Zellers Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 918 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment, helpful management
Records management (Former Employee) –  Welland, ONJune 30, 2016
Enjoyed working within the retail culture, always learning something new and expanding my knowledge of store operations.
Constantly seeking out solutions to help maintain productivity and to enable a more profitable margin for the retail establishment.
Pros
Company discount was offered, paid vacation upon accrual
Cons
little margin for advancement within the company regardless of senority
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QCJune 15, 2016
Got to experience customer service, the different work to do before closing a store. Met different people.Created new connection , new friendship.
Cons
closing store
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interactive with team, productive and motivated to get the job done
Merchandise Renovation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 8, 2016
A typical overnight shift as a Renovation crew member at Zellers was very fulfilling with great encouragement given by Team leaders, Supervisors and other members of staff who are all very explicit and I am thankful of being able to follow instructions. Co-workers i.e. team members all complied to have a successful renovation in designs, fixtures, shelving, stocking and inventory, pricing and printing expiry dates. Some day shifts were available in customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJune 6, 2016
good management
have a very close friendship with the supervisor
very close with co worker
helping the customer and restocking all day
learned how to make customer happy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Staff
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ONJune 3, 2016
My co-workers were amazing, and very helpful especially when I first started working there. They were remarkably flexible with allowing me to do co-op as well as employment through there. I was able to do co-op for schooling from 1:00 PM until 3:00 PM and I was scheduled on none co-op week days as well as weekends for paid work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
floor and cashier duties
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 31, 2016
helped with customer service directing customers to the proper aisles and product, did cashier operations as well. A day on the floor would include; putting up signage, cleanup of aisles, organizing, and answering customers questions or helping them with products.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile environment with limited advancement
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 31, 2016
Working at Zellers started off ok until the original manager was moved from our location to another and a new manager was placed. There were hostile environments and everyone was pretty much stuck in their positions with basic pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A+
Cashier & Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONMay 30, 2016
Loved the store, the first manager was horrible but the assistant management team was fabulous to work for. Great store sad to see it go.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun great work experiance
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ONMay 25, 2016
very interesting great learning experience fun working with clothing setting up displays getting ready for sales pricing all of the clothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clothing store
Cashier duties (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NSMay 25, 2016
my first summer job at 16 and through out the years I got to work in many departments .enjoyed meeting many people and loved worling with the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working here
Department Head, Cashier, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New Liskeard, ONMay 25, 2016
Although the company no longer exists it was a good place to gain retail experience as well as customer service. I worked most part time hours and at the time raising a family found it hard to make ends meet.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great store
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCMay 25, 2016
wish it never close i would still be working there to this date. there store was great and great employess loved zellers!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Milton, ONMay 24, 2016
Did not remain long as it closed in September 2012. However management was a mess, and it served as a place with no job advancement
Pros
friendly co workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i miss them
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BCMay 9, 2016
it was heart breaking they closed down in canada. They were my first real good job in Canada. All the locations i worked at were nice and friendly. I felt dafe and welcomed. I wish they had stayed up.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a enjoyable place to work
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSMay 7, 2016
I enjoyed working at zellers cause you had something different to do everyday you went to work . i enjoyed my co workers as we all got along i learned to work cash ,put orders thru and stock shelves
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cash,customer service
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBMay 6, 2016
operated cash and conducted customer transactions.made sure shelves and clothes racks were kept in good order .always maintain a friendly working relationship with customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and rewarding
OVERNIGHT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 4, 2016
Typical day...Reviewed work needed for the day with evening manager.
Organized stock for the different staff in different departments.
Put out stock and follow up with staff to ensure work is done productively and problems that arise are solved.
Signage is up properly.
Review new information and concerns with opening manager.

I learned how to best utilize my time and others. I also learned how to work with other management and organize staff.

Management was helpful and fun to work with.

I enjoyed working with a very hard working group of people.

The hardest part of my job was working long hours (min 10).

I really enjoyed working with the merchandise and seeing displays come together.
Pros
Job Satisfaction (seeing things come together)
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier / Electronics / Fashion (Former Employee) –  Miramichi, NBMay 4, 2016
Was my favourite place I ever worked. Management was always flexible while I was in school. I found that it was a great environment and team atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive experience
Senior Sales associate (Retail) (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QCMay 1, 2016
This was a great company to work for. Great pay with career advancement possibility. Speaking both French and English was a definite asset for me.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
uncertain future
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Christmas seasonal staff (Former Employee) –  Prince Rupert, BCApril 28, 2016
while working at Zellers my day consisted of re stocking shelves and working as a cashier. The management was good and I enjoyed working with my co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 933 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture