Zellers Employee Reviews

Found 989 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fasted paced fun place to work
Sales assocate/cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 March 2017
worked at Zellers for 10 years till the closed
I felt like family, being part of a team
we all worked together helping each other
A real good team, taking care of the customers needs
helping out in all the areas, when the needed help.
staying longer when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place
CASHIER,WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 March 2017
mcphillips location sucked but polo park was great. got more respect. and full time, more busy and more hours. i regret going back to cashier part time.. instead of full time waitress
Pros
15 % discount
Cons
hours sucked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON6 March 2017
I worked there as a student and they were flexible with my hours for school and went out of their way to ensure their employees were taken care of. It was always fun.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB2 March 2017
Zellers was one of my first real jobs, I loved retail. Management was great and they always had the hours i you were willing to work for them. unfortunately it was next to impossible to get full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
firm job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 February 2017
it was an exciting experience to work for such a company , very simple job with growth opportunity with in the management rule ,a good job for students .
Pros
simple
Cons
only good for students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace learned alot about shipping and receiveing
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK28 February 2017
It was a good job only thing that sucked was that I was only needed till christmas. Cause it was only temp work till christmas but I learned alot bout shipping and receiveing. And also how paper work is a key part in it also how to read the labels on boxes and whatnot...
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Only needed till christmas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Fashion Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 February 2017
It was a good place to work at the time but it was not a great company to work for. Employee happiness was not a priority and advancement was not easily obtainable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good experience
Retail/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB24 February 2017
the time i worked here the owner was very rude, didnt care much about employees and had no sympathy for any of the other staff members. manager was great, owner not so much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really good place to work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 February 2017
my experience working here was amazing. It was a fun and enjoyable environment to be in. i would most definitely recommend working here to a friend. 10/10
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MMT Associate
Product Management Associate (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON20 February 2017
Stocked Shelves and priced items, This was a good job I dealt with customers and answered their questions.I also unloaded stock from the back and re stocked overstock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 February 2017
Zellers was a fun place to work. it was a great company and its sad to have seen it go. it simply was an easy job and I would've highly recommended it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Following company policies and ensuring all staff do the same
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2017
As supervisor one is responsible for hiring of new staff, training, menu planning, ordering and monthly inventory. This was a very demanding but fun job and I only left the supervisory position because I was promoted to a Regional Manager with the same company.
Pros
Set my own hours
Cons
working mostly every weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work before store closed
Cashier Lead (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON14 February 2017
Typical retail environment pros and cons associated with the job. Before store was liquidated and closed it had career advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing working environment with excellent staff and management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North York, ON13 February 2017
Easily one of the greatest jobs I have held thus far with a fantastic team of staff and an incredible management system. Everyone worked together as a unit and was both accepting and accommodating of everyone's individual strengths, qualities, and needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place was a mess
Customer Service Associate (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 February 2017
Is it any wonder this place no longer exists? The place was messy even though barely anyone shopped there. The hardest part of the job was keeping my sanity in this post-apocalyptic looking environment.
Pros
Quiet most of the time
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK31 January 2017
It was a good place, awesome people, good place to work loved to learn new things every day, the best part about working there that I likes the most was speaking on the intercom and when I finally got used to doing everything they decided to let me go just before my 3 month probation ended which was unfortunate and then they closed down for good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON22 January 2017
My day was always different depending on the customers but overall it was a great place to work and to assist customers so they had an enjoyable shopping experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 January 2017
typical day would be greeting customers
helping with customer needs
management was excellent, great people
most enjoyable part of the job was the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environtment in Ottawa
Men Fashion Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 January 2017
My name is Nghia Huynh.
I liked working in retail and sales, especially for Men Fashion Dept at Zellers, nearly 6 years of experience.
I enjoyed giving my expertise in men fashion trend for clothing as well as footwear.

Zellers job was easy for me as same as working in the family store.
My supervisor was extremely patient and tolerant to me and I think that was my devotion to the company.
Pros
Nice working environtment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store is closed
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  ottawa12 January 2017
The day was never the same. Sometimes you would be in customer service or on cash or putting out stock. The people were great to work with. I made a lot of friends who I am still friends with after the store closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zellers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,005 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7