Zellers Employee Reviews

Found 969 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 January 2017
typical day would be greeting customers
helping with customer needs
management was excellent, great people
most enjoyable part of the job was the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environtment in Ottawa
Men Fashion Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 January 2017
My name is Nghia Huynh.
I liked working in retail and sales, especially for Men Fashion Dept at Zellers, nearly 6 years of experience.
I enjoyed giving my expertise in men fashion trend for clothing as well as footwear.

Zellers job was easy for me as same as working in the family store.
My supervisor was extremely patient and tolerant to me and I think that was my devotion to the company.
Pros
Nice working environtment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store is closed
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  ottawa12 January 2017
The day was never the same. Sometimes you would be in customer service or on cash or putting out stock. The people were great to work with. I made a lot of friends who I am still friends with after the store closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be employed
Checkout Lead (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 January 2017
When Zellers was still in business it was a great place to work. They were fair and just. The people there were great and fun to work with.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reatil job
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON11 January 2017
Zellers has since closed down but it was a great retail job. I was able to learn different departments and move around frequently. I liked helping customers with there shopping and needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 January 2017
Sales associate, zoning, helping customers find what they came there for, and give adaquite advice on products. As a student or a parent its a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant company to work for in overnight programming, setup, ladies wear, mens wear, shoes, etc. I worked in inventory as well.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON30 December 2016
A typical day at work included a little cashier work, lots off cleanup in different departments, restocking, planogram and more.

I learnt cashier work, planogram, customer service and more.

Management were very nice and easy to work for.

The most enjoyable part of this job is dealing with customers.
Pros
Excellant place to work
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Zellers
Hard-line Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 December 2016
Working at Zellers was interesting the staff and the customers were definitely nice, a typical day in my department was repetitive but important as I assisted loss prevention and other departments overall I cannot complain it was nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Welcoming
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON16 December 2016
Staff were friendly and polite, very inviting. Work was always fun, never boring. Very accommodating. Management was competent and friendly. Supportive environment.
Pros
Felt welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON15 December 2016
-Fun Workplace
-Great Management
-Amazing Atmosphere to work in
-Friendly Co-workers
-Great pay and comfortable wage
-Great place to start of work and to gain experience
Pros
Great Environment
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great waay to start work .
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON14 December 2016
supervised departments & checkouts
Did bank deposits
closed store and set alarms each evening I worked
Co-workers were great
Hardest part long hours very little home time no balance
Pros
experience to work
Cons
long hours and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New to retail
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON12 December 2016
This was my first pharmacy job. I enjoyed working there... I just needed a little faster pace at the time. It was pleasant.
Pros
Work hours were great
Cons
Not busy enough for me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON8 December 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed working at zellers
it was a fun place to work the managers where really nice
the pay was fair the job was easy
great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Human Resources Administrator/Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB7 December 2016
Zellers is now closed. Best part of this job was the people I worked with. There are always challenges when working in retail but we had an amazing team and were able to take on anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stylish, colorful, great quality, different size for different ages,also different products
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 December 2016
great team work, friendly, responsible, on time, skillful,smart,and kind manager. always cheering customer up was employees big duties.the most important thing was caring customer because our liability was customers attraction and keeping them satisfied.
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Stock Clerk/Receiving (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON29 November 2016
This is the best place to work they are very kind and appreciate people to work for . They allow you to work over time and you can cover more than one position with high chances to learn new skills.
Pros
Very great atmosphere for learning
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB27 November 2016
It was alright, the staff were supportive and willing to teach (the managers will do this when they can) and there will be some fun here and there. Some of the staff are real characters and be prepared to hear stories during quiet days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent customer Service
Sales Associate (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Burnaby BC23 November 2016
Excellent customer service representative friendly, courteous and helpful. High energy ,motivated,creative and team player.Targeted daily goal,avdviser.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ordinary Retail Work
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QC19 November 2016
Cashier
Provide last-desk customer service while taking payments from customers in exchange of goods sold.
Service Clerk
Assist and guide the clients during their visit to the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Zellers
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS10 November 2016
Zellers was a company that helped me grow. I was able to make so many friends and learn new things. I did:

Cashier
Customer Service
Worked in Toy Department
Worked in the Clothing Department

I miss Zellers and wish it didn't closed down.
Pros
Friendly Enivornment
Cons
Didn't close during snow storms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 985 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7