Zellers Employee Reviews

Found 1,028 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Labourer/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB24 June 2017
It's now closed down but the time I spent there was awesome. Everyone was friendly and supporting, escpecially the managers. Probably the best first place to gain experience in retail.
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was fun whle it lasted
Stock Clerk/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON22 June 2017
Typical Day was always on the go
I Learned about planograms and shipping and receiving
The Management team was awesome
The workplace culture was very fun and busy like family
The hardest part was being the one to do everything for the management
the enjoyable part was it was serious but not a serious place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People friendly and teamplayers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 June 2017
Was a great place to work. I am sorry they closed down. It was a canadian .company I was a cashier and stocked shelves and put things back in there places.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 June 2017
I spent many impressionable years at Zellers. It was my first full time job. Once graduating school, I was promoted very quickly and leaned a lot. A lot of my current work ethic was developed here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON11 June 2017
Zellers was a good company to work for. It was a fun working environment. Provided numerous training and advancement opportunities. Zellers was always trying to improve customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place good
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON8 June 2017
They hired me when I was 6 months pregnant that was amazing for back then. The store hours were great . They had club z points that u could order free stuff from the catalog with your points. Got a lot of free stuff awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon premier travail
Commis au plancher (Nuit) (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 June 2017
Bien aimé comme premier travail. Environnement de travail bien aussi.
Pros
Les employers
Cons
Rien
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked nights stocking shelves
Night Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON31 May 2017
worked nights stocking shelves friendly staff very organized have not worked there for 14 years left because could not do overnights anymore too exausting
Pros
quite working at night
Cons
irrgular sleep
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a simple, and beneficial job
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON30 May 2017
Overall, the experience was positive.

The salary and upward movement were a little limited, but overall the workplace catered to much of my personal life needs.

Management was kind, friendly, and often did what they could to accommodate to our personal needs (schedules etc.)
Pros
In the mall
Cons
not much vertical movement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hard worker and friendly
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 May 2017
I was a very hard worker polite and curtius love working will always put my best foot forward with it trust I'm a people person love basketball and swimimg all in all really need work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place for a student
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 May 2017
Easy to balance life and work and the job wasn't overly strenuous, not many incentives over other similar jobs and inventory was extremely disorganized.
Pros
Easy
Cons
Disorganized no incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good first job
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON23 May 2017
i got to learn a lot about the retail environment and how to deal with customer's questions and concerns. picked up a bit of sales experience and use of product knowledge to sell. was a good introduction to the work force for me.
Pros
was close to where i live, and i got a discount at the store
Cons
limited hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL18 May 2017
Worked with cash
dealing with a diverse customer environment
great employees
great management

Had a great time gaining customer service experience while working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good startingplace inretail
Cashier / Dept Manager (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON17 May 2017
now defunked retail establishment
taught importance of team work, collaborative, great people to work with
lots of late shifts with back to back day shifts following
Pros
good managers
Cons
short time off turn arounds
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Merchandise Movement Team (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB13 May 2017
Co-workers were very friendly and easy to get along with . Great store everyone loved working there. Most enjoyable part of job was being around friends. Hardest part was the last day the store was open . Our company was apart of history . Management was good , no complaints from me. I miss that store. Everyone does.
Pros
Staff BBQ'S, potluck lunches in staffroom, free pizza lunches, 50/50 draws at friday morning meetings lol.
Cons
Old location for the store, needed repairs constantly, roof leaked when it rained, not enough pay, needed new uniforms, needed more equipment for everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For beginning its was good job
STOCKER / CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB11 May 2017
many busy days and all done by team work and hard work, nothing to give review for this job had new friend and had lots of fun with them so never felt busy day and easy day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stagnant with no identity
Electronics Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB11 May 2017
I learned a lot while working at Zellers but not in part to anything good. Management had little to no control over the store I worked in and left almost any major departmental problems to the staff. The upside to all of this was that it enabled me to take control of the department and manage staff who I worked with when the real management decided not to do so.
Very young employee group when I worked there which provided great relationships among all staff members outside of management.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
dirty, mismanaged, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average quality
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB9 May 2017
The workplace was average, the coworkers were alright, the position was a lot of work, enjoyed interacting with customers, performing carryouts for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job
Merchandiser/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON9 May 2017
This was an excellent summer job for me. As it was my first retail experience there was much I needed to learn but Zellers gave me many opportunities to serve customers in a friendly fashion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 May 2017
I worked here while I was in middle/high school, and it was very good. I enjoyed working for the managers there, and it was close to my home so going there was easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zellers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,043 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7