Find companies:
York University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
85 reviews

York University Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Background
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), TorontoMay 22, 2014
I am recent graduate from Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv. Also I was studying in Seneca College of Arts and Technology for one semester and my major was International Business. I finished my study in York University at the end of April and my specialization is Master of Economics. In addition to my entrepreneurial side and my university – more... background I also have a chance to work for 8 month as a Accounting Clerk for Canadian company Infinity Medical Group Inc. From this internship I gained strategy, problem solving, detail-orienting and excellent analytical skills that complements my accounting and finance knowledge. This not only made me a better well-rounded person but has also sparked a strong desire for continuous learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic
Minor Official/Event Staff (Former Employee), TorontoMay 21, 2014
Hectic work but fun and enjoyable. Able to work with others which is fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developed and implement a web application using Asp.Net,
Asp.Net Developer (Current Employee), North YorkMay 20, 2014
Developed and implement a web application using Asp.Net, Telerik controls (asp.net, AJAX) and MS SQL Server. The AAPR (Academic and Administrative program) web application provides administrative functionality for site authors to manage and approve student FAQ and other course related records.
• Use Telerik asp.net, AJAX control
• Modified applications – more... according to the business and user requirements
• Completed project under extremely tight timelines
• Responsible for the implementing new code, bug fixes and troubleshooting technical issues
Technical environment: ASP.Net 4.0, Visual Studio, SQL Server – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as a teaching instructor for 14 years during which my professional development reached the heights I strived to reach.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ross SouthMay 15, 2014
A good educational institution with an excellent work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Productive workplace, full-filling and room for growth
Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 15, 2014
Pros: for every survey completed you received commissions
Cons: if your unsuccessful not by choice, it may result in losing hours or possibly terminated. its the nature of this position
A Typical day is extremely invigorating, face-paced, motivating, and a constant challenge.

I've learned quite a bit about surveys and what they promote and stand for. Helping the public, and teaching them new information such as health, and exercise, and also teaching myself of the new studies and information.

Management is great here, always motivating – more... you, and providing you with training to keep your progress going. Giving us new information to learn and perform in our daily jobs. Their always supportive, and informative if anything is challenging

Working with co-workers at this organization is wonderful its based more on a supportive level, helping to keep each other motivated, however it is a one on one working environment.

The hardest part of the job, is not reaching enough people to get surveys completed, it can bring your progress down and result in losing hours.

The most enjoyable part of the job, is hearing what the general public has to say about the new information given for their benefit, and how it impacts their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 7, 2014
• Archived 95% problem resolution rate of all inbound client calls within 15 minutes, best in group
• Synchronized Dominos server with Lotus Notes; facilitated sending and receiving email
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Exam Invigilator (Former Employee), North York, ONApril 30, 2014
Working at York is great; you get to work with fellow students, learn new skills in a new workplace, and create balance between school and work. It teaches you responsibility and being able to function as an independent person after school is done. Working at York University has been a great experience and opportunity, and I would recommend Work/Study – more... jobs to any student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good space for academics and athletics
York (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 30, 2014
enjoying my time at york consider staying for post grad
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace at convocation
MAIN GATE INFORMATION OFFICER (Former Employee), North York, ONApril 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours
its a very fun environment to work at. you see a lot of happy and excited faces and are able to be part of their happiness. A very crucial thing I learnt from this workplace was that even a small little help towards someone can make their day amazing, so its not something to think as not important, everything counts. The management is great, they are – more... nice, helpful and productive. Everything is organized properly and there is always people to help you if you are in need of help. The most enjoyable part of the job would be seeing all the parents that are smiling with joy to see their child graduate and being part of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained many leadership skills
Orientation leader (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 6, 2014
gained many leadership skills. Interacted with large student body. Worked with a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working at york university
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), North York, ONApril 2, 2014
Pros: yess
Cons: long hours with double pay
very big place enjoyed working at york ...enough salary like to go back again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment, friendly atmosphere, inclusive and supportive team
Personal Counselling Intern (Current Employee), Counselling and Disability ServicesMarch 27, 2014
Personal Counselling Services (PCS) at York University is a great field placement for social work students. The environment is rich with learning opportunities and supportive supervisors. The client base is diverse with a broad range of issues. The type of therapy is largely client-centred and eclectic with a multidisciplinary team of counsellors, psychotherapists, – more... psychologists, and social workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 5, 2014
Pros: hours were decent
Cons: the job was only temporary
typical day at york u was fast pace, but only temporary, i did basic cashiers job, come in, pick up my float, open my cash and start taking customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Shift Enginner (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 18, 2014
If you are lucky enough to work here you will be happy 75% of the time which is not a bad thing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great university, but not good location
Research Fellow (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioFebruary 10, 2014
Have a lot of fun and absorb tons of knowledge. Touch lots of cutting the edge technologies in GIS, Telecommunication, and so on. Young group, potential development. Great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience with interacting with new people
Convocation usher (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: great teamwork with other university students and staffs
Cons: more opportunity to work with
-It was a 8-hours job a day
-interacting with new people, especially with graduating families and their friends
-was not an easy job to maintain the place neat and managing the convocation hall, at the end most of their families were very corporate with safety
-communicating with many of graduating families and friends and help them to have a great – more... experience in their life was ready enjoyable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start for career in IT.
Web Developer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: good on resume, great experience, great people.
Cons: less pay, less hours.
Great place to work if you want to jump start professional career. The experience you get is a lot. The environment is flexible and less stressful. You get your own office sometimes shared by another coworker. Plus the job is very good on the resume. Learned a lot from my manager. The environment gives motivation for academics since you have dealing – more... with faculty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for research
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 19, 2014
A great place for research.

I learned some high-dimensional data modeling method.

I met many intelligent professors and students there.

In my group, I met some other graduate student from different universities and we become great friends.

The job is not so easy because you need read paper and write report everyday and keep thinking.

The most enjoyable – more... part is learning new things everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and great environment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 15, 2014
I really enjoyed my co-workers. I was a student at the time and it provided me a great place to work while I pursued my studies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally, it was satisfying to work here because one is involved, although not directly,in the education of mostly young persons.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 15, 2013
Pros: good benefits, flexible work hours
Cons: exposal to dangerous fumes (waste chemicals) and radioactive waste
My work involved dealing with other employees in other departments on a daily basis. I developed great communication skills over the years and enjoyed interacting with others employees. I honed my management skills as this came into play on a daily basis. I also interacted with members of the public as I met with couriers, and salespersons from various – more... businesses. The most enjoyable part of the job was actually my interaction with persons from all walks of life e.g. students, professors, salespersons, couriers and of course my coworkers. – less

About York University

York University is a public research university in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. It is Canada's third-largest university. York University – Read more