Find companies:
Yankee Candle Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
188 reviews

Yankee Candle Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work...smells good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Riverhead, NYSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: discount on candles
Cons: no real raises even when they're deserved
The team that I worked with was a great group of people, all of whom I remain friends.
The hardest part of the job was picking out a candle because they all smell terrific.
I learned a lot about how they are made and the folks who make them
The way upper management treats employees is not the way I would
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing employees, fun, great discounts!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Marlborough, MASeptember 16, 2013
Yankee Candle was my favorite job. However, that's all it would ever be for me. I did not see the potential to grow, and the pay is minimum wage. If I was able to make more money, or consume more hours, I would have worked there my whole life. It's a great job while you're in high school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to purchase gifts!
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Uncasville, CTSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: getting to learn about the products and writing reviews on them!
Cons: never get more then ten hrs a week.
The average day consisted of greeting the customers trying to add on items to there purchases. cashing customers out, stocking and maintaining the stores appearance. I learned alot about candles, as far as trimming wicks and the care required to keep your candles burning properly so they last. I also learned how working as a team is really a good asset – more... to a company. Working together typically makes the day go by faster and completing tasks together. Management was strong at Yankee Candle. I liked the feed back that they were still equals. You could develop a proper business friendship. My co workers were very awesome they trained me well and always offered to work together. The hardest part was only working ten hrs a week and that your performance goes off what u "add on" not your over all determination and amount of tasks you complete. The best part of this job was all the really nice products and personable attitudes. I love the products and what I learned working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Normal Day
Second Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Holyoke, MASeptember 5, 2013
Pros: great team and staff to work for.
Cons: working alone at times.
Would check the daily status numbers and when a new sales associated would come in have their 1 minutes meeting with them letting them know how the day has gone and what was planned for the day. Help stock the selfs and sale product through out the day. Check hour reports to see how we are doing for the day. Start to check on daily closing task. Then – more... start the closing tasks as work with customers and proceed through out the rest of the night. After store closes print out closing paper work and close down the registers. Drop money for the bank in the morning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company overall
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Evansville, INAugust 30, 2013
Pros: good employee discount, great co-workers
Cons: store could have been run better
Over the company was great to work for. The other associates were great to work with as well as a good district manger. The hardest part of the job was working with a manger who did not communicate properly to the staff. Other than that it was a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer service and a tight knit work place.
2nd Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Johnson City. New YorkAugust 22, 2013
Pros: try out new candles for free.
Cons: only two people can be considered "full time".
A typical day at Yankee Candle is all about providing the best customer service ever. They have a 100% guarantee, which makes it easier to make the customer happy. I would ASAP the customer discover their needs and show them new products. I would also try to "save the sale" when they would return items. When customer are not in the store, I usually – more... am setting tables to new planograms, filling, doing resets, inventory, making schedules, training the associates on customer service and new product knowledge, and trying to make sure we are making our goals for the day. I would also call customers about upcoming sales and events. I have learned from my manager how to delegate tasks, work efficiently, and provide the best customer service. My co workers are fantastic. They are hard working, easy to get along with, and execute daily and new tasks in an effective manner. We encourage one another and work through hard times well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very customer service oriented
Second assistant manager and sales associate (Current Employee), Riverside, CAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: great discount
Cons: unsteady/fluctuating work schedule
This is a very customer oriented company that stays loyal to their customers and prioritizes their satisfaction. Training is taught hands on and step by step. It is an overall happy environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Gambrills,Md.August 16, 2013
Pros: pay was fair.
Cons: manager was not patient.
After you learn what you need to about candles in order to sell them, its boring! The manager is OCD .I got let go due to I did not learn fast enough for him. I was only training for one day and was told 'I better be on top of my game and step it up before going to the store I was going to be working in. This person was not a good roll model and was – more... not understanding in that all people learn at a certain pace. I was told I was doing well 2x's and then I was let go because I made one small error on paper work?? I was only employed less then a month. Thanks Yankee Candle GREAT EXPERIENCE! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Rewarding
Training Store Manager (TSM) (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 15, 2013
The most enjoyable part of my job is talking to my customers about the fragrances and Home Decor options that we offered. I enjoyed walking the floor with my customers and sharing memories with them triggered by a fragrance.

