XS Cargo Employee Reviews

Showing all 58 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers saved this job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC9 August 2016
This company no longer exists, having declared bankruptcy and falling apart a few years ago. While I did worker there, I admittedly did not like the job, but I had terrific coworkers. Turnover rates for this company was usually very high, within the three-month probation usually, but my coworkers and I were able to stay employed for a very long time. I was transferred to this job from an XS Cargo in Medicine Hat, Alberta. The hardest part of this job was management and customers, who were often hostile (understandably) due to the terrible return policy and practices of XS Cargo. I was expected to sell three-year "warranties" which were roundabout ways of trapping customers into never getting their money back from the store once paid, even if they got a faulty and defective product. The most enjoyable part of this job was my coworkers, who fought with me to keep the workplace sane.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Terrible company policies
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy store
Full-time Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 June 2016
shift supervisor did everything that a manager did but without the pay . good job never took a day off
Pros
discounts were very good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent co workers
Asst. Manager / Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 May 2016
Worked for XS Cargo, in Warehouse and In-store ( x2)

Everyone was great to work with and goal orientated, customer service was excellent, and treated their employees with respect
Pros
excellent opportunities to improve and advance
Cons
My district Manager at that time, unprofessional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented and sales driven
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 May 2016
Above all XS Cargo was a great life and career experience. During this journey i learned how to be a team leader, merchandise, generate Sales, and ship/receive product. The company closed shortly after i started my career due to bankruptcy.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Untrustworthy employers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON17 April 2016
The place was a mess, and unorganized for most of the time I was there. The co workers and managers were incredibly supportive though of the mistakes I would make. Eventually I got used to the workplace, which made everything more fun.
Pros
Freedom on break time
Cons
The place is a mess at the end of the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hooray, they're out of business
Retail clerk (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON1 March 2016
training was non-existant
manager was too laid back
shoddy merchandise
when work slowed I was cut down to 4-8 hours a week while others were working 30-40
lazy over-privileged co-workers
minimum wage
glad they're out of business
Pros
paradise if you don't care about quality or hard work or customer satisfaction
Cons
bad training and irresponsible co-workers and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON6 January 2016
Wonderful management, amazing experience, and I quite enjoyed the work. It is a shame the business went under. Not enough hours though and I was constantly being left as the only sales associate on the floor with one manager or supervisor in the back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place
Back worker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON5 December 2015
Lots of stock to move, it was a very busy place, always something new to do everyday that I was on shift, but ,this to, closed and went-out-of-business,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic But does not matter
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam BC25 September 2015
Company is gone so the review makes absolutely no difference whatsoever. Even if I tell you to work here that can't happen so no point
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga22 September 2015
The company is no longer in business, however when it was it was a decent place to work. no real definitive roll as an employee. expected to do everything from cash/sales/inventory etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting place to work. Taught me a lot about retail and customer service.
Full Time Manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, On17 September 2015
At XS Cargo you were a jack of all trades. We did everything Customer Service ,merchandising,inventory,training of staff for current store or other store locations. Educated employees and customers on products. We were a very close staff of employees and everyone helped everyone out.
Pros
Flexibility in scheduling.
Cons
Shortage of product at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan5 August 2015
Not a lot of hours depending on manager
Not a lot of shifts
Minimum wage, doesn't go up
Co workers were fun
Hardest part of job passing time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thumbs up for xs cargo
Stock (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK15 June 2015
It was a fun work environment. We could laugh and have fun while we worked. The co workers were nice. Overall it was a decent place to work.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC7 May 2015
Learning people skills and what motivates them to work
despite of challenges..

Made me move forward and be doing my best in unfavorable situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pace and great management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON5 May 2015
Very flexible management who understands their employees needs and are clear and concise in their daily goals. I would recommend this job to anyone who wants a start on the working market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON27 April 2015
Having known the Assistant Manager from a previous job, I knew that it would be a fun place to work, & it was, the staff made it fun to come into work every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant Manager/Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  burlington on23 April 2015
great place to work staff was extremely friendly and welcoming to bad they closed throughtly enjoyed working there and with the safft
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employees with positive attitudes to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON2 March 2015
working for Xs cargo has been a big eye opener.. sadly i only had the chance to work for them a little less then 4 months. it was sad to also say that they filled for bankruptcy recently leaving me with no work. it has been a joy ride working for the company, honestly. employees were confused and so were employers. i enjoyed working for the company utilizing my profound skills in communicating with costumers/ guests.
Pros
great hours
Cons
limited space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working as a team.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  mississauga,on15 February 2015
I was haired as a receiving associate but I was able to perform all the duties in all department. I don't complain about, actually I enjoyed working in different department. I learn lot.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company no longer has holdings
Full-time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON4 February 2015
working here was an absolute pleasure. I really enjoyed the positive work environment that was created by the friendly (almost family-like) staff. It is a shame that this company no longer has holdings.
Pros
Just about everything
Cons
No longer in business
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 58 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.4
Culture
3.3