Find companies:
Yankee Candle Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
208 reviews

Yankee Candle Company Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm and inviting place you want to be.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Farmington, CTSeptember 9, 2014
Working for Yankee Candle was comfortable and slow paced. You could always find something to do between assisting a guest or stocking and fixing shelves. I learned so much about Yankee Candle products. I gained knowledge on how to cleanly burn a candle without a yucky mess. Also, I was amused by the different types of ways you can bring fragrance anywhere. – more... Yankee Candle has so many products from burning a regular candle to using a plug-in and so much more. The people I worked with were great. Was always a joy working in the Farmington, CT store. The hardest part of the day was if we had to do a floor reset. And those were pretty frequent. The thing I enjoyed most about working for Yankee Candle was the customers. Whenever I helped a customer find what they wanted and they left in a happy mood, I felt happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product low wages
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: extremely generous discount
Cons: very low pay
Yankee Candle was a great company to work for. They give an extremely generous discount and I loved seeing all the new and unique fragrances come in. The pay however is terrible. It was minimum wage and I had a lot of previous retail experience, management even. However the weekly pay was nice as there aren't many retailers that pay weekly anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work enviornment with high-quality product.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bloomingdale, ILAugust 25, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: long hours spent alone with short breaks.
Yankee candle is a very friendly work place. The employees are helpful and knowledgable. The management team is well-trained, and efficient. All the employees are friendly. The hardest part of the job are the number of hours spent alone in the store. The most enjoyable part would be setting the displays in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical Day
Store Manager (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 14, 2014
-Managing day to day operations of the store
- Scheduling, interviewing, and employee reviews
- Cash handling, bank deposits, and financial reports.
-Responsible for inventory control
-Store resets and training and maintaining staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Landover, MDAugust 12, 2014
Pros: half off candles
Cons: lots of set up's
I love this company. They kept staff happy. Great tplace to develop customer sservice skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and fun job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Pearland, TXAugust 6, 2014
Monday's and Wednesday's are the most typical days at Yankee Candle because, it's not a much of a busy day. The management for when I first started working there was good but as soon as she got fired things with the new manger starting going downhill. I learned a lot while I was working like really learning how to work with costumers and have better – more... communication. Probably the most stressful and hardest part of my job was shipment because, it was tiring a takes forever to complete. Therefore I love my co-workers and my job all at the same time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Retail Job
2nd Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Glen Burnie, MDJuly 24, 2014
Pros: customers and coworkers
Cons: district managment
I learned all the basic retail skills and progressed to 2nd assistant manager while also going to school and work for a short time another or (2nd job). I worked with a wonderful bunch of co workers and had some great times there. However District Management wasn't very sympathetic and connected to their workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for
Assistant Manager/Training Sponsor (Former Employee), sterling heights, MIJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great discount, fun, friendly, postive environment
Cons: general management was terrible
I loved my time at Yankee Candle. My immediate supervisor was wonderful and so were all the assistant managers. They really cared and made the job fun. The only issue was the general manager who was extremely mean and unprofessional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A verticle integrated company with many different career opportunities.
Employee (Current Employee), South Deerfield, MAJuly 22, 2014
A good place to work with supportive peers and management. The company believes in promoting from within, which is apparent with an excellent Learning & Development department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holidays
Retail Sales (Former Employee), Natick, MAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: talking to customers
Cons: holidays
Holidays were hectic. I would take the sales floor and direct customers into the direction in which their favorite scent was. With so many customers all of the time, I got to know people and really connect with them. I learned to appreciate small talk and get rise to the occasion of cash register duty when the line was out of the door all of December
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good relationship with customers
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Chester, ENGJuly 14, 2014
I found it extremely easy to build a relationship and friendship with various customers in Yankee Candle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
2nd Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Canton, OHJuly 14, 2014
Yankee Candle is a great place to work. It's a fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJuly 11, 2014
Pros: coworkers, employee discount
Cons: pay, sales tactics
It was an alright enough place to work. It was seasonal and I needed the money. It was fun around the holidays because the mall was always super busy and it made time fly. My coworkers were all nice. There are a ton of scents but you learn them all pretty quickly. You basically ring people up and wrap (kinda like a Subway sandwich) candles. Shipments – more... weren't bad if you got teamed up with someone you liked, you basically got to hang out in back opening and cataloging candles for your entire shift (it would be like 150 boxes). Only thing I hated was the sales tactics, you basically had to keep bugging people instead of letting them shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Associate-Stocking and Cashier (Former Employee), Monroeville, PAJuly 10, 2014
Was always a blast working here. Everyone was extremely nice and professional
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Second Assistant (Former Employee), Burbank, OhioJuly 1, 2014
Manager and co-workers were great. I learned a lot about sales and running a store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid-back, good clientele and discount
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 26, 2014
Pros: 50% off merchandise, laid-back
Cons: can be very slow and boring
I learned more about candles than I will ever need to know! The store was in a mall and it typically got busier during the evenings so it can be boring and drawn out during the day. Coworkers were great, but you either work by yourself if you're a second assistant/assistant manager or with another manager or sales associate, so it's up to you on how – more... you feel working with one person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIJune 26, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: slow
The people were great to work with. A typical day at the job was selling to customers, light maintenance, and stocking.
I enjoyed learning planograms; it spoke to my inner designer.
It's a large, corporate company, so everything is managed very well, and punctuality is very important there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture of Disfunction/Mistrust
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), WAJune 23, 2014
Pros: substantial discounts on products, decent benefits for full time staff
Cons: inconsistant management, no work/life balance, little-to-no ability to communicate with upper level management without fear of reprisal.
Great product with good customer service ideals.
Management within the company leaves much to be desired, however. There is a systemic culture of dysfunction as upper level management refuses to accept accountability. Store, District, and Regional Managers play favorites amongst their teams, with those who are favored having a blind eye turned towards – more... their actions. High turn-over rate due to improper handling and blatant disregard of Yankee's Cooperate and Ethical standards for employment. Unreasonable expectation placed upon team members and inability for flexibility to get tasks done. No support from upper levels of management.
Benefits are decent for FT personnel, but using PTO and Sick/Personal days is near impossible. Flexibility for scheduling is non-existent unless you are in the Store/District Manager's 'good graces' – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Awesome Place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJune 12, 2014
Great in customer service
greet customers with a smile
experienced in multitasking
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it smells great!
First Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJune 7, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: hours, schedule, conversion, ads
Job consists of paperwork, guest service, cashier, obtaining sale goals. Management has benefits but the opportunity for growth is just not there. Co-workers are great when they do their job correctly. The hardest part was following the ASAP policy with customers, keeping a high average dollar sale. The most enjoyable is selling candles.

About Yankee Candle Company

While most Yankees are good at warming their homes, the ones at The Yankee Candle Company (YCC) are also good at making their – Read more

Yankee Candle Company Photos