Zellers Employee Reviews

Found 1,040 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 August 2017
Cashier; responsible for signing customers up for HBC MasterCard, scanning customers purchases and collecting cash in exchange while providing excellent customer service.
-In charge of closing and opening cash tills at the beginning and ending of each shift.
-Responsible for organizing, replenishing and cleaning area around the cash registers.
-Assisted in providing coverage in the electronics department when required.
Pros
part time
Cons
boring sometime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shipping/Recieving
Shipping & Receiving, Part Time (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON6 August 2017
Zellers is closed. Although a fun place to work at when open due to fellow employees and management there was very little to no advancement. Easy work.
Pros
Staff
Cons
No consistancy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's obviously not in business anymore
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC5 August 2017
This was not an enjoyable job. The customers were very unpleasant and management was too. The fact that this company no longer exists speaks for itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly closed down
Jewellery and Electronics associate (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB4 August 2017
Was a pretty good retail company to work for, never had very many issues with it. Sadly closed down when it was bought out. Overall, have fond memories of working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 August 2017
I worked in stacking cleaning and pricing items in the toy section, It gave me good communication skills to talk to people and pleasure in helping them find things they needed. there was nothing hard about my position It was an easy noon stressful positon I was on. The co-workers were great and easy to get along with.
Pros
it was a good work experance
Cons
tempary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stocker
Stock Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON1 August 2017
Good co-workers and peers, management was okay, hours varied according to scheduled shift, preferred mornings, minimum wage, easy to access, on-the-job training provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with a great group pf staff
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK17 July 2017
Management of all tills and staff at tills. I learned to supervise a great deal of people. The Management were great, very personable and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was the shift work, it didn't give me a lot of time to spend with my family. I enjoyed the atmosphere and how busy I was able to keep myself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management skills
Department Manger (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 July 2017
It's been a long time that I have worked at this job. I typical remember when I decided to work as a department manager. The most enjoyable part of my job was learning and training to become a part of the management team. The nine years that I worked, I came to realize that I was the only management that the employee would come to with issues, that they felt that I was the only manager that would talk to them with respect and help them the best way that I could.
Pros
respect from employees
Cons
not a good management team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed
Floor Associate / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK11 July 2017
Was a good job when the store was open The staff was geat to work with and all a team player in the company to bad it closed out enjoyed wirking for them
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
OTC Associate - Pharmacy (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC6 July 2017
it was called mom store as there were lot of moms shopping in the store. it catered to all levels of people. long time loyal customers visited the store all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsatisfactory
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ontario30 June 2017
Sub-par training, terrible supervision. Poor scheduling, hours however reasonable. Below average staff room lacking basic components. Lack of positive attitude in the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty chill
Hard lines worker (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB25 June 2017
nice people, good paced environment. Good structure. alot of engaging with the public. cleaning and restocking mostly. was bought by target so does not exist anymore.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Labourer/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB24 June 2017
It's now closed down but the time I spent there was awesome. Everyone was friendly and supporting, escpecially the managers. Probably the best first place to gain experience in retail.
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was fun whle it lasted
Stock Clerk/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON22 June 2017
Typical Day was always on the go
I Learned about planograms and shipping and receiving
The Management team was awesome
The workplace culture was very fun and busy like family
The hardest part was being the one to do everything for the management
the enjoyable part was it was serious but not a serious place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People friendly and teamplayers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 June 2017
Was a great place to work. I am sorry they closed down. It was a canadian .company I was a cashier and stocked shelves and put things back in there places.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 June 2017
I spent many impressionable years at Zellers. It was my first full time job. Once graduating school, I was promoted very quickly and leaned a lot. A lot of my current work ethic was developed here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON11 June 2017
Zellers was a good company to work for. It was a fun working environment. Provided numerous training and advancement opportunities. Zellers was always trying to improve customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place good
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON8 June 2017
They hired me when I was 6 months pregnant that was amazing for back then. The store hours were great . They had club z points that u could order free stuff from the catalog with your points. Got a lot of free stuff awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon premier travail
Commis au plancher (Nuit) (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 June 2017
Bien aimé comme premier travail. Environnement de travail bien aussi.
Pros
Les employers
Cons
Rien
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked nights stocking shelves
Night Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON31 May 2017
worked nights stocking shelves friendly staff very organized have not worked there for 14 years left because could not do overnights anymore too exausting
Pros
quite working at night
Cons
irrgular sleep
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zellers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,055 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7