am now a class A tech with Drive Clean test and repair. My employer and the AGR management team has ALWAYS encouraged me and my co-workers to do our best and has ensured that we have the appropriate training available to us (at there cost).

As I read so many negative comments about AGR all's I can say is its very easy to slam a company...maybe some of these people should look in the mirror because they are probably the cause of their discontent not to mention not even having the balls to identify what city they worked in.
Pros
Manditory training...paid lunch...free lunch...flexibilty
Cons
Long hours but this goes with this trade
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about Active Green + Ross?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt recommend
Tire and Lubrication Technician (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON22 May 2018
Was not a good place to work. Different owners constantly, job was always threatened, no advancement with pay or schooling. The harder you worked, the more they didn't care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and secure work place
Experienced service advisor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON19 April 2018
the day goes by how many customers we get
management wasnt great at the time
hardest part was selling
never a bad day
nice friendly people
just a great place to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace as a apprentice
Automotive Service Technician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2018
I have been in this company for 6 years as a apprentice and I had fun working with them. However, salary you will get is only minimum wages. No matter how much you ask them to get an increase they will not listen to you even your are experience or been in their company for long time.
Pros
Good team work
Cons
minimum wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome co-op placement to get hands-on experience
Co-op Student (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON3 April 2018
Active Green&Ross is an awesome co-op placement to get hands-on experience. You have the finest automotive technicians who have tons of year experiences behind their backs and they are really nice to work with
Pros
the work place in general
Cons
dealing with unbeliveable costumers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON5 March 2018
Fun place to work and staff were good to work with. Taught me a lot and gave me reasonable duties to perform as a co-op student. I enjoyed the placement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
personal
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON3 March 2018
Every day was different. solving all customer concerns, maintaining professionalism for all. inventory control. daily cash audit. deposits. training staff in health and safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service shop
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2018
people are great to work with only one down fall is you might have to work weekends. management is not to bad. depending on the location you work people are great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experince
Co-op (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON24 January 2018
Started out doing tire changes and then to brake jobs and so on. They taught me lots and helped my choice of automotive school for collage. Great place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work here
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Prefer not toSay14 January 2018
Long days. No breaks. No consistent training. Everyone has a different answer. Great staff to work with at store level Beyond that too many chiefs not enough Indians. Make promises they don't keep.
Don't embrace employees previous experience or training. Their way or the highway. Hires and Keeps people during busy times and then "lays" them off Under pays and over works the most valuable employees that make their business great
Pros
Great staff at store level.
Cons
Long hrs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active Green and Ross is a company that gave me a chance to enter in the automotive world.
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 December 2017
When i got a interview call by the company, i searched alot about them. Then i came to know that, that's a very fast growing business nowadays. I put step ahead in it and start working there. It was a nice decision that was made by me.
Pros
Growing business, Free company lunches on Saturday, Comfortable work environment.
Cons
n.a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Active Green + Ross. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 62 reviews
513
417
317
28
17

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture