A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC21 September 2018
It was an interesting and new experience which I loved. The team members were very entertaining and kind to work with as well. When busy everyone worked really hard which is always good to see.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great being a part of a team
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE20 September 2018
Great management, staff. Everything is well structured in terms of a daily shift, where people are working in the areas assigned, scheduling was very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hanna, AB19 September 2018
Typical day at work greeting customers taking orders
I learned to work in a busy store
management all good
Hardest part of the job is when its busy
Enjoy part of the job is when its not busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most enjoyment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC19 September 2018
Getting to know regular guests and forming a fun work environment with other staff and guests. once you work with some people for so long they really become like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not equal and fair treatment
Supervisor/Cook/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 September 2018
Management hires staff that are too lazy to do their jobs and let the others do everything for them. Even though they know they are doing nothing they keep them working there because they are either related or they like that person. It isn't fair to the others that are working hard everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON18 September 2018
Safe environment with enjoyable people and a bright setting.

Manager would point fingers in front of the customer instead of talking to them after they customer has left.

The hardest part was handling fast pace situation such as rush hour while dealing with upset customers but that was how I learned to work quick but efficient and help keep everyone together under pressure.

Most enjoyable was the people I worked wit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Frontline Staff (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 September 2018
Productive and fun workplace. We work as a team. Respect for each others culture and religion. Always see our mistake as a learning tool and praise each others success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
agréable
Caissière, Cuisinière, Gérante (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 September 2018
super expérience bonnes conditions de travail bon horaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 September 2018
In a new location with very little safety regard, it was a great location and could have so much potential. Maybe it made changed by now, but when I went it was anything but an enjoyable job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but not great.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC14 September 2018
Personally my experience working at A&W was not the best.
Maybe it was a one off and hopefully there are better ones.
The management team was not great and I faced a lot of difficulties which I feel could have been handled better.
Pros
free meal
Cons
uneven management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about A&W Restaurants?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A&w
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC12 September 2018
Overall was a great learning experience, and a great environment to work in.
A&W has amazing customer service and go the extra mile for all their customers. I enjoyed being apart of their team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun working on there
Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 September 2018
great workers
great teammates.
best friends
having fun with the friends was the best park but when i work over time was the hard time to work, i learner how to communicate with the others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Armstrong, BC10 September 2018
Management was great and I enjoyed all the people I worked with at the time. When you worked there you could basically set your own hours, to a point though. Managers were pretty lenient and were understanding of school
Pros
good hours
Cons
fast food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need to focus on people training
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB10 September 2018
training ground for starter . needs to give employees room for career growth and training. Workload seems overwhelming at times.
Needs to review career path for employees
Pros
free meal
Cons
streesful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job, nice people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON10 September 2018
Safe environment with enjoyable people and a bright setting.

Manager would point fingers in front of the customer instead of talking to them after they customer has left.

The hardest part was handling fast pace situation such as rush hour while dealing with upset customers but that was how I learned to work quick but efficient and help keep everyone together under pressure.

Most enjoyable was the people I worked with.
Pros
Sometimes if you did well, the managers would give free food
Cons
Lots of pressure during rush hour which may resulting in miscommunication and upset people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Cook (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON10 September 2018
Unfriendly staff, bad overall workplace, managers give shifts depending rather they like you or not. Boss fires people for being sick with contagious diseases.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Productive Workplace
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK8 September 2018
My time at A&W was short but also needed. I was a hard worker, even when the restaurant wasn't busy. I learned a lot while working here, like how to be more efficient and work faster.

It was usually busy during the day and more calm at night. I would bag food and serve customers, while also cleaning the tables and changing the garbage.

I didn't get fired, I quit because of personal reasons.
Pros
Free drinks and 50% off of a meal
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard at time but it can be fun
Cook/trainer (Current Employee) –  Vulcan, AB7 September 2018
the hardest part of the job is summer when it can get very busy and not enough staff, and working with so many teenagers can be a challenge but also a benefit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude and uncaring managers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 September 2018
Having worked in a Hamilton store for several years, balancing school and work has never been an issue until now. The managers that now work in the store that I left don’t care about the work/life balance and would rather fire a long term employee then work with them.
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
Lack of respect and uncaring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude co workers
A&W Cashier (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON6 September 2018
Unbelievably rude and offensive co-workers. Other than that the work place is clean and organized. Customers are nice and friendly. Manager at the time was also respectful and friendly.
Cons
Rude environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at A&W Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,979 reviews
5529
4624
3517
2182
1127

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture