York Catholic District School Board Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours, good balance
School Secretary (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON12 September 2017
I lenjoy interacting with students and helping out staff whenever needed. The day flies by of how busy the environment can get. I enjoy the work load as well.
Pros
Summers off
Cons
Can get stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job- Unfortunate Seniority Problem
Supply Education Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stouffville, ON5 September 2017
Great having summers off. But unfortunately never knowing when or where you're working. Also applying for jobs you never actually gets to interview for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
French Instructor (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON25 July 2017
As principal I was in charge of the daily school routine, procedures, regulations. Hired staff and confirmed their placement to ensure qualified candidates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very satisfactory
International Language Instructor (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON24 July 2017
Very inclusive and enjoyable. School community was support of the school board initiatives. Training was helpful, to increase productivity in the classroom. Student load was large, and several hours of overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Designated Early Childhood Educator (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON7 June 2017
Great Benefits and good work environment. Collaborative team members and staff. They have a lot of support for staff members. Good working conditions, excellent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and fun
Child and Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON3 June 2017
I support youth with complex needs within a school setting. I have the opportunity to work with many professionals. I enjoy the day to day responsibilities and how each day is different.
I work with children from kindergarten to grade eight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Emergency Supply Teacher (Current Employee) –  Stouffville, ON26 May 2017
Great place to be

Learned so much in 6 months - love being in there

Friendly and very helpful people to work with

My hardest part of the job is not being able to help kids further along when a situation is beyond your care.

Best part of the job is applying my knowledge and afterwards seeing it all come together when the kids are learning and understanding what you have taught them.
Pros
Being close to home
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empower each student to be successful in their own right.
Educational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON7 April 2017
I worked with Special Needs students from JK to High School over a span of nine years from York Public and York Catholic District School Board.

We follow the student's individual program to meet their individual needs. Patience and compassion are some of the qualities needed to ensure students learn in a safe environment.
Pros
Students made noticeable improvements at the end of school year
Cons
Lack of fun time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
School Assistant (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON4 April 2017
At first things were very disorganized, but later on, it got better. You learn people skills. Not really a changing job; every day you do the same thing.
Pros
Free pizza meals
Cons
Overtime, emails outside of work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
LINC Instructor (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON28 January 2017
YCDSB is a great place to work. Everybody is very helpful and friendly. The most enjoyable part of being a supply teacher is that I meet different people all the time.
Pros
Very friendly people
Cons
As a supply teacher, I do not have as many hours as I would like to have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized
Educational Assistant/ Suppy teacher (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON18 January 2017
good company organized and and very nice staff. Love working with different age of school kids. and I loved the hours. So many different schools to choose from and you get summers off
Cons
to many staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Students are great, learning is endless, life is amazing
Educational Assistant (Current Employee) –  50 Aldergrove Dr, Markham16 January 2017
-Planning academics for students in order to obtain goals set on IEPs
-Implementing ABA strategies on a daily bases to produce successful outcomes
-Leading academic programs with students who need extra attention
-Fostering a creative learning environment for students
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with exceptional colleagues!
Summer Procurement Intern - Purchasing Services (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON30 August 2016
I have worked at the school board in the Purchasing Department for two summers now and have loved it. My days consisted of assisting the Assistant Manager of Purchasing and other Purchasing Specialists with the bidding process. I have learned a great deal about procurement and excel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best school board to be employed with
Occasional Teacher (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON14 August 2016
best school board to be employed with
takes care of employees
great standards
hires qualified and knowledgeable staff
strong values and standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A cleaning job
summer student custodian (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON20 May 2016
People were friendly and helpful, did not have anyone pushing you to do work. It was a lot of manual labour, cleaning and moving furniture, but no one was there to boss you around; you were assigned a task and given enough time to do it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job
Print Operator (Former Employee) –  320 Bloomington Rd. W.25 April 2016
-print documents, run mail, relieve reception
-how to use industrial printers
-amazing management, very understanding and flexible
-great co-workers/team
-when the printer breaks, it backs up everything, which results in crunch time
-learning new things was always great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Teacher's Assistant (Volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON25 March 2016
I learned time management and organization. Days are easy. The hardest part was the amount of things do to at once but the most enjoyable was being able to get them finished.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student comes first and understanding their individual needs are key to their success in the school enviroment
Educational Assistant (Former Employee) –  320 Bloomington Road - Aurora, ON8 January 2016
Work with students from kindergarten to high school, on a one-on-one basis, according to their needs.

My day begins by accessing what my students' mood coming to class. Encouragement, patience, and keeping it fun is key to every student in their approach to learn.
Pros
A safe haven for students to learn coping strategies
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spending time with poeple you see opn a daily basis is a great way to strengthen bonds and meet new people
School Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON11 November 2015
Through my volunteer work for my school, I learned how valuable the information that is given to potential incoming students really is. It can help shape the students of the future and getting the chance to help out my local community was a bonus as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emergency Supply for grades JK to grades 8
Emergency Supply Teacher (Former Employee) –  Aurora/Newmarket/Sharon14 September 2015
I enjoyed this because I was in different classrooms all the time, different grades made it challenging and exciting at the same time. My fellow co-workers were always helpful if I ever needed something from them.
Pros
Different grade levels
Cons
none I love teaching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at York Catholic District School Board. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.7
Salary/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
4.4
Culture
4.7