Zellers Employee Reviews

Found 989 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall excellent company to work for.
Stockroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB6 October 2016
Your day starts very early as we set up for incoming freight and organized skids for the evening restock crew. I spent most of the day picking items for all departments. I enjoyed working with all the staff and management, learning about logistics, time management and general people pleasing skills.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
too much middle management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON6 March 2017
I worked there as a student and they were flexible with my hours for school and went out of their way to ensure their employees were taken care of. It was always fun.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zellers
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 October 2016
A typical day at work was to open stock and put it out, and while doing this I also had to attend to customer needs, and I would also be available to the cashiers to verify prices via the cashier phones. I also was the fitting room attendant which at times I could be on one side of the store and have to quickly go over to the next side to attend to customers waiting for a fitting room. While doing all of this I was also in charge of making sure my department (lingerie and fitting rooms) were all clean, clear, and safe for customers and co-workers. I learned how to multi-task efficiently, and the importance of teamwork. Management was supportive at times, and my co-workers were always very supportive, and able to assist when and how I needed. The hardest part of the job was keeping an irate customer calm, but by working on this objective I was able to overcome this. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new individuals and becoming a work family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace learned alot about shipping and receiveing
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK28 February 2017
It was a good job only thing that sucked was that I was only needed till christmas. Cause it was only temp work till christmas but I learned alot bout shipping and receiveing. And also how paper work is a key part in it also how to read the labels on boxes and whatnot...
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Only needed till christmas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant company to work for in overnight programming, setup, ladies wear, mens wear, shoes, etc. I worked in inventory as well.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON30 December 2016
A typical day at work included a little cashier work, lots off cleanup in different departments, restocking, planogram and more.

I learnt cashier work, planogram, customer service and more.

Management were very nice and easy to work for.

The most enjoyable part of this job is dealing with customers.
Pros
Excellant place to work
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing working environment with excellent staff and management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North York, ON13 February 2017
Easily one of the greatest jobs I have held thus far with a fantastic team of staff and an incredible management system. Everyone worked together as a unit and was both accepting and accommodating of everyone's individual strengths, qualities, and needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great waay to start work .
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON14 December 2016
supervised departments & checkouts
Did bank deposits
closed store and set alarms each evening I worked
Co-workers were great
Hardest part long hours very little home time no balance
Pros
experience to work
Cons
long hours and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environtment in Ottawa
Men Fashion Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 January 2017
My name is Nghia Huynh.
I liked working in retail and sales, especially for Men Fashion Dept at Zellers, nearly 6 years of experience.
I enjoyed giving my expertise in men fashion trend for clothing as well as footwear.

Zellers job was easy for me as same as working in the family store.
My supervisor was extremely patient and tolerant to me and I think that was my devotion to the company.
Pros
Nice working environtment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job; pleasant work environment, great co-workers
Overnight crew (M.M.T.) (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 September 2016
I enjoyed working at Zellers. I worked overnights as shipper/receiver. My coworkers were great. We worked well as a team.
We loaded and unloaded merchandise, stocked shelves, cleaned and organized stock and shelves
Management was good. I was still sleeping well during the day so this job was a good fit for me at that time.
This job ended because the Zellers stores closed in Winnipeg.
Pros
Good work environment, good team work
Cons
Store closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
firm job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 February 2017
it was an exciting experience to work for such a company , very simple job with growth opportunity with in the management rule ,a good job for students .
Pros
simple
Cons
only good for students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Fashion Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 February 2017
It was a good place to work at the time but it was not a great company to work for. Employee happiness was not a priority and advancement was not easily obtainable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and rewarding
OVERNIGHT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 May 2016
Typical day...Reviewed work needed for the day with evening manager.
Organized stock for the different staff in different departments.
Put out stock and follow up with staff to ensure work is done productively and problems that arise are solved.
Signage is up properly.
Review new information and concerns with opening manager.

I learned how to best utilize my time and others. I also learned how to work with other management and organize staff.

Management was helpful and fun to work with.

I enjoyed working with a very hard working group of people.

The hardest part of my job was working long hours (min 10).

I really enjoyed working with the merchandise and seeing displays come together.
Pros
Job Satisfaction (seeing things come together)
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 January 2017
typical day would be greeting customers
helping with customer needs
management was excellent, great people
most enjoyable part of the job was the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work before store closed
Cashier Lead (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON14 February 2017
Typical retail environment pros and cons associated with the job. Before store was liquidated and closed it had career advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Following company policies and ensuring all staff do the same
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2017
As supervisor one is responsible for hiring of new staff, training, menu planning, ordering and monthly inventory. This was a very demanding but fun job and I only left the supervisory position because I was promoted to a Regional Manager with the same company.
Pros
Set my own hours
Cons
working mostly every weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB2 March 2017
Zellers was one of my first real jobs, I loved retail. Management was great and they always had the hours i you were willing to work for them. unfortunately it was next to impossible to get full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON15 December 2016
-Fun Workplace
-Great Management
-Amazing Atmosphere to work in
-Friendly Co-workers
-Great pay and comfortable wage
-Great place to start of work and to gain experience
Pros
Great Environment
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK31 January 2017
It was a good place, awesome people, good place to work loved to learn new things every day, the best part about working there that I likes the most was speaking on the intercom and when I finally got used to doing everything they decided to let me go just before my 3 month probation ended which was unfortunate and then they closed down for good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Welcoming
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON16 December 2016
Staff were friendly and polite, very inviting. Work was always fun, never boring. Very accommodating. Management was competent and friendly. Supportive environment.
Pros
Felt welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL31 July 2016
Very busy and demanding job. Worked well with fellow employees. Unfortunatley, inadequate staff were absent daily . Management failed to staff proper employees too often.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zellers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,005 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7
70%

CEO Approval

Based on 88 ratings
Add your rating