YMCA Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
volunteer (Former Employee) –  North York, ON4 September 2017
I worked as a volunteer. Had a blast working with kids and other individuals. Very productive environment with lots of opportunities to grow and learn with different people.
Pros
Free Gym
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
after school
Play ON Instructor and Play It Forward Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 September 2017
learned alot, ran after school programs, very enjoyable.
most enjoyable part was the people that I worked with, the environment was also good. Everyone was nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disrespectful management
Employee (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB31 August 2017
Badly paid jobs for a lot of responsibility and the Managment does treat their employees very disrespectfully.
I would not recommend working for this Organization.
Dealing with the HR department is extremely frustrating and makes you feel you are not valued at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Lead Instructor / Senior Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 August 2017
There was no typical day at work, which is what I enjoyed most about my job as a lead instructor/guard. I mentored multiple junior coworkers of mine as well as taught varying ages from 6 months to older adult.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be
Basketball Animator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 August 2017
Animate basketball games for YMCA members
Learned different techniques to animating basketball games
The manager is encouraging
The hardest part of the job is calming unsatisfied customers and members.
Staff members are understanding and supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to obtain full time position
Registered Early Childhood Educator (Former Employee) –  YMCA GTA28 August 2017
After being with the YMCA for 2.5 years I still was unable to obtain full time employment due to "limited budget". My contract was then ended WHILE I was on maternity leave as I was "not going to physically there when the contract expired to extend it". Zero job security as your hours could be changed at any given moment as a part time employee. Management had no respect for employees often playing favourites with certain staff and talking badly behind the back of other staff. My co workers were great, most of us were in the same boat. Do not work for YMCA child care centres.
Pros
friendly co workers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable easy going environment
Sports Coach and Facility supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 August 2017
Definitely a place, where it feels less work and more fun. Very easy going place and team to work with. Great way to be stay active as well and enjoy the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a CIT, so didn't actually have a job.
Counselor-in-Training (Former Employee) –  Westmount, QC23 August 2017
Even though I was just getting training, it was an exciting experience, especially after being a camper there for so long. Hope that I could go back and work as a counselor at some point.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Aquatics Specialist / Lead Instructor (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON22 August 2017
It is always a pleasure to work for the YMCA. Everyday is a new fun but knowledgeable adventure. The people you get to work with make you feel like family and make you feel at home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Membership Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 August 2017
Good place to work. Got to meet a lot of people from various backgrounds and cultures. Great benefits and very rewarding. Santa Clause breakfast is a great program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starter Summer Job
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC17 August 2017
If you like hanging out with kids and having fun outside for a summer, camp is great! The YMCA has great programs for lower income families and the kids, while sometimes a handful, definitely get a lot out of it — and then so do you!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fine
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 August 2017
Great focus on team work. Encourage learning and growth with employees.Many different skills involved with working for them. Get to meet many different people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A feel-good organization
DIRECTOR of Computer Services (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 August 2017
Working in the nonprofit field you're never going to get rich.

However the work is rewarding and the staff are great to work with.

You definitely feel like you're making contribution to society when you work for the "Y"
Pros
Sense of contribution to society
Cons
Not the best pay you'll ever receive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and nice environment for the children to be apart of
Child Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON17 August 2017
YMCA is a great place for children/youth. There are a variety of activities both indoor and outdoor to keep children and youth entertained. Great place for children and youth to learn life values and morals and build relationships as they meet new people.
Pros
Great co workers, nice neighbourhood
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Before and After School
Before and After School (Former Employee) –  Caledon, ON16 August 2017
It was a wonderful company to work for. I did a before and after school program and it was fun to be with children of all ages. Activities were planned and the children enjoyed the activities.
Pros
Split shifts
Cons
Supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love
Child Minding (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 August 2017
Children are never predictable. It's the best job in the world and it's a privilege to be trusted to be part of their world. It is a very very very good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 August 2017
I participated in the Multicultural Festival. I cooperated with friends to create a performance team and, in addition, participated in the team that represented our country. We also came up with the choreography for the performances. I learned of collaboration and organization. It was a memorable time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really fun and welcoming environment with free pizza for volunteers
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC12 August 2017
watching kids and teenagers for 3 and a half hours in pretty fun. interacting with them and making sure that the environment is safe for them is very important and not putting 100 percent into keeping an eye on them is critical.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
boring at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best work environments
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 August 2017
Each student was completely cared for, relaxation, enjoyment
of activities, good relationship with parents. Have fun with movies, games, crafts, gym equipment, walks
Pros
If finished early stIll got paid
Cons
Boss was poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, family friendly environment
Membership Associate (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON9 August 2017
Typical day at work includes, assisting and answering membership concerns/inquires. Data entry, filing, front desk management and other administrative duties.
Pros
fun, enjoyable
Cons
not enough hours, a little disorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15,278 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0