Find companies:
Zurich North America
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
149 reviews

Zurich North America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits were never an issue as this was a temporary assignment
Underwriting Technician (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: supervisor and colleagues were team players
Cons: this was a 2-year temporary job via agency; no benefits
I had to play "catch-up" for a new branch of Zurich North America: Environmental Insurance. The team I had been assigned to (via Spherion) had relocated from Atlanta to establish the Boston branch. I used my skills from previous assignments to reconcile their database of applicants for insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance Company
Recruiting Operations Manager (Former Employee), ILSeptember 5, 2013
Insurance Company along with financial services. IL is NA headquarters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILSeptember 1, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is the opportunity to work with Senior Staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company that needs better leadership and improved management
Risk Engineer (Former Employee), Los AngelesAugust 31, 2013
Pros: big company, large and diverse client network, international business
Cons: financial stress, poor morale, high turnover, complex and inefficient computer systems
The recent suicide of the CFO and resignation of a board member has brought to light the tense environment that many employees have to endure while working at this company. High turnover and low morale have been prevalent over the last year as Zurich tries to make its numbers not to mention inefficient and complex data systems. Hopefully, the company – more... can improve its management culture and attract quality people in the near future. Financial lookout for this year is mixed as Zurich did not meet its financial goals with a drop in income. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managenment.
Tax Accountant (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILAugust 27, 2013
Flexible working hours. Great benefits; Medical, dental, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with lots of perks.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 27, 2013
Great company to work for. Lots of perks for employees such as sponsored 1 Jaguar game yearly, Christmas bonuses and yearly honey bake ham. Great benefits with generous PTO time. Department book of business sold to Farmers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellet place to work.
Commercial General Liability Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJAugust 19, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: work / life balance is difficult
The company was wonderful. I worked for a subsidiary, Universal Underwriters and eventually for Zurich North America. The time is was there the company, the managers, and my co-workers were all excellent. If you have expectations to learn and grow it can be done. The benefits are fantastic, management and upper management all wanted the employees to – more... succeed, but you have to put the time in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just like it!
Personal Financial Planner Intern (Former Employee), Hong Kong, HKIAugust 14, 2013
very strong and professional management team
co-workers are friendly
a enjoyable working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional environment many advancements
Cash Flow Specialist II (Former Employee), Schaumburg, IllinoisAugust 14, 2013
Pros: stips annually, open door policy with management, invaluable relationships
Cons: outsourcing of employment
A typical day at Zurich is never typical. There are always deadlines to be met, which made the job challenging. Zurich offers a variety of opportunities to think on you feet. While working at Zurich I learned an invaluable amount about the Insurance and Finance Industry how in some ways they are one. I also gathered a vast amount about the operations – more... of the company. I can not really say there is a hard part of the job since I am adaptable and in this industry you have to be. I was taught that at Zurich. The most enjoyable part was the ability to sustain long life friendships with the co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and Service Consultant and Relief Trainer
Sales and Service Consultant and Relief Trainer (Former Employee), Fareham, UKAugust 13, 2013
Overall a great place to work, good people, excellent training and support
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very corporate, takes a long time to get things done
Finance and Insurance Executive (Former Employee), Missoula, MTAugust 9, 2013
lot of windshield time getting to accounts, worked with personnel and dealer to increase revenue within the finance office and overall dealership departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Transportation Risk Engineer (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILJuly 29, 2013
Zurich is a well-established insurance leader. Management is great to work with and they also have great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zurich Staff legal is absolute worst place to work in 30+ years as attorney
Trial Attorney (Former Employee), CaliforniaJuly 24, 2013
Pros: ok benefits
Cons: short sighted unrealstic and unprofessional management
The only thing I have ever expected from my management was to have my back, but this is the first place I ever worked where the management was the first to stab you in the back and then throw you under the bus. Management put undue workloads and then blamed the employees for failing to meet impossible deadlines given the workload. I was given trials – more... (because someone left out of frustration with the work environment) within one week before trial, not once but 3 times in one year ...and then I left, too. The same thing happened to the attorney in the office next to me and he left a few months after I did.

Coworkers and colleagues (everyone knew they were in the same boat) were great (and decent benefits) but any management employee with a conscience eventually left because they could not deal with the stress of disciplining employees unfairly...leaving just the jerks as management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very active in supporting charities.
Cash Flow Specialist (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJuly 22, 2013
Pros: free coffee, very close to home
Cons: constant downsizing and outsourcing
Typical day check for losses ran prev day, check email for requests for info from inside and outside of the dept. Work on upcoming mth's billing accts to obtain information needed to complete retro billings for all billers in the dept.

co-workers were mostly very friendly and cooperative.

hardest paer of job was getting info. from some underwriters.

most – more... enjoyable, to be able to supply information to others as quick as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Customer Service/Commercial Lines rater (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 12, 2013
Cons: would not pay for any educational training ie ins courses
zurich was a great place to work. Learned alot over the years. Coworkers were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that insured dealerships and garages.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Renton, WAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: free parking.
Cons: short breaks.
A typical day at work was very enjoyable and time flew by. I learned a lot about how dealerships operate. The management was very caring and would take time to help where ever needed. All the co-workers except for one were always busy and did what they could to get their work done. The hardest part of my job was dealing with that one co-worker who did – more... not do his share of the work. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to know my co-workers and our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal-oriented, productive, and team environment
Underwriter Assistant/Customer Service (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 25, 2013
Working in a high volume, multitask, goal-oriented, team environment, responsible for processing all types of business transaction, handling incoming and outbound calls, utilizing underwriting authority where replicable, and mentoring while providing quality service and elite customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Global Corporation
Tax Specialist (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILJune 17, 2013
A typical day at work is a matter of priorities:
Compliance requirements are first priority.
Replying to notices or audits.
Work with counsel for specific audits in court.
Monthly accounting and account true-ups
Manage staff, prepare procedures, and review work.
The most enjoyable part of my job is being in a global corporations with a variety of people, – more... training, and activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, treated well, great place to work
CCR III (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJune 17, 2013
Pros: treated with respect
Cons: strict polocies
I would recommend this company to anyone, fantastic place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Worst Place to Work in my 45 year insurance career
Senior Sales Executive (Former Employee), Northern New EnglandJune 17, 2013
Pros: company car
Cons: they will work you to death and cast you aside
Unrealistic production demands based upon a "national growth strategy" with no considerations to regional market conditions.
There is a poor work/life balance and expect to put in 70 to 80 hour weeks traveling, managing submissions and renewals, and dealing with screw-ups from the underwriting folks. Management will stab you in the back any chance they – more... get.
Recently, the company has gone through several distribution changes with a large segment of their "aftermarket" operation sold to a national agency group.
The dealer segment is no longer the recognized leader in the industry because of poor service and poor pricing.
In 2006, a management group of Universal Underwriters (the old company) attempted to take the company private from Zurich and failed. Zurich, not being the most forgiving company, thereafter put UUG on their hit list and things have never been the same. – less

About Zurich North America

Zurich Insurance Group (Zurich) is a leading multi-line insurance provider with a global network of subsidiaries and offices in – Read more

Zurich North America Photos