Abell pest control Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company that doesnt care about employees!
Sales Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ontario5 July 2018
This is a terrible company to work for! The management are croked amd throw their employees umder the bus every chance they get. Every office in the province is the same. Greed surpasses all for these guys. They rip off theor cuatomers and leave the guys on the front lines to take the fall. High pressure job and the first time you miss a quota they fire you! Do not work for thos company!
Pros
None
Cons
Management, working conditions, long hours w no compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you can keep your head down.
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 March 2018
Head down and work. Don't expect to advance. Don't expect to be treated with respect. Don't expect to have pest control be your priority. Sales is. Make no mistake. Youre a high pressure sales person first and service provider second.
The management is hopeless, under skilled and selfish.
It's toxic.

But you get a free truck and decent benifits.

If you don't care to take pride in your work and just want average pay this is for you..
Pros
Truck.
Cons
Management, environment the company as a whole
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment rips off customers and staff
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2018
They treat staff poorly once your in for awhile. Constantly undermine workers and are rude. Not a healthy environment for anyone. Management will take other employees worked hours/sales and claim as their own.
Pros
none - except the guys/gals that actually go out they are great
Cons
managment is HORRIBLE
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at your own pace
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2017
Very flexible schedule, opportunity to make excellent money in the summer. The Edmonton branch manager was one of the hardest working individuals I've ever had the opportunity to work for, a fair and understanding guy who went to bat for his employees whenever they needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive seasonal work at the office of abell pest control
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON10 June 2017
I went to work there twice, once over Christmas break and another time over march break. I helped out in the office doing tasks such as filing, organizing papers, photocopying cheques and emailing them to the recipients. I learned how filing cabinets are organized, and how to use the photocopying machine that automatically sends emails. avoiding paper cuts was the hardest part of the job and the most enjoyable was finishing a big stack of paperwork. the workplace culture is focused and productive.
Pros
half an hour lunch
Cons
working alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, understaffed.
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 April 2017
Very long hours on salary.
Frequently asked to cover other routes as they were understaffed.
Provided with a truck to take home and paid training.
Perks: free food from clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a really cool place to work
Technician (Current Employee) –  Vancouver Island, BC22 April 2017
Its a very tight knit community. Great staff, with an even better CEO. I'm super happy with where I am working as a Tech, and lucky to have gotten a job here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a company to work for
Route Manager / Sales (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 March 2017
I have nothing good to say what management tell you at the interview is not what happens no respect what so ever over work you and abuse you pay was not what they would promise you at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very good work place
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 March 2017
was a very good work place. management only cares about the bottom line and not the employees. they will find fault in everything you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Found my calling
Route Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario9 May 2016
I didn't think I'd like Pest Control as much as I do. The company is great, gives back to it's employees a lot and it feels like a family. Some longer hours, some sales pressure, but overall fair for what they're paying us.
Pros
Work truck, company paid benefits, cellphone, flexibility
Cons
Long hours, sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 16Report
Official response from Abell pest control
9 February 2017

Thanks for the review!

Regards,
Sara Cromwell
Human Resources Manager

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Office  (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke3 May 2013
Family owned national company that's been around since 1924. Feels nice not being a number, management actually cares about their employees.
Pros
Benefits, family day, president's club
Cons
As we grow, it's harder to get to know everyone's name
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 26Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingston Ontario20 April 2012
Great and fun to work but the mechanics and some customers were very rude and hard not to let my emotions get the best of me sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 17Report

See more Abell pest control reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Abell pest control. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 14 reviews
55
43
31
20
15

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture