Find companies:
York University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

York University Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Research Services Assistant (Former Employee), Office of Research ServicesOctober 7, 2014
Competitive Wages, great team environment and great bosses
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Learning Disabilties Tutor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 5, 2014
lots of politics and York does not conform to its diversity statements. lots of room to develop and deal with institutional racism and nepotism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good academic and working settting
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 1, 2014
Pros: enjoyed interactive workshops and conferences
Cons: a lot of readings and sometimes dealing with assignments that were hard for students to grasp
I learned how to work with people from diverse cultural backgrounds. My work was usually during the day and would leave quite late. My co-workers were helpful and together we worked as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching undergraduate students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 22, 2014
Tutoring on weekly basis.

Assisted professor on exam related tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: excellent for development of teaching skills.
Cons: only offered a part-time position
My typical day at work would be to do the required readings for the given course needed for my work. I would have office hours that involved assisting students with their work of study. The hardest part of my job was rating students with poor marks. The best part of my job was the celebration of their final work, and excellence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly productive and fast paced
Receptionist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: fast paced
Check emails, handled all student inquiries. We were always learning, because new software and programs are always coming out. The hardest part was dealing with students when they were not getting a passing grade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for professional and personal growth
Budget Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: working environment and benefits
Cons: no secondments
Great opportunity for professional and personal growth; always a pleasant team to work with; support from colleagues and management is always evident. Always looking forward to head to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alumini Assistant
Alumini Framing Assistant (Former Employee), TorontoSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours
•Assisted with the sales and distribution of diploma.
•Ensured the diplomas were framed and delivered to the graduates in quick and efficient manner.
•Assisted the convocation coordinator upon request.
•Maintained high team synergy during peak hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great dental, medical, and health benefits.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great staff and management and great benefits.
Faculty secretaries. We were encouraged to take our breaks. Sometimes it got so busy, we forfeited our breaks. I particularly loved putting book reports together. Many of the professors were kind and understanding. They rewarded secretaries on birthdays and on Secretary day. The company had staff development programs where we learned how best to be – more... an extremely effective secretary. I also loved catering and switchboard duties, which the secretaries took turns in doing. The hardest part of the job was assisting people on the telephone who had no clue what department they wanted or needed. This was not a frequent occurrence. We had to figure that out by asking a series of questions and some people did not like that. Yet, they did not know what department they wanted or needed. The co-workers all got along. There may have been one or two disgruntled co-workers. At the end of the day we went home satisfied that we put in an extremely good day at work and we looked forward to coming back to work the following day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flexible and fun enviorment to work in.
EVENTS ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 4, 2014
As an Events Assistant, my shift would start by setting up and cleaning the lobby for the show or event that was taking place that day. Once guests arrive, I would usher them into the theatre and help them to their seats. Any questions that the patrons had would be directed to my and my fellow co-workers. The most difficult part of this job was keeping – more... a pleasant and friendly demeanor after very long events such as competitive events. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and exciting environment that these shows and events can have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and grow
Academic Advisor - Faculty of Science (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 3, 2014
I met amazing people and grew so much in all positions. Held countless positions, some of which were managerial jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operational work
Office of the University Librarian (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 24, 2014
Almost like working for the government - very structures hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Established and Research Intensive
Teaching assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 19, 2014
A vibrant culture with lots of opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance between Work and Study
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 23, 2014
● Advised and tutored 2 courses of 80 students each; supervised exams and enforced course regulations and rules
● Scheduled and maintained regular office hours to meet with students
● Assisted students individually and in small groups in order to help them master assignments and to reinforce learning concepts presented by professors
● Assessed students’ – more... performance by grading exams and other course works, while meeting tight deadlines and providing analysis of class performance
● Performed administrative tasks to assist instructors and facilitate smooth operations – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Student and Teaching Assistant
Teaching assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 14, 2014
The academic environment is encouraging and productive. The research environment is accepting and vibrant.

Students and researchers receive a lot of support and encouragement from faculty and the administration at York.

Glad to be a part of the team here at York.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Admissions Recruitment Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 21, 2014
great univeristy, lots of oportunity to grow academically and learn quality skills to apply in the professional world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 19, 2014
Good Environment
Friendly Coworkers and staff
Learned a lot
Many opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Vice-President ISAY (Current Employee), York, ONJune 11, 2014
Learning how to work as a leader in a team. Learn about new cultures is the most interesting thing about my job. Meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good work environment
Annual Fund Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 6, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work would start off by a fun question or an interesting fact about the work or the clients we are about to talk to. After we were given our duties which included contacting the University's alumni's. In this job I learned how to resolve any objectives and how to handle the all sorts of customers. One of my favourite part about the – more... job was the work environment. It was very friendly and if one of the workers ever had any trouble the managers were always ready to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive goal oriented environment
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 3, 2014
Pros: held annual parties celebrating workers efforts
Cons: long hours
Typical day involved going in and making and setting goals. A team oriented environment

1 2 3 4 5

About York University

York University is a public research university in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. It is Canada's third-largest university. York University – Read more