Zellers Employee Reviews

Found 1,018 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place for a student
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 May 2017
Easy to balance life and work and the job wasn't overly strenuous, not many incentives over other similar jobs and inventory was extremely disorganized.
Pros
Easy
Cons
Disorganized no incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good first job
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON23 May 2017
i got to learn a lot about the retail environment and how to deal with customer's questions and concerns. picked up a bit of sales experience and use of product knowledge to sell. was a good introduction to the work force for me.
Pros
was close to where i live, and i got a discount at the store
Cons
limited hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL18 May 2017
Worked with cash
dealing with a diverse customer environment
great employees
great management

Had a great time gaining customer service experience while working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good startingplace inretail
Cashier / Dept Manager (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON17 May 2017
now defunked retail establishment
taught importance of team work, collaborative, great people to work with
lots of late shifts with back to back day shifts following
Pros
good managers
Cons
short time off turn arounds
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Merchandise Movement Team (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB13 May 2017
Co-workers were very friendly and easy to get along with . Great store everyone loved working there. Most enjoyable part of job was being around friends. Hardest part was the last day the store was open . Our company was apart of history . Management was good , no complaints from me. I miss that store. Everyone does.
Pros
Staff BBQ'S, potluck lunches in staffroom, free pizza lunches, 50/50 draws at friday morning meetings lol.
Cons
Old location for the store, needed repairs constantly, roof leaked when it rained, not enough pay, needed new uniforms, needed more equipment for everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For beginning its was good job
STOCKER / CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB11 May 2017
many busy days and all done by team work and hard work, nothing to give review for this job had new friend and had lots of fun with them so never felt busy day and easy day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stagnant with no identity
Electronics Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB11 May 2017
I learned a lot while working at Zellers but not in part to anything good. Management had little to no control over the store I worked in and left almost any major departmental problems to the staff. The upside to all of this was that it enabled me to take control of the department and manage staff who I worked with when the real management decided not to do so.
Very young employee group when I worked there which provided great relationships among all staff members outside of management.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
dirty, mismanaged, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average quality
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB9 May 2017
The workplace was average, the coworkers were alright, the position was a lot of work, enjoyed interacting with customers, performing carryouts for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job
Merchandiser/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON9 May 2017
This was an excellent summer job for me. As it was my first retail experience there was much I needed to learn but Zellers gave me many opportunities to serve customers in a friendly fashion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 May 2017
I worked here while I was in middle/high school, and it was very good. I enjoyed working for the managers there, and it was close to my home so going there was easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Loss Prevention Investigator (Former Employee) –  Lawrence Square4 May 2017
It was ok got to do Loss Prevention job working cctv and catching shoplifters and Fraud working the floor keep eyes on customers also did internals and price.tag switching
Pros
In a mall
Cons
Not a set sechulde
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cosmetics Sales Adviser (Former Employee) –  CA2 May 2017
After a daily briefing we were all told what we had to do for the day, what needed to be achieved to reach the daily target. I would recommend Zellers for anyone looking for work in this field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for co-op students
Merchandiser (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 May 2017
This was probably one of my favourite stores when they were around in Canada. Sadly they closed and were replaced. I would go back here if they ever came back to Canada
Pros
Friendly employees
Cons
No pay as was co-op job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 April 2017
They are good at keeping employees busy and on task. The managers are happy and outgoing. The store is very well kept and maintained. They reward employees for hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed Down
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC28 April 2017
Hardest part of the job was dealing with upset customers.
Typical day at work would be, helping customers, processing there orders. Putting away returns, opening and closing of tills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Brossard, Qc26 April 2017
j'ai reçu une bonne expérience sur le domaine de la vente, gerer des situations particulières avec des gens qui ont tout perdu suite a une incendie
Pros
gratifiant de pouvoir aider des gens
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON19 April 2017
Typical day would be assisting customers and working on front line cash.
I learned how to achieve great customer service. As it was my first job I learned how to treat each customers needs differently striving to give them great customer satisfaction.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the experience I gained and advancing to cashier supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, positive, family type environment
N/A (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB18 April 2017
So sad to have had to say goodbye to such a wonderful workplace. Not a bad thing to say about working here! Some great memories were made and days were enjoyed here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail store
Stock Associate/ Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 April 2017
Zellers was a typical retail store to work for. They didn't really care about their employees. The pay was no good. They were not very flexible with hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for improvement
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 April 2017
Department managers were great, and accessible whenever needed. HR management was a totally different story.
Overall experience was great, the work environment was excellent and the company offered a lot of intensives to advance career wise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zellers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,033 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7