Find companies:
Zellers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
620 reviews

Zellers Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work hand down
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 15, 2014
Pros: time and a half on holidays
Cons: long hours
This was one of the best jobs I had, a typical day at work involved me assisting customers, providing excellent customer service. Working at this job I learned patience and how to deal with people on a daily basis. Management was there for me every step of the way with anything I needed. Co-workers were friendly, I always say treat people how you want – more... to be treated so I live by that motto so it has stuck with me in every job I have. Honestly there is no hard aspect to job because I enjoy every last part to the fullest. Most enjoyable part of this job was seeing customers happy when you can assist them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 13, 2014
Fun job you get to deal with funny people. Management is good, they care for there employers a lot. Co-workers makes the job easier. I wouldn't say handling grumpy customers is the hardest part of the job but sometimes there are just people that get into your nerves you know. But honestly I miss this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive an fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 11, 2014
I liked working at Zellers the management was great.I made a few colleagues,my co-workers were friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First high school job.
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: flexable hours and friendly coworkers.
Cons: their were not any cons.
This is was my first job ever. My main work duties involved with customer relation and stock up. Most of my shift were in the evening to night. Closing up were fairly easy and afterwards some of my coworkers and I would grab some Tim's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work, fun and family oriented.
Cashier (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 24, 2014
Really a fun place to work every body was a part of the big familly who looks after each other. The management was a very accessible easy to talk and present any issues. We all were working as a fun team work and the day was going so smooth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a cashier at Zellers
Cashier (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 21, 2014
Pros: good atmosphere, nice people, not too busy
Cons: bad salary
Typical day at work is signing in, greeting people, check out peoples items, make sure front of the store is clean and organized. Hardest part of the job is remembering the different codes but it wasn't that bad after the first couple weeks. Most enjoyable part is the nice people you get to work with and nice customers. Overall it was a good place to – more... work at and i gained a lot of experience and knowledge while working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a cashier at Zellers
Cashier (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 21, 2014
Pros: good atmosphere, nice people, not too busy
Cons: bad salary
Typical day at work is signing in, greeting people, check out peoples items, make sure front of the store is clean and organized. Hardest part of the job is remembering the different codes but it wasn't that bad after the first couple weeks. Most enjoyable part is the nice people you get to work with and nice customers. Overall it was a good place to – more... work at and i gained a lot of experience and knowledge while working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Summary
Part time Retail (Former Employee), Barrie, ONOctober 21, 2014
Pros: i am great with customers
Cons: work weekdays and weekends
 8 years’ experience working in a variety of customer service and sales roles
 Increased business through effective customer service which ensured customers were listened to and understood options
 Experienced and skilled at organizing displays which received positive feedback from customers
 Great team worker with a friendly and fun attitude
 – more... Dependable worker with a history of being punctual – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zellers was like a family working together
Cashier/cash office, and H.R.Admin (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCOctober 15, 2014
Start day at 6am, sorted paperwork from overnite, did payroll, checked schedules, took sick calls, filled shifts answer phones til store opened, then completed other HR duties. I learned many of the HR duties as when I took over this position the other HR had left already, but the programs the Zellers had in place were very informative.There was always – more... changes to the management group and I just adapted as all came with different ideas. I can say I got along well with co-workers and staff. The only hard part was trying to schedule with a given salary, as you want to give everyone some hours. I enjoyed working for Zellers and I miss Zellers and the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee), Dartmouth, Nova ScotiaOctober 10, 2014
Pros: assisting with different departments daily
Cons: not being able to assist customers all at once
A typical day at Zellers consisted of:

• Interacting with customers/colleagues to maintain company quality standards
• Assisting in the up-selling of products and services to clients ensuring increase in revenue
• Operating cash register: cash, credit card, debit transactions, and discounted promotions
• Handling cash reports daily to ensure proper – more... sales calculations
• Multitasking effectively in stressful or non-stressful environment
• Motivating and organizing teams to exceed their interpersonal skills
• Etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxing work environment
Store Team Worker - Seasonal (Former Employee), Kanata, ONOctober 8, 2014
Enjoyed working for Zellers as a seasonal worker. Worked with stocking shelves, labeling, and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zellers was a great place to work
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Maple Ridge, BCOctober 5, 2014
Zellers was a great place to work and grow. I started as a part time cashier working evenings and weekends and 21 years later I was the operations manager at the same store in Maple Ridge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very happy to have had the experience of work in retail
Fitting Room Attendant (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 5, 2014
Pros: pizza days, celebrating an employee's birthday with cake, showers for staff, farewell celebrations for employees
I found there were a lot of cliques at the Simcoe St store and if you weren't a longtime employee, you just didn't fit in. I liked my job but I felt like I never fit in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable workplace that I looked forward to going to everyday
Merchandisw Associate (Former Employee), Alliston, ONSeptember 27, 2014
Zellers was a productive and enjoyable workplace, I enjoyed getting to know my co-workers and still maintain those friendships after the store closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employe
Cashier (Former Employee), MontrealSeptember 26, 2014
I worked as a cashier and absolutely loved the work environment. I was good at what I did and was promoted to work in customer service. I am great with people and was quickly trained to supervise at the cashes at only 18!!! Shortly after, an employement opportunity came up at the hospital and I left Zelles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Listowel, ONSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: wonderful co workers
Cons: long hours
Company went under and closed but it was still a good place to work with good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
LEAD CASHIER AND CHECKOUT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Whitby,ONSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: happy enviroment
Cons: laid off
Great company to work for. Always room for advancement.Cross training available. Unfortunately Zellers closed permanently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met new people, learned a few new skills.
Cashier/Cleaning Crew (Former Employee), Hanover, ONSeptember 15, 2014
I liked the fact that while doing cleaning crew work, I was allowed to listen to my Ipod as long as my work got done. I am more productive while listening to my own music.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Rec area person replenishing stock (Former Employee), peterborough ontarioSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: friendly managment and staff
cleaned store early in the morning then shipping for the rest of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a good place to work.
Cash Office Associate (Former Employee), Alliston, ONSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: holiday parties, benefites for part-time employees
Cons: in small room with no windows
I pretty much worked alone. The management were great so were the co-workers of what I saw of them. Finding the errors in the cash registers. Working with numbers and alone.

1 2 3 4 5

About Zellers

Zellers Inc. is Canada's second-largest chain of mass merchandise discount stores, with locations in communities across Canada. – Read more