더샘 Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 30 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work at if you are into Asian skincare and beauty products
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON21 June 2018
a typical weekday shift can have slow traffic and often the job consisted of arranging and cleaning the products. The weekends can get pretty busy and mostly consists of assisting customers in recommending the proper products for their specific needs. The management and hours is pretty flexible. The workplace is calm and casual as well so its not very stressful. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to experiment with new trends and skincare technology before the products are released into the market as well as sharing my knowledge regarding skincare and makeup with customers. The hardest part of the jobs would be the slow traffic days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, not good $$
Sales/Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 May 2018
I loved working for the face shop. I learned so much about skin and was able to sell products according to my knowledge. The hardest part of the job was being inside Chinook mall. The general population is rude and pushy when walking through the halls, but once you got inside the store its fairly small and quiet, making it a bit easier to talk with your client or fellow employees.

When you are hired they tell you it's seasonal so unfortunately most people don't stay very long and the pay will not be above minimum wage.
Pros
fun
Cons
not good money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management, work enviroment
Full-time Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 March 2018
no employee benefits, over working staff, inaccurate pay checks.
I had to work more than I needed to, with no overtime pay. The corporate did not seem to know what they were doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible head office management
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON25 January 2018
If you want to work at a place where head office will treat you like your a servant then this is the place for you. If not run far away. The head office will bark orders and snap there fingers like your a dog. Yes you work in a business and at the end of the day your there to make the company money but you are treated as if you are absolutely worthless.
Pros
Non
Cons
Rude upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent team work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Tsawwassen, BC23 January 2018
worked with people who belong from different cultures and built a strong leadership quality and excellent team work.The management is highly communicable and easy to reach and in addition to this we all made a comfortable atmosphere at our work providing excellent customer service.
Pros
employee discount
Cons
less staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Experience
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON25 December 2017
They had no flexibility, poor management, under kept facilities, and they are consistently hiring new people. Left due to completely inappropriate behaviour.
Pros
I loved selling the products
Cons
entire work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Products but Horrible Upper Management
Full time-Assistant Manger/Manger (Former Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC28 November 2017
They are only for asian culture and customers... They expect the world with no help from upper management and a lot come out of your own pocket. you do get a great employee discount but it not worth the pain you have to deal with them..
Pros
Great Products
Cons
Not enough pay/ upper management asks for too much
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too competitive
Beauty Adviser (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 October 2017
Too competitive. If you are someone who enjoys competitions than you will enjoy this job. A little hard to manage school and life but in general it's not bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I met amazing people but the management is terrible
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC1 October 2017
I met people that i COULD CONSIDERER FRIENDS FOR LIFE BUT HT EHEAD OFFICE AND MANAGEMENT ARE TERRIBLE! The schedules were always out 2 days before your shifts, so unorganized...
Pros
Free products, nice team
Cons
Schedule out late, management so bad, head office give crazy targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great international work place.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 March 2017
I've learnt how to manage the store from the Faceshop with highly responsible attitude. I love communicate with customers if they laugh that will make my day.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Less training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON20 March 2017
Loved the working environment and you get to learn a lot about the products and can also bring home some samples. Although it's commissioned but theres not too much preassure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work because of coworkers, job itself is very boring
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 January 2017
TFS is overall a wonderful place to work - my coworkers all get along with myself and with each other, the company provides many bonuses and perks in the form of gifts/gratis, and the management is very good. I have learned quite a lot about skincare and the natural ingredients that are put into The Face Shop's products, and have a deeper understanding now of the skin and its behaviour, compared to before my employment with this company. My only complaint is that when it's slow, it's SLOW. Time seems to go crawling by and honestly, you can only clean a shelf so many times before you go insane.
Pros
Workplace dynamic, acquiring knowledge
Cons
Long hours on your feet, slow days are dreadful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pressure working
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 January 2017
Pros
great benefits
amazing people who work with you
gets to interact and build nice relationships with customers
Cons
head office does not care about you, just your sales
high pressure working
high sales goal, which are sometimes impossible
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB14 November 2016
Working at the Face Shop, I was able to sell more than $10,500 worth of products in a single month. This made me the top seller for the company in Canada, a position to which I remained until I had departed. Through this, staff would learn through my actions on how to sell, so as a team we had brought up our sales tremendously that our store became the top selling store in Canada. Once again, we had remained on top even after a few months I had departed. I was also given the task by my manager to decipher in other locations why sales are low within the store. If it meant training them, then I am there to train them on how to sell, so the team and I would bring up the sales together. So, it isn't done as an individual, but as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun great nice funny people to work with and u learn new things every day
Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 February 2016
i really like this job i makes you learn so much about you self and ur skin since i have been working here i now know what my skin ton is like and what to use and what not to use wish is fine by me and Im able to help others feel goof about them self in and out as well
Pros
u get break but u don't get pay for it
Cons
40 hours a week but no over time just when they need help with stock
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Beauty Consultant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 October 2015
good pay, flexible hours, coworkers including managers are nice (keep in mind, all of these would rely heavily on which location you work)
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee) –  toronto, ON13 October 2015
It was a great experience for me, it was in my interest so i enjoyed learning and helping customers.
The employees were nice and welcoming. Overall a great, comfortable environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON5 February 2015
A typical day of work at The Face Shop was introducing people to a new and foreign brand and helping them figure out what products are best for them. Despite being there for only a month as a seasonal sales associate, I learned a lot of things such as how to figure out what skin type someone was, how certain ingredients in our product would help which issues they were having with their skin, how to apply makeup, etc.
My manager was fantastic. She did a great job of keeping the store and its employees happy and organised.
My co-workers were all very friendly and did very well at their jobs. Everyone had different talents which helped them excel.
The hardest part of my job at first was memorizing all the product. A lot of the descriptions on the product were written in Korean, so I would take the information binder home for the first week and study it every night.
The most enjoyable part of the job for me was making connections with the customers and helping them find something that they enjoy using. It always felt great to know I was able to help them.
Pros
Great environment, helpful employees, thorough training, flexible schedule, discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report

See more 더샘 reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at 더샘. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 30 reviews
510
412
33
22
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture