Zellers Employee Reviews

Found 1,005 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 April 2017
They are good at keeping employees busy and on task. The managers are happy and outgoing. The store is very well kept and maintained. They reward employees for hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed Down
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC28 April 2017
Hardest part of the job was dealing with upset customers.
Typical day at work would be, helping customers, processing there orders. Putting away returns, opening and closing of tills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON19 April 2017
Typical day would be assisting customers and working on front line cash.
I learned how to achieve great customer service. As it was my first job I learned how to treat each customers needs differently striving to give them great customer satisfaction.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the experience I gained and advancing to cashier supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, positive, family type environment
N/A (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB18 April 2017
So sad to have had to say goodbye to such a wonderful workplace. Not a bad thing to say about working here! Some great memories were made and days were enjoyed here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail store
Stock Associate/ Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 April 2017
Zellers was a typical retail store to work for. They didn't really care about their employees. The pay was no good. They were not very flexible with hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for improvement
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 April 2017
Department managers were great, and accessible whenever needed. HR management was a totally different story.
Overall experience was great, the work environment was excellent and the company offered a lot of intensives to advance career wise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always have fun in everything you do, people will want to be around!
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 April 2017
Review all areas of store prior to setting objectives for the day.
Meet with associates and review objectives with an open mind to include their objective so everything is completed in a timely manner.
Always try to find the quickest, most efficient and productive way to complete tasks assigned.
Always have an open mind to allow new ways of completing tasks effectively.
Always try to promote a fun environment.
Remember that clients are around and to promote a safe environment for everyone.
Everyday is a new day and a learning experience.
Communication is vital to every aspect of retail.
Pros
Training courses!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonder fun place to work
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON3 April 2017
This was my first job, it was one of the best experiences I ever had. The staff was always willing to help when they could. I learned a lot of new things working there. I would most likely still be working there if the store hadn't closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with management and staff.
Night Crew (Former Employee) –  Westbank, BC3 April 2017
Willing to employ and train me even though I had a full time position. Management were willing to give me a full time position when I asked and continued to train me in several areas. Found the positions interesting and enjoyed the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB31 March 2017
when it was open when I worked there I wasn't there to long but i was fine with how it was run and how I was treated. staff were welcoming and management was very good from what I saw.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very organized or planned out
Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON27 March 2017
My review of this company will not be becoming of them. So therefore I have nothing to say regarding the employer.I did not feel the employer cared at all for there employees.
Pros
ESA
Cons
there neglect for the ESA
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fasted paced fun place to work
Sales assocate/cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 March 2017
worked at Zellers for 10 years till the closed
I felt like family, being part of a team
we all worked together helping each other
A real good team, taking care of the customers needs
helping out in all the areas, when the needed help.
staying longer when needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place
CASHIER,WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 March 2017
mcphillips location sucked but polo park was great. got more respect. and full time, more busy and more hours. i regret going back to cashier part time.. instead of full time waitress
Pros
15 % discount
Cons
hours sucked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON6 March 2017
I worked there as a student and they were flexible with my hours for school and went out of their way to ensure their employees were taken care of. It was always fun.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB2 March 2017
Zellers was one of my first real jobs, I loved retail. Management was great and they always had the hours i you were willing to work for them. unfortunately it was next to impossible to get full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
firm job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 February 2017
it was an exciting experience to work for such a company , very simple job with growth opportunity with in the management rule ,a good job for students .
Pros
simple
Cons
only good for students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace learned alot about shipping and receiveing
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK28 February 2017
It was a good job only thing that sucked was that I was only needed till christmas. Cause it was only temp work till christmas but I learned alot bout shipping and receiveing. And also how paper work is a key part in it also how to read the labels on boxes and whatnot...
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Only needed till christmas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Fashion Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 February 2017
It was a good place to work at the time but it was not a great company to work for. Employee happiness was not a priority and advancement was not easily obtainable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good experience
Retail/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB24 February 2017
the time i worked here the owner was very rude, didnt care much about employees and had no sympathy for any of the other staff members. manager was great, owner not so much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really good place to work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 February 2017
my experience working here was amazing. It was a fun and enjoyable environment to be in. i would most definitely recommend working here to a friend. 10/10
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zellers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,020 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7