YMCA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Camp Counselor (Current Employee) –  Strathroy, ON1 February 2018
I love this job! Being a camp counselor is very fun and working with kids is so rewarding. My coworkers were amazing and my supervisors were very understanding and relaxed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Energetic Work Place
School Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB31 January 2018
The YMCA is a great place for members to meet and connect with people within the same community. It is great seeing people in the facility. There could be some Improvements to how they treat the staff.
Pros
Calm Envrionment
Cons
Long Hours and Energy Consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON30 January 2018
great work environment but it was hard to get days off and the hours were very long. i was able to gain so much new knowledge and had an amazing experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Volunteer Group Yoga Instructor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 January 2018
I go as a volunteer, so I like and enjoy all that I do there. There are regular activities to upgrade your knowledge. Multiple areas where you can work out. In short its a great place.
Pros
activities to upgrade knowedge
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too impressed
School Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Martensville, SK29 January 2018
I moved to Martensville with the understanding that I would have a permanent job here. About three months into the job I got a call saying that I would have to relocate or would be fired. This has caused major stress in my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, horrible management
Program Instructor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 January 2018
While I was there, turnover was very high. Staff were written up against PR policy and when it was questioned, new policies would be conveniently added to the HR handbook. Management frequently gossiped and encouraged "tattling" amongst frontline employees, creating a toxic work environment. Several employees on stress leave were bullied into quitting. There was no one to report the behavior to, as HR staff was complicit. CEO and higher management only cares about the bottom line, not the results of a program -- staff recently received a 3 month pay cut of 30% with no warning. This is a place to work if you need a stepping stone into a real non-profit career.
Pros
Co-workers make the best of it
Cons
Low comparison pay, limited advancement, workplace bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Facility Assistant/Casual Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC25 January 2018
I have enjoyed every moment and continue to enjoy my job with the YMCA. The company is accommodating,very community oriented. I love the chance to work in other jobs such as our Women's Shelter, and being casual Duty Manager.
Pros
best
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, good staff
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK24 January 2018
Staff is very friendly and productive, very enjoyable work environment. I was only a volunteer and so I never had any benefits or salary but I loved volunteering there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON24 January 2018
The YMCA is a people environment. Friendly staff, nice work environment. They care about their staff. Open environment. Get to know new people. Good with children.
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Chlorine
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON23 January 2018
Employees at YMCA enjoy helping people. I was working as a front desk volunteer. I helped clients to find the program based on their needs. People are respectful of each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work & Personal Life Balance
Personal Trainer/Wellness Coach (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 January 2018
Management is very understanding of working with you on your personal commitments. Learnt lots about the fitness industry and personal training. Great place to meet new people!
Pros
Membership and fun perks
Cons
No opportunity to move forward
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun opportunities and people
Preschool Child and Youth Care Instructor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 January 2018
Firstly the people you work with are amazing, however it feels like a very big company and sometimes you dont feel connected with management. Highly recommended if you want experience in that sort of field
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON22 January 2018
It was a great job, I learned alot. It was my first time volunteering. It was my first year in canada. I learned a lot from them and will definitely apply it to my life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Job
Sports Counselor (Former Employee) –  Fort Erie, ON19 January 2018
I worked as a counselor in the day camp. Hours were great and steady, only problem was the pay being lower than average due to it being a volunteer funded program.
Pros
Great start to learning about childcare
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not value employees
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON19 January 2018
The YMCA of guelph does not value it's employees. They continually pay minimum wage to qualified and challenging positions and do not give pay raises to part time staff no matter how long they've worked there.
Pros
flexible hours and free gym membership
Cons
terrible pay and benefits, no room for growth, under valued by management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like giving back to the community
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC19 January 2018
Working with the senior citizens was great. Helping to serve meals and tea was my way to show how much I appreciate them. I would definitely do it again
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rece
School Age R.E.C.E (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 January 2018
The staff was very friendly and gave great advice. You really felt like you were part of a team and a community.

The hardest part of the job was the lack of supplies to maintain the ongoing interests and activities for the children.
Pros
great staff
Cons
the continuous change in work places
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced and fun work environment
Vice President, Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 January 2018
Excellent culture and work environment to support growth and development of employees. In a time of economic turmoil it is refreshing to work for an organization that is growing substantially and providing a good news story to the community
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and fun work place environment
ECA (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 January 2018
This job entailed me working with children from ages of 6-12 where I was placed in a group system to help implement activities that would be suitable for the age groups I was working with
Pros
Gym access
Cons
a lot of compromise
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 January 2018
Good place to work nice people easy jobs good pay its good you should work there if you want my friend you are cool and i like the ymca it is good place
Pros
vfvv
Cons
xxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 19,564 reviews
58.7K
46.1K
33.4K
2900
1538

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture