Yukon Zinc Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our CEO made sure we had tv's and internet to reach our families
Construction Site Administrator (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YTMay 10, 2016
I have enjoyed this work immensely, as well, as Camp life. So many of the people that I worked with I am still in touch with, and hold them dear to me.
Not everyone is made for this kind of work, and I found that the hard times resulted in the best results.
Thank you for receiving my resume.
Pros
Enjoyed meeting the trades, engineers, and construction management
Cons
2 work place deaths
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of things to do after work
Senior Area Manager Construction (Former Employee) –  Yukon CanadaFebruary 28, 2015
Great place to work fast pace, The management and co-workers were great to work with. Good air strip for getting in and out on turnaround.
Pros
lots of day light in summer
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mining beyond budgets
operator (Former Employee) –  YTOctober 1, 2014
They have no money to do things right the first time but always have money to do it again.
Pros
2 weeks in 2 weeks out
Cons
chinese trying to make something work that should never have been started
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small mine with no potential
no comment (Current Employee) –  wolverineSeptember 4, 2014
Worst company Ive ever worked for!
Inept management, nepotism and foreign management who are unethical.
This company continually lies to their employees and leading them down the garden path.
There are some great people, but anyone related to the foreign mgmt, will bring them down.
Pros
the people
Cons
senior execs and no mine life
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very busy place to work
Geological Technician (Former Employee) –  YTApril 8, 2014
Underground Geological Assessments done daily
Walking underground for four hours a day, collecting samples, and data.
I learned alto of time management, computer programs, mapping, sampling, planning
Co workers were alot of fun and very helpful and respectful
The hardest part of my job was walking up from underground out of the portal
The most enjoyable part of my job was the end result of the data compilation and the mining direction I gave.
Pros
comfortable accomodations and gym facilities
Cons
being away from home for two weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New mine
Surface Millwright/Relief Site Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Site ServiceSeptember 9, 2013
It's a good place to work but it is a new mine and it has its issue to work out but over all great place, good people and good food.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
camp work
Heavy Equipment Shop Labourer (Current Employee) –  yukon territoryAugust 22, 2013
work 12 hour days 14 days in 14 days off work in the shop and various area's around the mine site. Work is good i enjoy my job working on heavy equipment i just feel my wage is not accordant to the work i do.
Pros
free room and board for 2 weeks only work 6 months of the year but still full time
Cons
no overtime for the long hours, away from home, no recreation
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Mill Operator Level 3 (Former Employee) –  MillJuly 22, 2013
I really enjoyed my time at yukon zinc. it was my first operations position and i look forward to further my experience in the field
Pros
experience
Cons
remote
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Wolverine Lake Yukon CanadaJanuary 29, 2013
Very hard to get a good days work in without frustration. Lack of parts, and direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L'atmosphère de travail est bonne
Caissière (Former Employee) –  ParisAugust 5, 2014
L'avantage pour moi dans cette entreprise, c'est le travail équitable, la façon dont l'entreprise veille pour le bon fonctionnement de ses employés et les avantages sociaux quelle met en place pour ses employés.
Pros
gratuité des repas
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

Yukon Zinc Reviews by Location