A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier Customer Service and Cook (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK19 July 2018
busy sometimes
staff very understanding
everyone was nice
there was no tension at work
not fairly judged
there were few to none arguments
managers and supervisors very nice
Pros
staff discount
Cons
Heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
FOH Team Member (Former Employee) –  Greater Napanee, ON19 July 2018
The people I worked with during my time at A&W were fun, outgoing, upbeat people. Just a nice environment to work in. The customers were very nice. Got to know a lot of them personally.
Pros
50% meals
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work got to practice good customer service
Cashier and Food service attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2018
my first job i had a great time, i got to learn so many things and became good at multi tasking and being effective and efficient. I got to practice food handling and safety rules and skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 July 2018
Lack of guidance or organization by management as most of them are way too young also they are not trustworthy to go to in need of crisis, climate needs to be a lot more improved even thought nobody even uses it as model to learn and improve your work ethics.It does pay well as you get raises every 6 months depending on your review as well, as working with pleasant people whom are team member, team leader and supervisor.
Pros
Pay raise every 6 months, 50 % off meals for day and free meals on overnight, pleasant people
Cons
poor management, disorganized, climate meetings that are pointless as nothing ever changes..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work friendly staff and helpful staff
Customer Service-Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB13 July 2018
the days went fast as long as we kept busy,
i learned that everyone is different and has personal preferences.
managment was structured and organized.
the workplace culture was easy going friendly and you could be yourself at that workplace.
the hardest part of my job was working all night with 2 other people who didnt help clean up in the restaurant it was a one man show and i didnt like it was paranoid of people driving by staring or lookin in restaurant.
the most part of the job i liked was the tips friendly customers and meeting new people in the community.
Pros
good pay good training
Cons
not enough hours in a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at A&W was my first and longest job experience
A&W Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 July 2018
This particular job was not hard in my opinion, the work was fairly easy but the management and communication needed much improvement, and the lack of management needed improvement and never improved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall average
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON11 July 2018
The job was good for part time students but during my time there I had seen many adults coming in trying to make a living with the job but it is not possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC11 July 2018
This job made me rush ready all the time. I need to be alert and always on time. Its a fast phased job so everything should be aligned and everything should be ready in busy times. Diversity is good in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at A&W
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC11 July 2018
A typical day at work was getting up and getting excited to go to work and see all the regulars that came into the restaurant. I learned how to do the drive thru, cash register, and how to talk to customers. It was a very enjoyable job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Parksville, BC10 July 2018
Its a decent place to work. They'll hire you and have you starting instantly if you wish. A&W gives you such flexibility, which is really awesome, you can literally pick your hours. I find the staff and even management talk behind other employees backs and try to get other employees to talk bad about their coworkers. I worked there for a year and a half, was a great, hard worker and only got a 20 cent raise. Overall, its not a bad job just not a good job and not very enjoyable.
Pros
50% off, flexible hours
Cons
staff, bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect des heures de disponibilitées
Cuisinière (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 July 2018
Mon problème c'est plus les heures de travaille, je donne mes disponibiltés ils sont pas capable de les respecter.

Le travail d'équipe et les rabais repas sont les seuls chose que j'aime bien dans ce fast-food.

Le manager n'est pas capable de me donner les heures de mon choix.
Pros
Collègues de travail et rabais repas.
Cons
Management médiocre
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy location
kitcken cook (Current Employee) –  Sylvan Lake, AB10 July 2018
A&W is always very busy and they seem to never have enough staff. Always seem to be scrambling to get things done and serve customers. although they are still timely it puts a toll on the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bland
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 July 2018
My time at A&W wasnt the best, the food was amazing but the staff was very toxic towards eachother and felt as if no one respected one another. I did however enjoy certain staff members, they made my time enjoyable.
Pros
Discounts on food
Cons
Toxic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work and it always felt like a second home to me
Supervisor/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC9 July 2018
I love to work here and the people were amazing to work with as well. I made so many friends within the company that now they just seem like family to me. Although at times it can get busy and stressful but what job doesn't.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice environment
Dishwasher/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 July 2018
All of the employees gave off a good and friendly vibe during my experience. Everyone knew and was supportive of everyone else. No one stayed to themselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 July 2018
Great and Friendly Work force. They train you before you work and they take time to listen and help you out if need it. Great team work from the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co-workers
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB7 July 2018
I liked working here for the most part . They do have a lot of people who like to call in a lot though. Good if you like picking up extra shifts , and if you like working with a younger crowd
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with good employees.
Crew Trainer (Current Employee) –  Welland, ON6 July 2018
Management wasn't always as professional as they could have been.
Good learning experience.
Very professional owners.
Employees were good at compremising.
Pros
Food deals while working.
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Virden, MB5 July 2018
this A&W was a good place to work at the time. the manager was good and easy to talk to/work with. the other employees were friendly and worked as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best A&W in the West End
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2018
Worked as a team to delivery perfect food blazingly fast. The owner and manager is an excellent boss and mentor while the team is a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at A&W Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,895 reviews
5506
4608
3484
2177
1120

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture