Zellers Employee Reviews

Found 978 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 February 2017
Zellers was a fun place to work. it was a great company and its sad to have seen it go. it simply was an easy job and I would've highly recommended it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Following company policies and ensuring all staff do the same
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2017
As supervisor one is responsible for hiring of new staff, training, menu planning, ordering and monthly inventory. This was a very demanding but fun job and I only left the supervisory position because I was promoted to a Regional Manager with the same company.
Pros
Set my own hours
Cons
working mostly every weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work before store closed
Cashier Lead (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON14 February 2017
Typical retail environment pros and cons associated with the job. Before store was liquidated and closed it had career advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing working environment with excellent staff and management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North York, ON13 February 2017
Easily one of the greatest jobs I have held thus far with a fantastic team of staff and an incredible management system. Everyone worked together as a unit and was both accepting and accommodating of everyone's individual strengths, qualities, and needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place was a mess
Customer Service Associate (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 February 2017
Is it any wonder this place no longer exists? The place was messy even though barely anyone shopped there. The hardest part of the job was keeping my sanity in this post-apocalyptic looking environment.
Pros
Quiet most of the time
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK31 January 2017
It was a good place, awesome people, good place to work loved to learn new things every day, the best part about working there that I likes the most was speaking on the intercom and when I finally got used to doing everything they decided to let me go just before my 3 month probation ended which was unfortunate and then they closed down for good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON22 January 2017
My day was always different depending on the customers but overall it was a great place to work and to assist customers so they had an enjoyable shopping experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 January 2017
typical day would be greeting customers
helping with customer needs
management was excellent, great people
most enjoyable part of the job was the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environtment in Ottawa
Men Fashion Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 January 2017
My name is Nghia Huynh.
I liked working in retail and sales, especially for Men Fashion Dept at Zellers, nearly 6 years of experience.
I enjoyed giving my expertise in men fashion trend for clothing as well as footwear.

Zellers job was easy for me as same as working in the family store.
My supervisor was extremely patient and tolerant to me and I think that was my devotion to the company.
Pros
Nice working environtment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store is closed
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  ottawa12 January 2017
The day was never the same. Sometimes you would be in customer service or on cash or putting out stock. The people were great to work with. I made a lot of friends who I am still friends with after the store closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be employed
Checkout Lead (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 January 2017
When Zellers was still in business it was a great place to work. They were fair and just. The people there were great and fun to work with.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reatil job
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON11 January 2017
Zellers has since closed down but it was a great retail job. I was able to learn different departments and move around frequently. I liked helping customers with there shopping and needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 January 2017
Sales associate, zoning, helping customers find what they came there for, and give adaquite advice on products. As a student or a parent its a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant company to work for in overnight programming, setup, ladies wear, mens wear, shoes, etc. I worked in inventory as well.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON30 December 2016
A typical day at work included a little cashier work, lots off cleanup in different departments, restocking, planogram and more.

I learnt cashier work, planogram, customer service and more.

Management were very nice and easy to work for.

The most enjoyable part of this job is dealing with customers.
Pros
Excellant place to work
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Zellers
Hard-line Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 December 2016
Working at Zellers was interesting the staff and the customers were definitely nice, a typical day in my department was repetitive but important as I assisted loss prevention and other departments overall I cannot complain it was nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Welcoming
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON16 December 2016
Staff were friendly and polite, very inviting. Work was always fun, never boring. Very accommodating. Management was competent and friendly. Supportive environment.
Pros
Felt welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON15 December 2016
-Fun Workplace
-Great Management
-Amazing Atmosphere to work in
-Friendly Co-workers
-Great pay and comfortable wage
-Great place to start of work and to gain experience
Pros
Great Environment
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great waay to start work .
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON14 December 2016
supervised departments & checkouts
Did bank deposits
closed store and set alarms each evening I worked
Co-workers were great
Hardest part long hours very little home time no balance
Pros
experience to work
Cons
long hours and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New to retail
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON12 December 2016
This was my first pharmacy job. I enjoyed working there... I just needed a little faster pace at the time. It was pleasant.
Pros
Work hours were great
Cons
Not busy enough for me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON8 December 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed working at zellers
it was a fun place to work the managers where really nice
the pay was fair the job was easy
great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 994 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7