Find companies:
Zurich North America
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
192 reviews

Zurich North America Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large data center environment; support of 400 sites.
Sr Network Engineer (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: a lot to learn
Cons: had to move from area.
Support of 400 sites.
Support of 5 large regional data centers.
Acquired knowledge of F5 load balancers, Aruba wireless, and Riverbed wan optimizers.
Great management team.
Talented engineers to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Marine Claims Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2014
Marine Claims Specialist - May 2014 to Present
 Receive, analyze and adjust Ocean Cargo marine claims and issue claim payments.
 Review and interpret policy wording and explain coverage, deductibles and claim procedure to clients.
Marine Underwriting Service Specialist - September 2011 to May 2014
 Provide support to Underwriters by clearing Submissions, – more... Booking, and Issuing of Policies and Endorsements.
 Monitor and update Policy Mailing Registry to ensure 30 day Contract Certainty met.
 Research and resolve Billing and Reinsurance Inquiries on Accounts.
Claims Assistant - May 2010 to September 2011 (contracted through Spherion Corporation)
 Assisted handlers by setting up new claims; sending acknowledgment letters; and assigning handlers.
 Researched and annotated Team’s bi-weekly Claim Error spreadsheets; and provided administrative support to the Global Large Loss Claims Team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old school management, Old school Mentality, just plain OLD!
operations support manager (Former Employee), floridaSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: covered parking, this is the only pro, pathetic!
Cons: technology agnostic, step in and step back 20 years in your career
The process to get hired is painfully slow, you will go through (3) 1 hour interviews. One of the hiring managers completely went illegal on the questions, such as "are you married " how many kids, etc. Once hired I immediately noticed the culture, these people hold more meetings in one week, than I ever did working for any other company, in one month.. – more... The company is technologically agnostic, their applications are not integrated, there is no adhoc capability, every reporting function is based on spreadsheets, you will have to create your reports from scratch. The people working there are old farts, you will be told "this is how we have been doing it for 25 years, and get resistance up the ying yang, you can expect to hear things like "this is not my job" and if you push back, they are calling HR in a hot minute. I regret ever going to this company, I literally felt as if I was aging by the hour. Stay away if you are used to working with integrated applications, you will do yourself a disservice by coming here, you will be used as a "reporting engineer" manager, no sense of direction, the training is a joke, you will be left in the middle of nowhere, left to figure out the systems on your own, you will not change anything, and will be forced to doing things the "old fashioned way". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), ENGSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: great staff canteen
Cons: sat in an office on a beautiful sunny day
I really enjoyed my job at Zurich, and left to have my family, I love working with people and feel I work good in a team, also learning to work independently when needed. The people I worked with were all friendly and nice to be around. The hardest part of the job was probably having to deal with irate customers, however when you calm them down and – more... the conversation finishes positively it is a great feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Inbound call center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILSeptember 1, 2014
Inbound call center
Speak with Dr office about patient accounts
Speak with patients about their workers compensation account
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adequate company
Claims Negotiator (Former Employee), Portsmouth, ENGAugust 29, 2014
Pros: lovely building
Cons: insular feeling
A typical day was not overly stressful. Everyone worked well together and there was quite a laid back atmosphere.
We never saw higher management, only a team supervisor who was adequate at her job.
Although the outside of the office was ultra modern the inside had a 'make-do-and-mend' feel about it with cheap, unsubstantial furniture and fittings.
The – more... different departments kept to themselves creating a vary insular environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional insurance industry
Business Process Analyst (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILAugust 28, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers.
My day involved producing monthly Internal Control reports. This was completed by receiving information from senior department to verify the transaction completed within controls established.
In addition, I processed a weekly over 90's spreadsheet to reflect the status of the work performed by the staff of 30+ account reps.
I was respected by the co-workers. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was the detail and accuracy of the reports when completed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joined a a startup career company
Sr Software Engineer (Former Employee), PuneAugust 23, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: weekend work
Good culture
Good work environment

