YMCA Employee Reviews

Found 875 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
children
Early Childhood Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 February 2017
the children are fun energetic and enthusiastic. learn from them and teach them new experiences. great learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun enviroment
Registered Early Childhood Educator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 February 2017
I enjoy it and like the people I work with. They are great for helping and understanding when someone new is joining the team. Its great to learn in and gain new skills.
Pros
Great people and very understanding poeple.
Cons
Its only part time hours and not enough full time availability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with kids
Teach kifs (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 February 2017
I like kids, follow up them with love is ny talent, nothing dificult with kids. More than 10 years I teach kids and follow up them, my live serve them. Blessing
Pros
Home in
Cons
Long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON4 February 2017
I worked honorably here to give something back to the community. I enjoy being able to help people to give something back who felt there is nobody else who cares for them.
Pros
Good dicepline
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Assist teachers/ ECE (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON3 February 2017
I really enjoyed working with this company. Everything about it was great, no complaints. The management was great too. I felt like everyone who worked there was so passionate about what they did (the children), and ya over all a great place to work.
Pros
great staff
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to meet new people.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, AB2 February 2017
Currently volunteering here. I go to the Ymap program every Thursday plus other days that we go to different places to explore and learn.
Pros
Meet new people, more opportunities
Cons
No payment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Opportunity
Aquatic Lifeguard/ Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON1 February 2017
I really enjoyed working as a Lifeguard and Swim Instructor for the YMCA. I was able to work with a great group of people and interact with the people of my community.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Work Place
Team Member (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 February 2017
Amazing people that are employed by the company. Many different experiences and jobs that can and will be offered if they see you thriving in an environment.
Pros
People
Cons
Participants in some programs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Kind leaders andvolunteers
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON31 January 2017
Good days, lots to do. Fun. Empowering. Nice leaders. Good training. Every week is different. Learn life skills while you do this job. Flexible schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
playing games with kids
Junior Counselor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 January 2017
watching over the kids and making sure there were safe and they enjoy their day with us the counselor. The hardest part on the job was maintaining a happy environment for the kids because they be running around but manageable .
Pros
lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and outdoor summer job
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 January 2017
Really enjoyed working with kids this summer at an all outdoors day camp. The one downside was our wage as we got paid daily and didn't get paid past 8 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with multi-lingual people, camping
PROGRAM ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON28 January 2017
It was good to work with multi-lingual people. Able to work creatively. It helped to learn customer service skills. Had fun by going camping and doing artworks.And helped clients by guiding them during exams
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
program of Greater Toronto - Sports Coach (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON26 January 2017
A typical day working with the ymca would be meeting in the gym with the kids teaching the basic foundementals of basketball
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Support
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2017
I really enjoy the atmosphere all of the staff share in team meetings every morning. The best part about job is the feeling of having a second family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Aquatics Counselor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2017
enjoyed working with children and staff in an organized environment
if wanting to become a teacher this is a great start.
Pros
work in great environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good environment to gain work experience
Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2017
This job requires a lot of hard work. The people working there are nice and willing to help you if you are struggling. Tasks would vary depending on where you are needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
youth leadership camp volunteer leader (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 January 2017
fun and productive workplace, the environment was amazing and it provided further opportunities for full time employment and at a young age provided some quality experiences.
Pros
some lunches and snacks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at camp is awesome
Camp Chief Hector Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB24 January 2017
As a lifelong camper myself, it was an incredibly rewarding experience to finally pass on some of my love of camp to younger campers. I always looked up to my leaders as a kid, so to be able to be a role model for other people was a really neat thing to do.
Pros
you get to light fires, fantastic people
Cons
you don't make much money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volenteered at camp (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2017
Gave me experience. I learned how to be a leader. I also got my CPR and first aid training. Had lots of fun. People were really nice and it was fun playing with the little kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job Opportunity
Program Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Exshaw, AB22 January 2017
YMCA Calgary never fails to remain a open and caring company and extends upon themselves in new ways to the public. You learn outdoor skills and connecting with Youth. The workplace is open and there is always assistance available
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 13,013 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1