Find companies:
Zellers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
542 reviews

Zellers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal
Salesperson/Cashier (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCApril 10, 2014
Cons: on your feet in one spot for 6 or more hours at a time
this was just a temporary position, because although I was good with the electronics I had been hired to sell, my mother worked for them company as well. Despite other family members working under the same roof, little consideration was given to me to further my skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at Zellers
Cashier (Former Employee), Brampton, ONApril 9, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: slow pace
a typical day at work would be meeting new people and cashing them out. I learned effective communication at zellers. The co workers were not as nice, so it was not a fun environment to be in. The hardest part would be to stay at work on slow days, and most days were slow. The most enjoyable part was speaking to customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
cashier (Former Employee), 100 bayshoreApril 7, 2014
responsibly
great team work
good hours of shift
good team manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun to work there.
Door To Floor Associate (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONApril 4, 2014
Pros: very good breaks
Cons: long hours.
typical day at work was stocking shelves and setting up displays and learned how to read planograms, management was very friendly and co-workers were very fun and helpful to work with the hardest part of the job was when setting up displays a lot of the time we had very few supplies to work with so had to come up with ways to get it done and the most – more... enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction of knowing we had done a very good job and fun doing it also knowing that the job was completed 100% when we were done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start
Cashier / Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee), Barrie ONApril 3, 2014
Zellers was a great start for myself, it gave me a lot of experience and gave me the key holder experience I needed to obtain other jobs. I worked with a great team there and enjoyed my time there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid place to work
Store General Manager (Former Employee), OntarioMarch 25, 2014
Provided opportunity for those who worked hard and wanted to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job offered good experience in the retail business
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), montrealMarch 22, 2014
A typical day was solving customer's requests and finding solutions to their problems.

I learnt to be confident in dealing with difficult customers in the retail business.

Management was very co-operative.

Co-workers were very friendly and helpful.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with difficult customers specially those who did not agree – more... with company return policy.

The most enjoyable part of the job was when customers and Management would compliment me on best service offered to customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Cashier (Former Employee), Midland, ONMarch 20, 2014
Zellers was a great Canadian company, I loved all there products. I was happy to work their, its a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greeting and serving customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), scarbooroguhMarch 16, 2014
Pros: good break time
Cons: long hour
It was overall a good place to work with helpful managers, flexible hours even though it was only for a short time before store closing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocking shelves, checking inventory
Floor Hand (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONMarch 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
hard working at zellers working in the warehouse checking inventory stocking shelves and checking prices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place that felt like family
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 10, 2014
Customer Service Full time associate Jewerlly & Cosmetics
Ordered makeup, stocked shelves, served at Jewerlly counter
set-up and displays, merchandizing
on hand corrections, price management, plan-o-grams
Cash, sales, maintaining dept.
The hardest part of the job was when we were out of stock that was advertized
The most enjoyable part of the job was – more... meeting people and getting to help them, we had many regulars that came in to see us whether they bought anything or not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Cashier/ customer service, (Former Employee), Goderich, ONMarch 10, 2014
greeting and serving customers
returning of stock,checking reward points, computer knowledgeable
use of bank cards, credit cards,handling cash.
learned to follow plan-o-grams and fill with stock.
met really great co-workers and still remain friends
hardest part of my job was walking away on the last day of closing.
most enjoyable was serving and greeting – more... people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company o bad it closed
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee), Guelph, ONMarch 9, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: it closed
great staff, good atmosphere , the hardest part was saying goodbye when we closed. my most enjoyable was all the customers i have met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would have stayed if I was in another department
Cashier (Former Employee), North Bay, ONMarch 9, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: a lot of standing
Admittedly I was pretty young when I had this job but I very much enjoyed it. I only left because I returned to school and because they wouldn't move me departments but I watched others do so. The management was good most days and my co-workers were all great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zellers experienced employ review
Employee at Zellers (Former Employee), Milton, ONMarch 7, 2014
Pros: i could take off more time for lunch, based on the number of employees that were available. and still got same about of money
Cons: long hours of work
come earlier than the stores actully open and we just adjust a few things (clean-up, or help in stocking items).
we get into our positions, as doors open for zellers, and we greet them by saying(good morning, how may i help you, have a nice day, see you next time, etc).
my main position; is cashier. therefore i help purchasing items, and with any sale – more... related questions that i may be aware about.
i work on weekends mostly from 9am to 5pm or 5pm to 10pm. depending on the longer shirts i work, i have two lunch breaks.
i have learned public speech and communicating with public in a positive manner (such as welcoming them, smiling, and making them feel welcomed, being loyal and respectful). the zellers team is very encouraging and welcoming and gives you proper training. my co-workers, were slightl older than me, but they were very hekpful and co-operative. i loved helping out the people, when they wanted to find out something or needed help with something. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people but not great company.
Cashier (Former Employee), London, ONMarch 7, 2014
HBC seems like a faceless organization but the people you work with day to day were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zellers
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2014
Working at Zellers was a good job for me when i was still in high school as they provided hours that would work with my schooling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
zellers cafe
Cook (Former Employee), St. Albert, ABMarch 3, 2014
Pros: benifets
Cons: long closes
starting working part time at frist was in grade 10 when i started. i learn a good work ethic their, and more importantly how to deal with stress.

management was alway really well, was always understanding and fair. Never had any problems with coworkers.

The hardest part was we were really understaffed for a long time maybe 2 years. I really enjoyed – more... working with the people their they were really fun to work with have nothing but found memories their. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
days go by quick
Senior Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), 2900 warden aveFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: meeting new people every day.
Cons: some long days
I loaded and unloaded trailers of merchandice for company. took care of all courriers. looked after all paper work. I get along with everybody and enjoy learning new challenges. able to use blue giant hand jacks,and stackers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice co worker
Cosmetician (Former Employee), toronto,onFebruary 26, 2014
overallit was fun workin at zellers typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job

1 2 3 4 5

About Zellers

Zellers Inc. is Canada's second-largest chain of mass merchandise discount stores, with locations in communities across Canada. – Read more