Zellers Employee Reviews

Found 937 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job; pleasant work environment, great co-workers
Overnight crew (M.M.T.) (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBSeptember 28, 2016
I enjoyed working at Zellers. I worked overnights as shipper/receiver. My coworkers were great. We worked well as a team.
We loaded and unloaded merchandise, stocked shelves, cleaned and organized stock and shelves
Management was good. I was still sleeping well during the day so this job was a good fit for me at that time.
This job ended because the Zellers stores closed in Winnipeg.
Pros
Good work environment, good team work
Cons
Store closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the outine i made for myself.
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONSeptember 20, 2016
I wish there zellers was still here I would so love to go back to work there stocking their shelves an helping out people.
It was pretty relaxed over all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn on a first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCSeptember 15, 2016
This was a great place to work as a first job for me to learn how to communicate with people not just my coworkers but the general public. learning how to work fast, and effectively especially during peak times like Christmas.
Pros
located in a mall
Cons
disorganized management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was like a family
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  MississaugaAugust 31, 2016
Zellers was a great place to work. It was like a big family we all looked out for each other. Which in turn meant we got things done we all worked together. It was very busy at times but then we pulled together. A lot of wonderful repetitive customers because of the atmosphere.
Pros
Team players
Cons
Closed down way to early
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKAugust 26, 2016
It was very productive and fun environment to work in I wish it didn't close down but oh well. It was an awesome place to experience work at.
Pros
breaks were nice
Cons
Store closure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Picker/Stocker Hamilton Ontario (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONAugust 24, 2016
management was fantastic
used forklifts order pickers
early start early finishes 5 am start
steady shifts
environment was fast paced
unloaded trucks
Pros
people were so respectful and genuine
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONAugust 12, 2016
I got along with everyone I worked with. If I had been kept on longer than the couple months of seasonal work, I could see myself advancing in their company. I enjoyed working in the jewelry department more than being a cashier. The only issue was pushing the credit card. That was my biggest downfall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer service experience
Customer Service desk (Former Employee) –  Lindsay, ONAugust 7, 2016
as a service desk employee, i got to experience all the shining faces first hand. while also changing some frowns to smiles as the day went through.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 31, 2016
Very busy and demanding job. Worked well with fellow employees. Unfortunatley, inadequate staff were absent daily . Management failed to staff proper employees too often.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didnt like the managment
Stock room associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 28, 2016
Management always dumped work on me, yelled at me and was not a good work environment . It was understaffed and I didn't get the breaks I was supposed to have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSJuly 20, 2016
The best part of working here was meeting a wide variety of people and help them make decorating choices.
The worst part was not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my career
Fashion Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ONJuly 10, 2016
I started Zellers in 1991 and I tip my hat to the life it has allowed me to enjoy.It allowed me to learn how a business conducted from behind the scenes.
Pros
It was a wonderful learning curve for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince Rupert, BCJuly 9, 2016
a good place to start out when you first need customer service experience i would recommend working here again. i miss working here and would love to work at Zellers again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good place to start
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 6, 2016
good place to start as a teen. No longer exists now. Retail is a great place for young people to get a start and make some money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment, helpful management
Records management (Former Employee) –  Welland, ONJune 30, 2016
Enjoyed working within the retail culture, always learning something new and expanding my knowledge of store operations.
Constantly seeking out solutions to help maintain productivity and to enable a more profitable margin for the retail establishment.
Pros
Company discount was offered, paid vacation upon accrual
Cons
little margin for advancement within the company regardless of senority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QCJune 15, 2016
Got to experience customer service, the different work to do before closing a store. Met different people.Created new connection , new friendship.
Cons
closing store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interactive with team, productive and motivated to get the job done
Merchandise Renovation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 8, 2016
A typical overnight shift as a Renovation crew member at Zellers was very fulfilling with great encouragement given by Team leaders, Supervisors and other members of staff who are all very explicit and I am thankful of being able to follow instructions. Co-workers i.e. team members all complied to have a successful renovation in designs, fixtures, shelving, stocking and inventory, pricing and printing expiry dates. Some day shifts were available in customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJune 6, 2016
good management
have a very close friendship with the supervisor
very close with co worker
helping the customer and restocking all day
learned how to make customer happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Staff
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ONJune 3, 2016
My co-workers were amazing, and very helpful especially when I first started working there. They were remarkably flexible with allowing me to do co-op as well as employment through there. I was able to do co-op for schooling from 1:00 PM until 3:00 PM and I was scheduled on none co-op week days as well as weekends for paid work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
floor and cashier duties
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 31, 2016
helped with customer service directing customers to the proper aisles and product, did cashier operations as well. A day on the floor would include; putting up signage, cleanup of aisles, organizing, and answering customers questions or helping them with products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 952 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7