YMCA Employee Reviews

Found 847 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Opportunity
Aquatic Lifeguard/ Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON1 February 2017
I really enjoyed working as a Lifeguard and Swim Instructor for the YMCA. I was able to work with a great group of people and interact with the people of my community.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Work Place
Team Member (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 February 2017
Amazing people that are employed by the company. Many different experiences and jobs that can and will be offered if they see you thriving in an environment.
Pros
People
Cons
Participants in some programs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Kind leaders andvolunteers
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON31 January 2017
Good days, lots to do. Fun. Empowering. Nice leaders. Good training. Every week is different. Learn life skills while you do this job. Flexible schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
playing games with kids
Junior Counselor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 January 2017
watching over the kids and making sure there were safe and they enjoy their day with us the counselor. The hardest part on the job was maintaining a happy environment for the kids because they be running around but manageable .
Pros
lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and outdoor summer job
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 January 2017
Really enjoyed working with kids this summer at an all outdoors day camp. The one downside was our wage as we got paid daily and didn't get paid past 8 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with multi-lingual people, camping
PROGRAM ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON28 January 2017
It was good to work with multi-lingual people. Able to work creatively. It helped to learn customer service skills. Had fun by going camping and doing artworks.And helped clients by guiding them during exams
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
program of Greater Toronto - Sports Coach (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON26 January 2017
A typical day working with the ymca would be meeting in the gym with the kids teaching the basic foundementals of basketball
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Support
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2017
I really enjoy the atmosphere all of the staff share in team meetings every morning. The best part about job is the feeling of having a second family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Aquatics Counselor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2017
enjoyed working with children and staff in an organized environment
if wanting to become a teacher this is a great start.
Pros
work in great environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good environment to gain work experience
Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2017
This job requires a lot of hard work. The people working there are nice and willing to help you if you are struggling. Tasks would vary depending on where you are needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
youth leadership camp volunteer leader (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 January 2017
fun and productive workplace, the environment was amazing and it provided further opportunities for full time employment and at a young age provided some quality experiences.
Pros
some lunches and snacks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at camp is awesome
Camp Chief Hector Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB24 January 2017
As a lifelong camper myself, it was an incredibly rewarding experience to finally pass on some of my love of camp to younger campers. I always looked up to my leaders as a kid, so to be able to be a role model for other people was a really neat thing to do.
Pros
you get to light fires, fantastic people
Cons
you don't make much money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volenteered at camp (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2017
Gave me experience. I learned how to be a leader. I also got my CPR and first aid training. Had lots of fun. People were really nice and it was fun playing with the little kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job Opportunity
Program Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Exshaw, AB22 January 2017
YMCA Calgary never fails to remain a open and caring company and extends upon themselves in new ways to the public. You learn outdoor skills and connecting with Youth. The workplace is open and there is always assistance available
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Animator (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 January 2017
its fun and a good environment, the boss is very friendly and understanding, the hours are not too long, not too short and its just fun to enjoy the party and the activities with the kids.
Pros
fun atmosphere
Cons
unsatisfied parents
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good introductory position
Program Teacher (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON18 January 2017
Really fulling part-time job for anyone who loves to positively impact the lives of children. I was able to managed the requirements of the position while going to school full-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Educational assistant in the school age classrooms (Current Employee) –  Bolton, ON16 January 2017
I enjoy working there however, I am just looking for something more permanent in my field as a Child and Youth Worker and with a pay increase.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a welcoming place to work!
Daycare Worker (Current Employee) –  Trenton, ON16 January 2017
The YMCA is a great place to work! Seeing all the smiling faces that are there to greet you every day as you enter make coming into the building such a wonderful experience. So proud to be a part of such an amazing team!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is not equal/poor benefits
Housing Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 January 2017
Consistent turn over rate. Very low hourly wage for overnight.

This is not a very challenging position if you are just getting started in the field.
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
Day staff payed more then night staff/wage is non negotiable
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place that takes great responsability
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 January 2017
In YMCA I voulunteer in the gym, usualy i afternoon hours, I help the players of each game playing feel confortable during the game or matches, I check their game and see if everything is going smoothly. I hepl the staff of the gym orgsnized everything and become in charge of the gym if he is not there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 12,590 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1