Good exposure to Retail banking

Buld testing skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for upcoming career
Jr Network Engineer (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 8, 2014
Installed, support and maintain PC hardware including desktops, notebooks, monitors, printers, and audiovisual equipment to FAA employees.
Responsible for network backups, restores, daily administrative work on server 2004 to aid Network Administrator, antivirus, administration, setup user email, voicemail, troubleshoot user problems both remotely and – more... locally. Provided helpdesk an on call support Installing operating system and application patches using PatchLink. Ensuring the application and operating system level security hardening implementation done as per security policy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Service Delivery Analyst (Former Employee), Hyderabad, APAugust 7, 2014
My favorite thing about this job was meeting with my staff. It was a group of very young and creative people. I liked to support my team and helped to solve problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Account Executive (Former Employee), Ciudad de México, DIFJuly 30, 2014
 Providing support to Ford Motor Company to consolidate and increase sales volume through implementing sales strategies related to automobile insurance (Ford Insure).
 Ensuring that new policies, renewals, cancellations, endorsements and collections are issued in a timely manner, working with AON as a broker.
 Preparing Balanced Scorecard and Output – more... reports.
 Managing the logistics of getting advertising material for dealerships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn back now!
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, ColoradoJuly 27, 2014
Pros: one hour lunch
Cons: management, training, expectations
Call Center in Colorado Springs, the managers are very unprofessional, they are not helpful when difficult situations arise, they rather talk bad about co-workers. You will work with different departments through the call center and come across another team member who gives you attitude and have to deal with negativity throughout. This place is constantly – more... hiring due to unprofessional management and employees. There is no room for advancement unless you have been here many years and still want to put up with everyone there. The call center offers on call and non call, very small call center, micromanaged, good luck getting time off or you'll get written up quicker than ever. The more you call the coach line for assistance they'll tell you, shouldnt you know this by now.. instead answering your questions. Overall I never experienced professionalism, even as I sat quietly in my cubicle doing my job, I got to hear how bad this co worker was and that worker was from management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with flexible schedule
Operations/Processing Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2014
Zurich's flex schedule definitely meets my needs when emergency situations arise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultant
Program Analyst / Business Objects (Former Employee), Plainsboro, New JerseyJuly 2, 2014
I was a consultant working on this project. The company was good overall to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair Management is the worst,200+pendings,30-50 new claims/month,deductible/Medical Benefits suck
Claims handler (Former Employee), Parsippany,Owings Mills,Philadelphia/PittsburghJune 26, 2014
That is the managers are pressured to continually locate the weakest employee in performance, trump up charges for lack of performance and fire them. The good managers will resign if they don't want to backstab, the lowlifes will fulfill the objectives to save their own tushes.. It is impossible to meet expectations. The problem is that the employee – more... could be a "10" but management is doing this anyway every quarterly review. File loads in claims are astronomically high, usually over 200+ claims and you are micromanaged and scrutinized on everything with no consideration or fairness given. Lack of respect, harassment and constant backstabbing by some managers leave you drained..If you have a college degree then get lectured by the manager who does this. Underwriting and Risk Management complain the same problems about management.

Mass layoffs are just about yearly along with multiple firings every year. HR doesn't do anything to help and they try to scare you into not getting an attorney and giving up. This company will harass you continually and load you between 30-50 claims a month!! Lots of stress claims filed.

Medical benefits are high deductibles where you spend thousands of dollars before the company begins paying one dollar and its done paying a percentage...

DO NOT GO HERE!!!!, UNLESS YOU WANT TO GET MASSIVLY OVERWORKED AND DUMPED ON, HARASSED, SCAPE-GOATED FOR THE IRRESPONSIBILITY OF THE COMPANY AND EVENTUALLY FIRED!!! IF YOU MAKE IT 6 MONTH, YOU WILL BE BURNT OUT AND HAVE BEEN BEATEN ON.,

ALL OTHER POSITIVE ADS ARE CREATED BY MANAGEMENT POSING TO BE AN UNDERLING AND/OR BROWN NOSERS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Analysis data with Pig
Intern (Former Employee), HKJune 21, 2014
Migrate millions of insurance records from SQL Server to HBase. And get the demographic data and customer preference using Pig. Summarized the findings with recommendations to improve customer segmentation and targeting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very corporate and demanding
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJune 19, 2014
Pros: good pay and bonus
Cons: outsourcing
Have to have a strong work ethic and be willing to learn and be flexible to constant change. Co-workers are good people who are highly skilled and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management wasn't as helpful as they could have been but I have had great Managers while working there.
Application Support Analyst II (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJune 19, 2014
I enjoyed helping people it made my job worth while. Every day was busy and different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J'ai beacoup appris de nouveau.
Actuaire - Moscou (Former Employee), Zürich, ZHJune 5, 2014
J'ai fait des calculs des risques et j'ai participé aux projets innovants.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very good work environment
Ariba Operations Procurement Specialist (Current Employee), ChicagoMay 17, 2014
Pros: good team
Its good place to work and very good management and all the employees are motivate and we can learn very new thing very time.Its a very challenging atmosphere to work with the co workers

About Zurich North America

Zurich Insurance Group (Zurich) is a leading multi-line insurance provider with a global network of subsidiaries and offices in – Read more

Zurich North America Photos