YMCA Employee Reviews

Found 823 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON4 February 2017
I worked honorably here to give something back to the community. I enjoy being able to help people to give something back who felt there is nobody else who cares for them.
Pros
Good dicepline
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YMCA youth connection
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 December 2016
its a very helpful program full of workshops that help you with finding work and as well as when in the workplace (teamwork,leadership,resume writing,WHMIS,health and safety testing)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with kids
Teach kifs (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 February 2017
I like kids, follow up them with love is ny talent, nothing dificult with kids. More than 10 years I teach kids and follow up them, my live serve them. Blessing
Pros
Home in
Cons
Long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people to learn and grow from
Student (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC11 November 2016
YMCA is a program I really enjoy. It helped me grow into the person I am today. I achieved many certificates in my time being there, as in world host, foodsafe, whmis, first aid and costumer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counsellor
Sunship Earth Program Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Haliburton, ON20 December 2016
Worked with the YMCA in Halliburton teaching kids to live outdoors. it was an amazing learning opportunity and would recommend it to anyone looking for an adventure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Locker room attendant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 July 2016
A typical workplace looked like me going around the gym folding the towels. I learned to be productive and taught me a lot about being organized. The management was good as they did their best to put me in good workplace with good conditions. My co-workers were really nice as well and taught me many things about job responsibilities. Overall I enjoyed working here and would recommend.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Kind leaders andvolunteers
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON31 January 2017
Good days, lots to do. Fun. Empowering. Nice leaders. Good training. Every week is different. Learn life skills while you do this job. Flexible schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work , good feedback and lots of little perks
Outdoor washroom attendant (Former Employee) –  Rama, ON20 September 2016
good hours
learned how to temporarily fix a toilet
Management gave positive feed back
coworkers were friendly
plunging toilets does not always work
good hours
Pros
free breakfast and lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Educational Experience
Full time gallery attendant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 September 2016
Summer jobs for youth is a great way to land your first job and teaches you many essential workplace skills. Also provides many other benefits such as a free resume building help.
Pros
Guaranteed first job
Cons
Short time period
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Receptionist at Massotherapie Adam (Current Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC30 August 2016
Absolutely loved working at Massotherpie Adam. Over all they have a great staff, great clientele and amazing bosses. Sad to leave the job but unfortunately the commute is too long.
Pros
amazing coworkers, massage discounts
Cons
the commute to and from work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free membership
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON7 February 2017
Excellent place of employment. Good people not just the employees but the members ship the have as well.great facility for working out . They wages could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volenteered at camp (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2017
Gave me experience. I learned how to be a leader. I also got my CPR and first aid training. Had lots of fun. People were really nice and it was fun playing with the little kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job i ever had
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 October 2016
I was literally fired for no reason. the people were mean. the only thing pleasant about the job was the community and the people associated with the ymca.
Pros
nice environment
Cons
Rude co workers, bad job expirence
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy fun environment.
Facility Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2016
Amazing and nice workplace. Excellent job environment. Opportunity to develop and be healthy. My co-workers were very friendly and always help me when I needed.
Pros
Plus Membership free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Life Guard and Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 June 2016
A typical day a work consists of phenomenal interaction with fellow employees as well as patrons. I have learned a great deal about how to stay calm in stressful situations and how to plan for the worst but expect the best. The management is fantastic and they are always available to talk to. The most enjoyable part of my job is the interaction with my co-workers and the patrons that use the facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and outdoor summer job
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 January 2017
Really enjoyed working with kids this summer at an all outdoors day camp. The one downside was our wage as we got paid daily and didn't get paid past 8 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Aquatics Counselor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2017
enjoyed working with children and staff in an organized environment
if wanting to become a teacher this is a great start.
Pros
work in great environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kitchen assistant ,supply teacher
Supply Teacher, kitchen assistant (Current Employee) –  Orleans, ON26 June 2016
I receive the lunch for the kids than prepare it for the kids send it to the rooms after they finish I do the dishes
afternoon I work supply teacher ,play with the kids give them the snack do activity with them help 3 rooms with the kids than work in the kitchen
I worked every day 6 to 7 hours
I like to work at the YMCA but I'm looking for full time now i'm part time
Pros
good benefit, respect the employee
Cons
work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in
RECE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 October 2016
Maryward child care centre is a great place to work in. The atmosphere is fun and healthy. Children and teachers thrive there. The staff are friendly and I would recommend any ECE to find a job there.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Registered Early Childhood Educator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2016
Working a split shift was a typical day at work for me. I've learnt so much and gained plenty of experience. The co-workers helped each day to have a big smile on your face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 12,296 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1