YMCA Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 611 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great program for helping people find work.
Workshop Trainee (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONAugust 24, 2016
Through the program I learned a lot about myself, the kind of work I'm good at, inter-personal skills in the workplace and a lot about my own self-esteem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
active work space environment
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONAugust 23, 2016
-bad pay, not worth the hard work
-outside all day
-physically draining
i dont even want to write this review but indeed is making me, i hate when sights make you fill surveys out
Pros
workers are nice
Cons
poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programing, Interacting With Children, Teamwork, Daily Interactions with Parents
Early Childhood Educator (Former Employee) –  London, ONAugust 21, 2016
Programming daily, observations on children daily, bathroom routines, outside play, playing to learn curriculum. Worked with great coworkers as a team and individually
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Work Place
Membership Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONAugust 21, 2016
Horrible, toxic, and abusive work environment. All levels of management sanction bullying behaviour. Do not develop staff of any level. Do not follow core values of honesty, caring, respect, responsibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Yoga Instructor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 18, 2016
People are friendly at YMCA. They are doing the renovation for the facility and parking lot. Students are willing to learn and trying hard to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multicultural
Housekeeping Attendant (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONAugust 15, 2016
Meet new people, grow your network.
Learn how to have a balance schedule between going to the gym and going to your job daily
Pros
Coffee
Cons
disable people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
les chatter ymca
Health & Wellness Coach (Current Employee) –  HamiltonAugust 12, 2016
This job was just terrible, i did so much for the ymca and all they did was give me broken promises and ignore me. No way to make a career out of this
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
Bad management & No pay advancements
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational and constructive
Youth Leadership program (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSAugust 5, 2016
the youth leadership program was a very educational and extremely helpful work placement that also helped u acquire skills such as first aid, food handling, WHIMIS, ect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work with children
ECE II (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MBAugust 4, 2016
I loved working here as I got to interact with children and got to watch them learn new things and use there imagination. It was 10 hour work days so it was 4 day work weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have had two great supervisors
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ONAugust 3, 2016
Great work environment.
Staff work well together and has great support from the directors.
YMCA is a great company and I have gained valuable experience and skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Port Perry, ONAugust 2, 2016
volunteering at the YMCA was boring because none of the kids knew how to play the sports properly so the sports were never fun to play.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment is great and all employees are team player oriented
Maintenance/Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABJuly 24, 2016
Since I started working at the YMCA my health has improved. I have lost quite a bit of weight. My Diabetes is under control. All staff are friendly and supportive.
Pros
Physical activity
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging and inclusive work environment
Early Childhood Educator (Former Employee) –  Port Elgin, ONJuly 20, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed my time working for the YMCA and learned a lot from my time there. The staff is fantastic and constantly went beyond the typical job requirements to ensure each child benifited from the program each and every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and family oriented
Youth and Preschool Staff (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONJuly 18, 2016
Very family friendly. Staff are always welcoming, cheerful and helpful. The YMCA is a good way for families to spend time together and allow the whole family to socialize with others and make relationships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience? Bad
Membership Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJuly 18, 2016
This was my first job and I hated it. WORST experience ever. Some of the co-workers treated me like bad and even though it was just for the summer, I couldn't wait to finish it.
Pros
lunch time
Cons
co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Locker room attendant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 9, 2016
A typical workplace looked like me going around the gym folding the towels. I learned to be productive and taught me a lot about being organized. The management was good as they did their best to put me in good workplace with good conditions. My co-workers were really nice as well and taught me many things about job responsibilities. Overall I enjoyed working here and would recommend.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Manager in Debbie Dickson and Great place to work.
Payroll & Benefits Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 8, 2016
There is always something to keep you busy. The people are great to work for and the employees are very easy to get along with.
Pros
Awesome place to work for
Cons
Paid Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did volunteer work
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 7, 2016
they needed more activities for the kids and for it to be more outdoors and fun I found that it was lacking in that department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and safe environment to work in
Early Childhood Educator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJuly 7, 2016
I work for the before and after school with school age children. I also worked with the kindergarteners throughout the day.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding for clientele
Landlord Requment / Inhome Support worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 2, 2016
home visits, phone calls partnerships in-service meetings support clientele and convince landlord requiement of safe keeping the peace. having to deal with Authorities in neccessary. children are safe.
Pros
positive outcomes
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 10,034 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1