ZARA Employee Reviews

Found 128 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job i've ever had
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON15 October 2017
Zara treats their employees like slaves, the management has no respect for anyone. Typical day at work includes replenishing the floor with clothes and helping customers get what they need. If you are cash trained you also work on cash. On truck days, unpacking boxes and putting everything out is essential for every employee. Work is work and that is fine but the fact that the managers don't contribute in making a friendly atmosphere for everyone really sucks. Even co-workers are miserable and rude. If I could rate zara a 0, I would.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, bad management, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work envrironement
sales (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 October 2017
I worked at ZARA for over a year and in that year had no problems with management staff. I did not enjoy the management staffs attitude towards their employees but the one redeeming quality of working at ZARA was that you got to work with people that are like minded. A lot of ZARA employees are into high/fast fashion and you can really learn a lot from them. While working there you don't really have to push any sort of customer service, you can just let them do their thing and not nag them which is something a lot of people have come to appreciate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC4 October 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Zara despite not having much knowledge about the company prior I learned a lot very quickly and grew to love the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place but always busy
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 October 2017
I learned how to provide customer service, how to handle cash, and working as a member of team. it is an amazing experience. very friendly atmosphere. specially the morning meetings with all the team works and plays. the hardest part is to provide good customer service during sale season when there are not enough staff on the floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 September 2017
it was a very fast paced, and busy store but good pay and atmosphere. They were advanced in the technology using iPads to locate merchandise and orders, which was very easy for us employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to be in.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON11 September 2017
The most enjoyable part being a sales associate is the employees you work with also great discounts and you'll learn to have a sense of fashion. What makes the job difficult is dealing with customers who are impatient and the odd time rude. Working at the Burlington location, management is fantastic, especially with student schedules.
Pros
really good with student schedules
Cons
long hours and frustrating customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier/Sales Associate
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  North York, ON5 September 2017
Only resigned because I was travelling for over a month. Loved my co-workers, my managers were easy to talk to, the overall atmosphere was great, and the hours weren't so bad.

I usually opened. Usually with full-timers. Clean up, organize the cash desk, open cash, make sure the floor is clean, then have morning meeting with the team that morning. Theyd discuss how the store has been doing, managers communicate to the staff about what needs to be done that day. Morning meetings are great because they prepare the staff for the day.

Closing was a lot more fun than opening because I'm working with part-timers/students my age. Closing cash and making sure the floor is clean.

During the day, the most stressful part is making sure the floor is clean (running fits) while helping out customers especially during Sale. As a cashier, you'd have to deal with a lot of customer complaints.

Great training ground. Great first job.
Pros
co-workers, great atmosphere, ok discount
Cons
Long hours during sale, short hours during the slow months, head office is intimidating, they should change the music, the two-week vacation rule
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, nice clothing and great management
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC30 August 2017
A typical day in Zara for me was to figure out sales, merchandise and to help out cashiers as a head cashier. The atmosphere was great, very friendly and fun place to be.
Pros
Great Discounts
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing managers
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Yorkdale, ON22 August 2017
overall Zara is a nice store to work at. its full of amazing co workers and managers. i believe the pay could be better due to it being such a popular store. it could be more organized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful staffing
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 July 2017
great place to work if management was better. nice urban fashion, good break period, nice and friendly place to work in. overall good and fun place to work in.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
double shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and busy place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC22 July 2017
fun place and a lot of people of diff cultures come here and I personally recommend it but the work hours are not great and the schedules are not set prperly
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploi enrichissant
Caissière / service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC5 July 2017
En travaillant pour ZARA, j'ai appris sur la compagnie Inditex ainsi que leurs partenaires. sur les types de tissus, le merchandising et la vente.
L'équipe était très agréable et les employés professionnels.

J'ai également acquis plus de patience et d'entregent en travaillant au service à la clientèle. Le travail sous pression est maintenant une partie de mon quotidien, mais la pression ne me dérange pas, je la supporte maintenant très bien.

Mes horaires de travail s'insèrent parfaitement dans mon horaire d'école, qui est plutot léger. Pendant les périodes de vacances d'école, j'ai travaillé temps plein et appris comment le magasin fonctionnait vraiment - quelles étaient les tâches hebdomadaires - ce que je ne voyais pas nécessairement en travaillant les soirs et fin de semaine.

Somme toute, mon expérience chez ZARA est enrichissante.
Pros
Rabais de 25% et possibilité de transfert dans les autres magasins
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Decent Store
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON2 July 2017
It's not too bad to work, but retail is hectic on its own. So if you don't mind fast pace and hectic work environments, this place isn't too bad at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace to grow your network
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 June 2017
A typical day at work will consist of serving customers, making sure the space is nice and tidy as well as consistently replenishing the floor with products.
Pros
Grow your network by meeting a lot of interesting people
Cons
not enough room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier- Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 June 2017
Zara is great job if you get the right mangers that know how to have fun and know how to balance work and your soical work. Working at zara is not hard every job is pretty fair
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaos
Sales/Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 May 2017
Overall working at Zara made me never want to set foot in the store again. Management at the time was very unorganized and made it seem like it was ones own fault. They treat their employees like trash always talking down being very condescending and rude when you didn't even deserve it. The store was always very messy and chaotic as well as long overdue for a renovation. Clean up was a nightmare although this was the customers fault because they would just throw things all over the place and their wasnt enough presence on the floor to deal with these matters until close. the most enjoyable part was that I met some truly friendly people but I also met all sorts of liars and people that would smile at you and steal your employee card, as well as $25 christmas cards.
Pros
Good pay and good hours when you're needed
Cons
Rude management, poor work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers terrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2017
Ok place to start in retail...truck days felt like slavery days especially considering the mall didn't turn the a/c on till the mall opened so imagine doing truck in a hot store especially during the summer. The amount of work that has to be put in for the dollas they pay you I don't think is worth it. Their thing is you don't question the managers which I don't think is right cause sometimes the managers don't even know what they're doing and they like to pick and choose who they want to be nice to and if they don't like you good luck! They ask you to do a million things at once like your a robot or something.
Pros
Coworkers and the discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 May 2017
Management was always all over the place making it very hard to work there. The managers were always snobby and full of themselves. Always blamed everyone else for their mistakes. Very judgemental and there was lots of gossip.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting working environment with interesting people.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 May 2017
I worked at ZARA for over a year and in that year had no problems with management staff, although some of the managers are very stuck up and arrogant. I did not enjoy the management staffs attitude towards their employees but the one redeeming quality of working at ZARA was that you got to work with people that are like minded. A lot of ZARA employees are into high/fast fashion and you can really learn a lot from them. While working there you don't really have to push any sort of customer service, you can just let them do their thing and not nag them which is something a lot of people have come to appreciate.
Pros
Long break.
Cons
Poor management staff attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales man
Sales for Zara (Former Employee) –  Kuwait3 May 2017
ZARA MEN
middle east area ( Kuwait )
worked there for almost one year.
it was kind of easy because ZARA is big brand so there is no need to convince people to buy .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ZARA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,864 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8