YMCA Employee Reviews

Found 845 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn to keep a job and how to get one
Student (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON6 January 2017
I think they did a great job teaching my class how to get and keep a job, they got us our whmis 2015 new resumes how to right a cover letter and helped with interview skills
Pros
Get paid to learn
Cons
Some days are boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace for people who love children
Assistant Counselor (Former Employee) –  Haliburton, ON5 December 2016
YMCA Wanakita is one of the biggest YMCA Camps of Canada that holds about 500 people every 2 weeks during the summer. The people that work there are very friendly, a lot of fun, outgoing and are easy to talk to about anything.
Pros
A lot of fun, great people
Cons
Full time contract for a season only
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Business
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2016
It would start of with my Managerial Meeting to staff, go over goals and objectives for the day and week. The staff are good to work with but Management does not support employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best work place ever
Early Childhood Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON10 November 2016
I had a great time learning about how children learn and how to make it a positive experience for both the child and the parent. It was amazing working with ladies that different background in education and culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not practicum or student friendly
Child Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK9 February 2017
Most of the childcare workers are uncertified, untrained, they feel threatened by those who are. Not a place I would do a practicum at.
Love the programing, and the dedication towards the children.
Pros
Children programs
Cons
Untrained staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
les chatter ymca
Health & Wellness Coach (Current Employee) –  Hamilton12 August 2016
This job was just terrible, i did so much for the ymca and all they did was give me broken promises and ignore me. No way to make a career out of this
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
Bad management & No pay advancements
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to meet new people.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, AB2 February 2017
Currently volunteering here. I go to the Ymap program every Thursday plus other days that we go to different places to explore and learn.
Pros
Meet new people, more opportunities
Cons
No payment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job! Great staff! Great Benefits!
Registered Early Childhood Educator (Current Employee) –  Minesing, ON18 February 2016
I love working for the YMCA of Simcoe Muskoka. It is a great place to work. The staff are pleasant to work with. The children and families are lovely. It is a great way to help children grow in all areas of development. The pay is decent and has many benefits!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporay woman locker cleaner
CLEANER (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 February 2017
clean and tidy locker rooms, showers, steam room. i vacuum carpets, sweep floors and mop area to shine. throw out garbage from each stall, each toilet wipe and clean bowl. sink and mirrows clean. lockers empty.
Pros
nice exercise routin
Cons
very messy
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best summer
Counsellor at YMCA Camp Ki-Wa-Y (Former Employee) –  St. Clements, ON9 September 2016
The job descriptions is to have fun. The place is beautiful, and the people that work there are even better.
Learnt time management, as well as patience.
The hardest part was dealing with little children as they can be very annoying.
The best part is dealing with little kids as they can give you a fun new perspective.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cliquey
Summer Youth Camp Instructor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 December 2016
I found this to be a very clique group. Essentially the people in charge of hiring hired friends and delegated the most desirable roles out to their friends.
On a positive note it was rewarding knowing that you made summer camp a fun memorable experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first child care job to start up
Supply ECA (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON24 October 2016
I worked in YMCA of Milton and it was always been my joy to work with many children. I learned so much about child care system and program designing helped me to learn how to create program planning for each week based on children's interests. Directors and supervisors were all supportive and friendly.
Pros
You will love your job.
Cons
Times between morning and afternoon shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a welcoming place to work!
Daycare Worker (Current Employee) –  Trenton, ON16 January 2017
The YMCA is a great place to work! Seeing all the smiling faces that are there to greet you every day as you enter make coming into the building such a wonderful experience. So proud to be a part of such an amazing team!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Work Place
Team Member (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 February 2017
Amazing people that are employed by the company. Many different experiences and jobs that can and will be offered if they see you thriving in an environment.
Pros
People
Cons
Participants in some programs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with multi-lingual people, camping
PROGRAM ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON28 January 2017
It was good to work with multi-lingual people. Able to work creatively. It helped to learn customer service skills. Had fun by going camping and doing artworks.And helped clients by guiding them during exams
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy little gym on their third floor
Instructor (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 November 2016
The members are great. The staff and volunteers are great people. They help you as much as they can. Depending on the time of day , different groups of people make a the gym a different vibe at all times .
Pros
Volunteers and staff to spot a memeber
Cons
Alot of older staff which contradicts the pros
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Animator (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 January 2017
its fun and a good environment, the boss is very friendly and understanding, the hours are not too long, not too short and its just fun to enjoy the party and the activities with the kids.
Pros
fun atmosphere
Cons
unsatisfied parents
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I Learned
Beyond the Bell Educator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 March 2017
I learned new skills, and gained confidence, within the work field, and built relationships, with everyone around me, who supported me to be who I am today.
Pros
Nice, Supportive staff
Cons
Underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON4 February 2017
I worked honorably here to give something back to the community. I enjoy being able to help people to give something back who felt there is nobody else who cares for them.
Pros
Good dicepline
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good environment to gain work experience
Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2017
This job requires a lot of hard work. The people working there are nice and willing to help you if you are struggling. Tasks would vary depending on where you are needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 12,562 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1
85%

CEO Approval

Based on 2,608 ratings
Add your rating