Find companies:
Zurich North America
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
173 reviews

Zurich North America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Global Corporation
Tax Specialist (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILJune 17, 2013
A typical day at work is a matter of priorities:
Compliance requirements are first priority.
Replying to notices or audits.
Work with counsel for specific audits in court.
Monthly accounting and account true-ups
Manage staff, prepare procedures, and review work.
The most enjoyable part of my job is being in a global corporations with a variety of people, – more... training, and activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, treated well, great place to work
CCR III (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJune 17, 2013
Pros: treated with respect
Cons: strict polocies
I would recommend this company to anyone, fantastic place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Worst Place to Work in my 45 year insurance career
Senior Sales Executive (Former Employee), Northern New EnglandJune 17, 2013
Pros: company car
Cons: they will work you to death and cast you aside
Unrealistic production demands based upon a "national growth strategy" with no considerations to regional market conditions.
There is a poor work/life balance and expect to put in 70 to 80 hour weeks traveling, managing submissions and renewals, and dealing with screw-ups from the underwriting folks. Management will stab you in the back any chance they – more... get.
Recently, the company has gone through several distribution changes with a large segment of their "aftermarket" operation sold to a national agency group.
The dealer segment is no longer the recognized leader in the industry because of poor service and poor pricing.
In 2006, a management group of Universal Underwriters (the old company) attempted to take the company private from Zurich and failed. Zurich, not being the most forgiving company, thereafter put UUG on their hit list and things have never been the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits!
Secretary (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 29, 2013
Pros: opportunities to continue to learn and grow both in the company and personally.
Cons: never able to leave the desk.
My entire day was jammed packed with a varied of tasks, both regular daily tasks and surprise tasks. There were many changes, both in direct management and responsibilities. Although my co-workers already had their "clicks" and were well acquainted with each other, I don't believe I had a problem wiggling in. The hardest part of the job was the "jammed – more... packed tasks." As such, I had very little time away from my desk or interacting with people. I felt very isolated. The most enjoyable part of my job was the amount of things I felt like I accomplished. I believe that I learned a lot about "corporate" life and dealing with people in difficult situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work hours and competitive benefits.
Rate Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 29, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours.
Cons: lunch/breaks.
Rating all commercial lines of business including endorsements, new business, renewal and cancellation transactions. Years of experience opened the door for the opportunity to be cross trained as an underwriting assistant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent, belittling HR management
HR Services (Former Employee), SchaumburgMay 28, 2013
Pros: location, some benefits (not medical)
Cons: poor management, specifically hr; culture is non motivating
Talk about a messed up HR department! The leaders (heads) who have no HR background, belittle employees to make them feel like dumb, and turnover that makes a McDonald’s turnover look amazing. Constant yelling, excessive use of profanity, and lack of being able to run basic HR functions, like payroll and recruiting. You’ll be asked to do unethical things, – more... just tossed excessive work, and given no explanation of what is expected. Perhaps one day, this organization will learn about their poorly functioning departments instead of sweeping it under the rug. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Horrible Recruiting Department in Schaumburg, IL
Recruiter (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILMay 9, 2013
Pros: worst managers
Cons: the company itself is great to work for.
This department is poorly managed. Turn over is high and the overall work environment is very negative. The two managers running the department bully and talk poorly about their employees to other staff members. It was just an awful experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place striving for Exellence daily
CCP 1 (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COApril 30, 2013
Pros: the people, culture, experience
Cons: commute, they are located on the north side of colorado springs
I really liked working here. A typical day in the Zurich Care Center is processing claims into our database for the adjusters to handle. Management is always there for you, and willing to help you grow into a better employee. The co-workers here are all very friendly and helpful. I would say everything about the Care Center is enjoyable, from the people – more... to the work. I really like coming to work and helping customers with their issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competent management needed
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 29, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: low morale; management
I was very disappointed in the management team in the office. It seems that the focus is numbers only; not making sure that ALL the employees are happy and not just a select few; and the select got what they wanted and left.
Higher level adjusters have resigned because the work load is so heavy which leaves other adjusters vulnerable and have to shoulder – more... the blame for decisions both upper and middle management have made. The brokers are allowed too much input in claims activity and Zurich will not back its employees. We had really good employees and management ran them away to the point of a skeleton crew. If you want to have the proper tools to do your job and learn at the same time, Zurich is not the place. They promise the moon but do not deliver. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for advancement
Assistant Vice President - Branch Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 22, 2013
Employs talented and hard working people. Developing more of a regional employment approach in recent years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about collections and insurance
Collections Representative (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILApril 9, 2013
a typical day at work was collecting on pastdue items and handling any discrepancies and disputes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Experience
Claim Shared Services (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 5, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: terrible management, office politics, no room for advancement
Very unprofessional and uneducated manager. She can barely speak English and plays favorites in the office. A typical day of work involves wondering what to do because she doesn't clearly explain what kind of work you are supposed to do, what are your expectations, and how to do the job right. I can't understand how they can have a manager in place – more... who barely speaks English and its not a leader. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Account Representative II (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILApril 2, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Enjoy working. Had to leave due to downsizing. Missed the good benefits and have not found a company that matches it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very disorganized
Senior Underwriter (Former Employee), Zürich, ZHMarch 26, 2013
Cons: they were not ready to set up our team
They were attempting to set up a professional liability team in Texas, but they were not ready to deploy their product in an effective way. Therefore we only wrote very few policies and felt it was a waste of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to work
MSE Team Lead (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSMarch 6, 2013
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: none really
One of the best places you could ever work. The energy is always positive and everybody is always friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Although there is a lot flexibility, overall very poor company to work fo
Claim Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 5, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: benefits, management inept, unorganized
The Atlanta office is very unorganized. The turnover is very high. Level 2 reps leave the company only to be replaced with trainees. All of the experienced management staff have all resigned and new inept managers are in place. Initially, I believed it was just the Atlanta office that lacked leadership. However, I have come to know it is company wide. – more... This large company operates like a small nonstandard company with about ten employees. Benefits are horrible. Company is self insured so they are trying the keep the expenses low. If you are offered a position, run don't walk in the opposite direction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization where you can sharpen your financial skills
Business Intern (Former Employee), Hong Kong, HKIFebruary 25, 2013
Do not know well because I worked in Asia. Great organization where you can sharpen your financial skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as previous
Property Claims Specialist II (Former Employee), Colorado SpringsFebruary 18, 2013
Same as previous review i have already posted, must be an error in the system? Good company, lower pay, always looking to cut costs, but not untypical.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast-paced environment, working with brokers, account executive, and insured's
Governance Performance Analyst (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: employee benefits- global industry
Cons: healthcare
Never a typical day in the role of a Governance Analyst. Work closely with outsourced team in India and Poland through reporting, emails, and weekly conference calls.
Great co-workers
The ability to create, assist, and resolve are the most enjoyable aspects of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my career with Zurich NA
WC Senior Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, Ga.February 11, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: unable to socialize with vendors
Begins at 7:00am
Updates on WC Laws
Micro-management
Great co-workers
Balancing work and home life
Resolving Claims

About Zurich North America

Zurich Insurance Group (Zurich) is a leading multi-line insurance provider with a global network of subsidiaries and offices in – Read more

Zurich North America Photos