The growth potential within this organization is profound. I worked my way from an Assistant Manager to a Store Manager in a – more... year. Then was promoted again to a Training Store Manager 2 years later. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic expectations
Facilitator (Former Employee), South Deerfield, MAAugust 14, 2013
Cons: short breaks, too much overtime
I was initially hired as an order processor. I was then promoted to a seasonal weekend shift facilitator with the promise of being a full-time facilitator once the seasonal weekend shift had ended. I gave up the opportunity to interview for a full-time facilitator position in favor of this position. After I withdrew my application for the full-time – more... facilitator position and accepted the seasonal weekend shift facilitator position, I was told that I would not be a full-time facilitator after the weekend shift season ended. That if a position were to come available, it would be posted like any other position and I would have to apply for it. I left this job approximately 9 months ago due to a move to another state. A full-time facilitator position became available due to a retirement. The company did not post the position, allow anyone to apply for it and simply gave it to a previous weekend shift facilitator. This company has rules that only apply to certain individuals and have allowed employees that work for the company for a long time too much leniency where it is not warranted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and interesting workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Joplin, MOAugust 9, 2013
Pros: getting discounts on the candles, and being around them all day
Cons: you can't sit down, so i would stand to the point when my feet would be sore
Working at Yankee Candle was very fun, I loved getting to show the customers the new scents that we got in, I loved the fact that the company is know as one of the best candle companies in the US, and I loved the fact that we were allowed to have casual conversation with the customers as if they were our friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it's been a great place to work and I was able to advance within the company.
2nd Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Bloomington, MNAugust 2, 2013
Pros: working with great people such as co-workers and customers, the location couldn't be better, and of course the discount on candles!
Cons: compensation and benefits.
I have worked for Yankee Candle for almost 8 years and it's been very enjoyable. I've learned a lot including gaining customer service skills, how to communicate professionally, and how to work along with other managers and associates. A typical day would involve me opening the store for the day: counting registers, bringing the deposit to the bank, – more... filling out the previous nights paperwork and entering it into our system to keep track of sales and production. Once we opened for the day I would assist customers with their needs, assign different tasks to the associates such as shipment or stocking, and I would maintain the flow of the store. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping people fill their needs, and working with my co-workers. The hardest part of my job would be trying to satisfy a distraught customer, whatever their issue it is my job to make them leave happy which occasionally isn't the easiest thing to accomplish. The best you can do is give it your all and just know that not everybody will be happy with you but as long as you gave it your best then that's all you can hope for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful and customer focused work enviorment.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Waldorf, MDAugust 2, 2013
Pros: always smells great in store.
Customer focused, detail oriented merchandising and flawless operational execution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained management experience that can carry into my accounting career
Part-time Second Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Tinley Park, ILJuly 31, 2013
Pros: acquired customer service and management experience
Cons: constant weekend hours
Fun place to work. I enjoyed interacting with the customers and making sound product recommendations,..skills that can be applied to my public accounting career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place and fast pace
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Colonial Heights, VaJuly 24, 2013
Pros: discount and customers
Cons: people always quit leaving you short handed.
Open store and do payroll for the day before. Usually I work by myself for a few hours so I am on the floor helping customers and setting plan-o-grams or working freight. I learned a little about P & L. I also learned how to process payroll and do scheduling. I often would be the only MOD so I had alot of one on one time with the associates. The hardest – more... part of the job was alot of people quit and I would be there days without another manager for breaks or employees to help. We were short handed alot of the time. I love candles and seeing all the new inventory was exciting and setting the plan-o-grams were always something I have loved to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
Second Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Paramus, NJJuly 23, 2013
Pros: great smells, nice customers
Cons: childess enviroment
For the time i worked there ,nothing but drama . 2 managers in 10 months . Co-workers were theives and lied alot. I wouldn't work there again . The company has terrible Hr pratices . I quit this job due the store manager making racial comments and picking. She was later terminated soon after i quit .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive quick and easy to learn
crew memberl cashier/stock (Former Employee), Wayne, NJJuly 22, 2013
i was a crew member the job was good just needed more employers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second Assistant Manager
Second Assistant Manager, Sales Associate (Former Employee), Towson, MDJuly 3, 2013
Strengthened sales associates to meet company policies, with a system called A.S.A.P (Approach, Sample, Add-On, Personalized). Promoted events and daily sales to increase sales goals for the year. Improved work environment among co-workers. Helped disgruntled customers, causing them to be returning clients. Instructed sales associates to be knowledgeable – more... and comfortable with customers. Worked in a professional manner to increase a welcoming atmosphere for customers. Memorized product facts to help with questions.
• Increased sales by 6% each year
• Promoted from sales associate to second assistant manager in six months
• Received a perfect score on the Phantom Shop – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Store Manager- Boulevard Mall (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 24, 2013
Pros: great products
Cons: bad regional and district management communication
Great company but poor communication.
Learned everything there is to know about candles. High turnover makes it a difficult work place. Employees are amazing. No local management to help out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low traffic in the current location. But a great place to work
Store Manager- Boulevard Mall (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 16, 2013
Pros: great guests and awesome products
Cons: corporate not hands on enough.
I love the Yankee Candle Co, We have regulars who make our day to day job worth wild when you see them light up. I have learned many things working here from how to burn and care for a candle to running a business on my own. Management is in another state which makes it tough to receive negative feedback when your alone 99% of the time. My co. workers – more... are amazing people and I consider them like family. The hardest part is trying to keep a high end store a float in an extremely low income neighborhood. Love working with my regular guests and smelling the fantastic product we sell. – less

About Yankee Candle Company

While most Yankees are good at warming their homes, the ones at The Yankee Candle Company (YCC) are also good at making their – Read more

Yankee Candle Company Photos