AECOM Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Faceless Corporation
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC18 September 2017
Very large, faceless corporation that seems to have forgotten it's the people underneath management that make it run.
Management is hit or miss; some invest in you while others are too busy trying to keep utilization up.
The culture is quiet; there isn't much ongoing in the way of office socialization so people tend to come in, do their job and go home. Some small groups have formed cliques but it's pretty quiet. Too much socialization is looked down on so it tends to happen outside of the office.
While I wouldn't stay for management, I would stay for the people you work with. While busy and not overly social, you do form friendships and camaraderie with people who make the day enjoyable.
Pros
The people you work with
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disjointed
Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 September 2017
The company grows by acquisitions and as a result the uniformity that it tries to achieve struggles, this is also hampered by the fact that it is a large public company that's main goal is to meet quarterly targets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good work atmoshere
Apprentice Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Ft Mckay12 September 2017
As a whole the company was pretty good. The scaffolding Supers were a little out of their element, but managed pretty well. the crews were great and the work was typical, some slow times and some hair straight back times. The client was pretty easy to get along with and were supportive of the maintence crews
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Laborer/Welder's helper (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB11 September 2017
I worked for AECOM for 6 year and I loved it. The friendly co-workers and foreman make it a great place to learn how to do your job and do it safely. I would have stayed there for life but the shop was starting to close their doors because of lack of work.
Pros
Great people and the work it's self
Cons
Closing of the shop
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very un organized
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB7 September 2017
poor management, way too many apprentices working for the amount of journeyman. poor communication between management and employees. lack of motivation from management and supervisors.
Pros
friendly
Cons
ethics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance.
PROJECT COORDINATOR/ENGINEER-IN-TRAINING (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON6 September 2017
Review of this company is out of date (10 years), I trust things have improved. The staff made it a fun place to work, however, the management and expectations of staff and their time was a disapointment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no progressive work load
Mechanical Engineer I (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON6 September 2017
low work load, sitting idle most of the time.
More training sessions at work than practical work exposure.
not friendly at all. work place politics. communication gap.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Skilled Labourer (Former Employee) –  White City, SK5 September 2017
I've worked on and off for this company many of years.
Wish it was consist as i could stay stable to my family.
Stability and commitment is what a company wants as is what i want.
Thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Project Controls Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 September 2017
Salary/ benefits relatively higher.
Productive workplace.
Modern office space.
In-house training program.
Implement health and safety program.
Nothing more to add
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Quality Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 August 2017
Nice work place with complete amenities, the food and accommodation are fantastic. working environment so awesome.
teamwork and acquaintances highly considerable by the management. The gym complete equipment I enjoy exercise and play ping pong sometimes.
Pros
Food and Accomodation
Cons
Fair Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about AECOM?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still building the AECOM brand
Project Manger (Former Employee) –  Alberta4 August 2017
Good company to work for. I liked my position as a Flint employee. The AECOM transition is still in the building stages and they still need to get a foot hold in the oil and gas sector outside the Flint name.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So far Good !
Payroll Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON30 July 2017
It was good working experience
I learned lots of new skills
Its culture was very good before but now due to job insecurity lots of people moving forward
Pros
flexible timing to start work
Cons
Very long hours to work as salary are based on 8 hours per day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
field work out side
Roustabout/Boiler Crew (Current Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB26 July 2017
Having a work truck was very nice not having to send money on gas to get to the job,just have to put in the time picking up people.
The boss's where all good to work for as well,just do your job and do the job right and know problems.
The pay was very good.
One of the not so good things just long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and safety comes first
Piping Foreman (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB15 July 2017
aecom is one of the company i enjoy working.
the bosses listen to the ideas regarding on how we gonna execute the job if we have some problem regarding on pipe installation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always new tasks to learn and friendly co workers.
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB14 July 2017
At Aecom typical day start at 8:00 A.M. with staff meeting. After that working on daily tasks with half an hour lunch break and i finished at 16:30.
I have gained experience for Accounts receivable, Accounts payable and other accounting tasks. I also gained friendship for great co workers.
Management was great, helping and always motivating.
Workplace culture was very safty orientated and safty concious.
The hardest part of the job when i do not have anything to work on.
The most enjoyable part when you get appriciation on doing a good job.
Pros
Weekly safety meetings
Cons
Improvements needed in IT helpdesk.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AECOM is a dynamic and challenging place to work.
Area Business Unit Lead, Buildings, Western Canada (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK13 July 2017
AECOM is a large company that can, and does, provide challenging work. Change is a normal part of the work experience there. The team atmosphere provides ample opportunity to work with, and learn from, excellent people.
Pros
Always challenged to improve and grow the business.
Cons
Support services need to be more responsive to operational team requirements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labourer/ pipe fitter
Pipefitter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  grande prairie12 July 2017
great pay

good bosses

great hrs

weekly pay

good benefits

supply all PPE

really enjoyed working for aecom. was making 7000$ every 3 weeks. they are not shy with money nor are they cheap. very few companies like this left.
Pros
money
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphère, strong expertise in railway infrastructure
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 July 2017
Exceeds overall capabilities of competitors.

Other departments and disciplines used to complément railway expertise when required.

Very good distribution of expertise throughout NA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Workface Planning Lead (Former Employee) –  Alberta8 July 2017
Very experienced on the business they do. A culture of hardworking and dedicated personnel for CEO to the workers. Respect is big thing for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Electrician Apprentice (Commercial) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 June 2017
Pretty typical, large company. Lots of hours sometimes and less others. Big on safety. Met some really great people there. Sometimes there were opportunities to learn new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AECOM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,184 reviews
5968
41K
3709
2253
1217

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture