Find companies:
Zellers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
610 reviews

Zellers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zellers was like a family working together
Cashier/cash office, and H.R.Admin (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCOctober 15, 2014
Start day at 6am, sorted paperwork from overnite, did payroll, checked schedules, took sick calls, filled shifts answer phones til store opened, then completed other HR duties. I learned many of the HR duties as when I took over this position the other HR had left already, but the programs the Zellers had in place were very informative.There was always – more... changes to the management group and I just adapted as all came with different ideas. I can say I got along well with co-workers and staff. The only hard part was trying to schedule with a given salary, as you want to give everyone some hours. I enjoyed working for Zellers and I miss Zellers and the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee), Dartmouth, Nova ScotiaOctober 10, 2014
Pros: assisting with different departments daily
Cons: not being able to assist customers all at once
A typical day at Zellers consisted of:

• Interacting with customers/colleagues to maintain company quality standards
• Assisting in the up-selling of products and services to clients ensuring increase in revenue
• Operating cash register: cash, credit card, debit transactions, and discounted promotions
• Handling cash reports daily to ensure proper – more... sales calculations
• Multitasking effectively in stressful or non-stressful environment
• Motivating and organizing teams to exceed their interpersonal skills
• Etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxing work environment
Store Team Worker - Seasonal (Former Employee), Kanata, ONOctober 8, 2014
Enjoyed working for Zellers as a seasonal worker. Worked with stocking shelves, labeling, and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zellers was a great place to work
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Maple Ridge, BCOctober 5, 2014
Zellers was a great place to work and grow. I started as a part time cashier working evenings and weekends and 21 years later I was the operations manager at the same store in Maple Ridge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very happy to have had the experience of work in retail
Fitting Room Attendant (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 5, 2014
Pros: pizza days, celebrating an employee's birthday with cake, showers for staff, farewell celebrations for employees
I found there were a lot of cliques at the Simcoe St store and if you weren't a longtime employee, you just didn't fit in. I liked my job but I felt like I never fit in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable workplace that I looked forward to going to everyday
Merchandisw Associate (Former Employee), Alliston, ONSeptember 27, 2014
Zellers was a productive and enjoyable workplace, I enjoyed getting to know my co-workers and still maintain those friendships after the store closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employe
Cashier (Former Employee), MontrealSeptember 26, 2014
I worked as a cashier and absolutely loved the work environment. I was good at what I did and was promoted to work in customer service. I am great with people and was quickly trained to supervise at the cashes at only 18!!! Shortly after, an employement opportunity came up at the hospital and I left Zelles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Listowel, ONSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: wonderful co workers
Cons: long hours
Company went under and closed but it was still a good place to work with good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
LEAD CASHIER AND CHECKOUT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Whitby,ONSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: happy enviroment
Cons: laid off
Great company to work for. Always room for advancement.Cross training available. Unfortunately Zellers closed permanently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met new people, learned a few new skills.
Cashier/Cleaning Crew (Former Employee), Hanover, ONSeptember 15, 2014
I liked the fact that while doing cleaning crew work, I was allowed to listen to my Ipod as long as my work got done. I am more productive while listening to my own music.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Rec area person replenishing stock (Former Employee), peterborough ontarioSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: friendly managment and staff
cleaned store early in the morning then shipping for the rest of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a good place to work.
Cash Office Associate (Former Employee), Alliston, ONSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: holiday parties, benefites for part-time employees
Cons: in small room with no windows
I pretty much worked alone. The management were great so were the co-workers of what I saw of them. Finding the errors in the cash registers. Working with numbers and alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp job
cashier (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: long breaks
Cons: standing on feet all day
During my employment at zellers I was a cashier. It was an ok job for the time being.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cheap version on wal mart
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brockville, ONSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: worked with students my age
Cons: bad management
zellers was a canadian version of wal mart that eventually went out of business. I was never trained properly for my areas I was to cover single by myself
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice place and kind people.
Salesperson (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 26, 2014
I helped to customers try on or fit merchandise.
I recommended products to clients , selected closing, helped locate or obtain merchandise based.
I bagged or packaged purchases and wrapped gifts.
Also, I cleaned shelves, counters, and tables.
I study how to inventoried stock and requisition new stock.
Most important part of my job was customer support. – more... Management was OK. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the sence of accomplishment
Retail Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 24, 2014
Pros: excellent performance bonus prigram
Cons: retail is demanding and some very long hours
Working with staff on a day to day basis
I was always amazed what I could learn from other who reported to me. I believe iam a good listener
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to get along with co-workers
Cashier (Former Employee), Williams Lake, BCAugust 23, 2014
Zellers was very stressful and everyone was very on edge with each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodective
cashier (Former Employee), Bedford nova scotiaAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: long hours
most enjoyale part was to see all the friendly faces i met over the time working there
hardest part was dealing with angry costumers
manager was awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto,OnAugust 15, 2014
It was a well organized, managed and fun work environment. All my co-workers were easy to get along with, hardest part of the job would have to be sometime dealing with difficult guests when they were unhappy about a situation. The most enjoyable part of the job was just getting along with my co-workers, we were more like a family then just people we – more... saw at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with excellent balance
Business Manager (Former Employee), Moncton, NBAugust 8, 2014
Pros: benefits excellent coworkers
Excellent career,great team atmosphere with opportunity to advance.Excellent benefit package,great communication and training.

1 2 3 4 5

About Zellers

Zellers Inc. is Canada's second-largest chain of mass merchandise discount stores, with locations in communities across Canada. – Read more