A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Fast Food Worker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 May 2018
great place to work. Employees and employer is great. Good work environment. Clean and positive environment to work in. Great customers and good food.
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
Very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good begginer jog
worker (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON21 May 2018
was my first job and they taught me many valuable skills. I learned good work ethic and how to get along with others. over all a great first job experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivee workplace
Trainer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL21 May 2018
I love the people I work with, they make the workplace fun without any drama.

They are filled with so much energy which keeps the work going.
Although we disagree sometimes, wee never break the team.
Pros
50% staff meal discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC19 May 2018
I enjoyed working here as a highschool job, but full time, daytime work is a little bit rough, with volume and understaffing. lots of friendly coworkers, though sometimes stress interfered with friendships.
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had a few bad apples in the mix but always fun
Chef/Cook (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK18 May 2018
i started working at A&W when i was 16, i started with short 3 hour shifts and advanced quickly to kitchen closer and trainer, my duties involved cleaning the kitchen spotless for the next day while cooking food and taking orders occasionally as well. if needed i was able to look to management for help and i was even scouted for a management position as well, but i soon left for greater things in life. high points for me were the conversations id have with customers as well as the staff id work with, low points would've been talking to the people id have to ask to leave or the HUGE sales wed have where id be working by myself all night, making all food and cleaning EVERYTHING in the kitchen by myself!!!!
Pros
great team
Cons
always understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Growing
Manager, Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 May 2018
I learned how to be responsible and work with different people with different personalities. It made me more patient and I learned a lot about myself and how to communicate with other people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun work environment
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  West Edmonton Mall, AB16 May 2018
One of the best managed restaurants in West Edmonton mall. The crew works their best to deliver food blazingly fast. The kitchen is mainted in excellent condition and food is definitely prepared with care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON16 May 2018
Fun place to work, fast pace but learned how to multitask and do a lot of things at once and take on a lot. Learned great communication skills and dealt with hard customers and great customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON15 May 2018
The environment is always welcoming. I find that the management staff from both the upper levels and at the restaurant I work at personally are very caring and just want to give the best service possible.
I have worked there for multiple years now, and have enjoyed every moment of it. The management staff are very flexible with hours as I have been going to school the whole time while working at this workplace.
Pros
Flexible hours, cheap meals for staff, friendly and fun work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ennuyeux
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QC15 May 2018
Pour une caissière, une journée se résume à seulement faire de la caisse,servir les commandes aux tables, mettre la vaisselle utilisée dans le lave-vaisselle et parfois, faire des chaussons. Mis à part, offrir un bon service, j'ai rien appris de plus.
Pros
50% sur la nourriture
Cons
Supérieur qui fait des avances
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional Shift Leaders
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB14 May 2018
Shift leaders are more worried about keeping friends on staff than building a strong team. Employees are judged on ability to fit in with the clique rather than their ability to do the job.
Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a first job
Front Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC14 May 2018
This was the first job I had, and it met all my basic expectations. It provided me with a great learning opportunity and allowed me to develop some very important skills that are still relevant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a&w worklife
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 May 2018
A typical day at work is stressful with the management.
The most enjoyable part about my job is the regular customers I get.
The hardest part is the lack of team work
Pros
30% off food.
Cons
I dont get good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the customer service aspects
Rd-cashier/drive (Former Employee) –  Tecumseh, ON12 May 2018
was close to home, needed a job and payed the bills, loved working with the customers and co-workers, learned a lot about whmis hands on and how to cook in the kitchen,had great hands on money experience
Pros
discounted lunches, close to home
Cons
poor management but an amazing learning lesson
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent first job, not ideal past that, however.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON12 May 2018
Many personal skills I have developed have come from my time at A&W. An excellent first job, however, it is very one dimensional and can get very monotonous. Excellent company with a great product, management at my location was not very friendly, however, and was more concerned with revenue than the experience and safety of their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and challenging job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vermilion, AB10 May 2018
A&W was an amazing place to work, with great people and plenty of opportunity for advancement. It was a fast-paced job, with very few quiet moments, but it taught me the benefits of good time-management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Train staff in job duties (Current Employee) –  Grand Forks, BC10 May 2018
Can't say much about it.Management is good.No health benefits until now.Every other employee got but not me.Somewhere management is partial.OVerall not satisfied
Pros
40%meal on working hours
Cons
no health benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Supervisor trainee (Former Employee) –  Tisdale, SK10 May 2018
The workplace that I was at was fairly good place to work as it was constantly growing and the staff was constantly learning. The manager is always improving his staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive , best part is knowing the taste of customer
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC7 May 2018
i love working on customer service job, get opportunity to learn more about peoples taste in a market and how to manage if complaint comes in .

For most the people its hard part of the job but i love to handle mad customers which allows me to learn more about the psychology of customers mind .
Helping customers makes me smile and happy .
customer satistaion for me is obtaing something special in life .
Pros
getting customer experience
Cons
getting customer experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Food
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB7 May 2018
It is boring and not a safe place to work. The management is mediocre and the safety practices is non-existent. If you have a choice between an actual job and a&w pick the real job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at A&W Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,820 reviews
5488
4587
3462
2168
1115

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture