YMCA of Oakville Employee Reviews in Canada

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm work environment with room for growth especially if you love kids!
Supply & Program Teacher (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ONMarch 28, 2016
The kids and staff at the YMCA inspired me to continue my studies in education to become a teacher in Ontario. The play-to-learn environment provided opportunities for staff to build positive relationships and rapport with the kids and parents.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdoor/Indoor setting with a pool and phenomenal co workers
Summer Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONFebruary 29, 2016
Working together with a team to over see the well being of kids registered for day camp. Planning activities to see to it that campers have a great safe summer filled with a lot of physical activity and peer relation building. I learnt team work multi-tasking and etc. The staff is amazing and we all get along well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YMCA is a reputable place to work
RECE (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ONDecember 23, 2015
Over all, YMCA of Oakville is a good place to work. They take good care of the employees and salary package is also pretty decent.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Child Care
Program Teacher (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ONSeptember 7, 2015
Really great work environment.
Healthy food for children
Play to learn philosophy
Great management, hands on management who were always in the classrooms
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean fun and exciting work place.
Life guard (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONJuly 15, 2015
I would instruct a class for 45 minutes, and take a 15 minute break, for 4-6 hours.
I learn to lead, teach, and communicate.
The Y is very organized, always something to do, but never too much for one person, we worked as a team.
Co-workers are harder workers who take responsibility and pride of what they do.
Hardest part of the job was trying to teach a toddler who is scared of water to put his/her face into the water.
Every bit of this job is enjoyable.
Pros
free food, friends, skills, and exercise.
Cons
makes one really tired after a day at work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
thumbs up
Registered Early Childhood Educator (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ONJune 7, 2014
great place to work for
getting to know the childrens needs is important.
Pros
benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes15No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Child Care Coordinator/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONAugust 17, 2013
Was responsible for 15 to 200 children. Oversaw 4-50 staff depending on the month. Responsible for planning daily activities, shopping, budgeting, planning group trips and organizing events.
The hardest part of the job was working a split shift.
The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that i was guiding cildren and teaching children.
My co workers were amazing people who loved the job just as much as i did.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
split shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, high demanding and fun work environment
SUPERVISOR/ TEAMLEADER SACC (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONSeptember 6, 2012
Working for the YMCA was truly an experience. I have worked for both Oakville and Burlington YMCA. Learning about children development and how to communicate and structure a specific program for their needs has been overall fulfilling.

I have worked specifically one on one with special needs children. I had a child with Autism and was their care giver aside from the YMCA. I knew the childs specific needs and where generally the child was on the spectrum. Not only did I learn through my personal experience, but also Halton provided work-shops related to the topics a childcare worker can use to better themselves.

I will take my experience along with me in this journey of life.
Pros
benefits and team bonding
Cons
split shift
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

YMCA of Oakville Reviews by Location