Find companies:
Zurich North America
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
187 reviews

Zurich North America Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweat Shop
Claims (Former Employee), Addison, TXNovember 7, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: everything else
The worst organization I've worked for. The office culture was unbelievablely unprofessional.
The client was not properly serviced and management spent more time and effort performance managing employees rather than training and development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a TERRIFIC place to work years ago; it was the best place I ever worked!!
Employee (Former Employee), Edina, MNOctober 29, 2013
Not sure what the organization is like currently, have heard mixed reviews.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Account Analyst (Former Employee), Zürich, ZHOctober 27, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: being micro manged
I worked with a great team who was very focused on meeting our goals. Before I left, we were no longer compensated for meeting goals due to changes in management. You were also compared to others in your dept and their skill set and expected to be the same type of performer. I love it when you are recognized for the differences that you bring to the – more... team.
What I learned in this department was that management styles can make a world of difference to a team. My co-workers were hard working individuals. Most of which, had a team spirit. Others loved to point out the faults of others. The hardest part of this job was dealing with some, not so pleasant, personalities. The most enjoyable part was coming to a point in my life and knowing that I was no longer moving in the direction that the company was going feeling a peace of mind about moving on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has great benefits
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 26, 2013
Zurich has great benefits.
N/A
Exciting opportunities
Great Employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Phone Days
Customer Care Professional I (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 21, 2013
Pros: not getting the same answer from everyone
Cons: healthcare and benefits
If you like working in call centers this is probably one of the best ones, you don't have to deal with to many rude customers but you do deal with death every once in a while in a GL, Auto or WC claim. The training is not up to par though I thought I could have used a little more training because once you are on the floor its hard to get your questions – more... answered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable great working team with Global Relationship Leaders
Administrative Assistant/Contractor (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 20, 2013
Pros: fun work invironment
Cons: was a contractor
Productive
RCT Database
n/a
Challenging
n/a
New projects

Was looking for a long term relationship to build within Zurich but CFO of the department relocated to another Country which was not an opportunity for me to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor staffing, poor working conditions, and non responsive mgt
claim professionaal (Former Employee), Addison, TXOctober 20, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: staffing, poor work conditions, management lack of control of the operation
this place was a zoo. employees called on an anonymous hotlne daily to report the most ridiculous things i have ever heard. hr was reactive. the local hr manager was judgmental, partial, reactionary, and made subjective rulings based upon personal processes. the avp refused to be proactive and allowed the office to sink to a low level. finally bold – more... employees reported horrible work conditions, poor staffing, and unbearable work conditions to local agents which lead to the ceo being called on the carpet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was contracted work and work was not always plentiful.
Boiler Inspector (Former Employee), New England areaOctober 14, 2013
Pros: working from home
Cons: the software was new and not always correct.
I travel via automobile within the New England area.I worked from my home which was very convenient and enjoyable. The hardest part of the job was that the equipment I inspected was not always up to date on the national software. This added extra work and challenge to the job. The management was very pleasant and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow your career.
Underwriting Support Supervisor (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILOctober 10, 2013
Pros: growth potential, balanced work life, great benifits
Management is a top priority and they understand the necessity of quality leadership and results it brings out through their employees. I truly enjoyed going to work everyday. My position had deadlines and quarterly numbers to hit. Yes it was stressful and taxing but I knew we could get the work done as a team.

Zurich is very proactive in growing and – more... retaining their employees, they genuinely care. They are flexible with employees especially working mothers. Zurich gets involved with the communities around them, and have 5 core charities they work with and support, with the help and enthusiasm of their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Would pass....it will require all of your life...dont plan a vacation
Risk engineering/Account Cooordination (Former Employee), Spokane, WAOctober 7, 2013
Pros: pay is ok
Cons: computer software, regional management, executive management, production plans, budgets..etc
I would go off but there are so many that have stated exactly what I would have written...its truly sad....but makes me feel so much better. As I tried to explain to management while trying to accomplish impossible tasks in unreasonable time frames, I see that other employees from the same branch I was employed and many others had the same remarks.....management – more... made me feel like I was the problem and basically bullied me into quitting. I also was harrassed while employed there...chose to say nothing as it would have only made things worse...and HR rarely would do anything about anything in the first place.....I would take it off my list of prospective empolyers unless complicated inefficient systems, whacked production plans and mass chaos are your thing...and plan on working well over 40 hours in a week.....you will have to in order to even come close to the production expectation – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and just a great place to work at.
Claims Assistant (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 3, 2013
Pros: getting to meet with our clients and hearing great things we have done for them.
Cons: sometimes can be very busy, and not much time meeting with co workers to help each other out with issues they may have.
Everyone is smiling and happy, management is great, they listen and help you grow into something bigger and better. They want all to succeed in their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a strong company with good key values
Senior Risk Engineering Consultant (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILOctober 1, 2013
Pros: co-workers in construction risk engineering
Cons: disconnect between upper level corporate and boots on the ground
My position was fairly autonomous, and involved a great deal of travel throughout New England and across the country. Primary focus was construction safety, a very small subset of the over 55k employee company.

The company had strong values at a corporate level, but appeared to change direction at a mid level management range every 18-24 months or – more... so. Some changes, such as titles, were easier to adapt to, others, such as data management processes, were more difficult. Primary difficulty came from "knowing" (longer tenured employees would say "wait, it will change again") that highly touted changes were likely to be fleeting in the scheme of things.

Most co-workers were great to work with, extremely experienced, and committed to construction safety. You always knew what you were going to get - these folks wore their hearts on their sleeves, and typically became friends - they made Zurich (Construction Risk Engineering) a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for customer service , mailroom
Senior Lead Customer Service (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 27, 2013
Greeting in a professional customer service manner as customers enter store facility
• •Selling a quantity of sprint long distance to new and existing customers through out
• Guiding customer through different choices of cell phone selection
• Keeping and maintaining best customer service skills , giving the customer the satisfaction they need
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working for ZNA.
Accounting Temporary (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILSeptember 25, 2013
This was a temporary assignment which was originally supposed to last a few weeks, but they kept me for almost a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
,,,,
Insurance Assistant / Customer service agent (Former Employee), dubaiSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: great environement
Cons: long hours
Amazing experience
.............................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, Caring Management
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 19, 2013
I loved my job and would still be working there if our contract had not been sold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked this job a lot. I learned a lot there
Comercial Rater II (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSSeptember 19, 2013
I issued new business, renewals & endorsements for commercial insurance policies for every state
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits were never an issue as this was a temporary assignment
Underwriting Technician (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: supervisor and colleagues were team players
Cons: this was a 2-year temporary job via agency; no benefits
I had to play "catch-up" for a new branch of Zurich North America: Environmental Insurance. The team I had been assigned to (via Spherion) had relocated from Atlanta to establish the Boston branch. I used my skills from previous assignments to reconcile their database of applicants for insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance Company
Recruiting Operations Manager (Former Employee), ILSeptember 5, 2013
Insurance Company along with financial services. IL is NA headquarters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILSeptember 1, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is the opportunity to work with Senior Staff

About Zurich North America

Zurich Insurance Group (Zurich) is a leading multi-line insurance provider with a global network of subsidiaries and offices in – Read more

Zurich North America Photos